Place Your Oscar Bets

gal_oscars_noms

Best Picture:
‘Black Swan’
‘Inception’                                                                                                                                                                            ‘The Fighter’
‘The Kids Are All Right’
‘The King’s Speech’
‘127 Hours’
‘The Social Network’
‘Toy Story 3’
‘True Grit’
‘Winter’s Bone’

g2e22e2000000000000ff3096f7b501b2dd57ffbc6f8e94f632c5b64b85

Best Actor:
Javier Bardem, ‘Biutiful’
Jeff Bridges, ‘True Grit’
Jesse Eisenberg, ‘The Social Network’
Colin Firth, ‘The King’s Speech’
James Franco, ‘127 Hours’

INCEPTION

Best Actress:

Annette Bening, ‘The Kids Are All Right’
Nicole Kidman, ‘Rabbit Hole’
Jennifer Lawrence, ‘Winter’s Bone’
Natalie Portman, ‘Black Swan’
Michelle Williams, ‘Blue Valentine’

bswan

Best Supporting Actor:
Christian Bale, ‘The Fighter’
John Hawkes, ‘Winter’s Bone’
Jeremy Renner, ‘The Town’
Mark Ruffalo, ‘The Kids Are All Right’
Geoffrey Rush, ‘The King’s Speech’

The Kids Are All Right

Best Supporting Actress:
Amy Adams, ‘The Fighter’
Helena Bonham Carter, ‘The King’s Speech’
Melissa Leo, ‘The Fighter’
Hailee Steinfeld, ‘True Grit’
Jacki Weaver, ‘Animal Kingdom’

Let’s make some predictions.  Who will win?  Who would you like to see win?

About Kathleen Eagle

Kathleen Eagle is the award-winning, New York Times best-selling author of over forty novels.
This entry was posted in movie stars, movies, Oscars and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Place Your Oscar Bets

  1. Michele says:

    I saw The King’s Speech and said ‘this one will win’. Then I saw The Social Network, and now I’m torn between those two movies winning big.
    I usually don’t watch the show, but tune in early to see the dresses, then on Monday night ET recaps it all, but I would like to see Christian Bale get his long overdue reward for being such an amazing actor.

    • I haven’t seen The King’s Speech yet. It’s been next on my list for months, but I haven’t gotten out to see it. I did see The Social Network. It was really well done, but from the trailers I know The King’s Speech is my kind of movie, and I’m pulling for it since True Grit has little chance.

  2. catslady says:

    I’ve only watched Inception. But I’m guessing The King’s Speech is going to have a lot of wins and that Portman will win for the Black Swan.

  3. cindygerard says:

    I saw The Fighter and if Christian Bale doesn’t win best supporting actor, something is horribly wrong with the awards system :o0
    Also, I think that Melissa Leo has a really good chance of winning best supporting actress in The Fighter.
    Saw True Grit and Social Network. Loved them both.
    I’m betting on The King’s Speech as best movie, though, just because the buzz was so great.
    As for best actor … It would be a long shot if Jeff Bridges could win back to back Oscars but he’s sure in the running. I’m thinking Colin Firth will win.
    Best actress – Natalie Portman is getting a lot of buzz for The Black Swan but Annette Benning could surprise everyone :o0
    But what do I know????

  4. Jeremy Renner was terrific in The Town, which was excellent, and he was also incredible in The Hurt Locker. I haven’t seen The Fighter yet, but I agree that Christian Bale is overdue.

    Hailee Steinfeld is amazing in True Grit. She’s so young, and for her own sake should probably pay some dues before Oscar comes along, but her performance was Oscar worthy. I thought it was a leading role, but maybe they put her in best supporting because she’s so young.

  5. Cindy, I thought Jeff Bridges was even better in True Grit than he was in Crazy Heart, but maybe that’s because he brought such depth to ol’ Rooster.

    I haven’t seen The Swan, but I do think Annette Bening is overdue, and she was wonderful in The Kids Are All Right. Great movie, but not “high concept” like Swan.

    How much do you think that overdue factor influences voters?

  6. cindygerard says:

    Forgot about Jeremy in The Town. He was great … but my vote is still for Christain Bale :o)

Leave a Reply

