Techno-what?


I love technology :) I’m one who’s always trying to figure out why I need the latest gadget (as long as I can figure out how to work it!)  We recently found out that we could stream Netflix to our Wii, but neither my dh nor I could figure out how to do it.  It’s so humbling when we have to wait for a kid to come home and show us things.

I’d been lusting after the iPhone since it was introduced, looking on with envy as people accessed the web *fast* while my phone took an hour.  ATT doesn’t work well up here so I had convinced myself that I would switch to Verizon to get the new version.  Luckily my provider came up with some great Smartphones and I am in love with my new Samsung Mesmerize :) Admittedly, I need to sit down with the user manual, but the coolest feature on it is a microphone so I can speak my texts, and the phone types them for me!  Since I sometimes have a bit of trouble with the touch screen (fingernails are problematic) this is a great capability.

Only bad thing about my new phone is that it negates my reason for getting an iPad.  (Can you tell I’m a total Apple slut?)  I don’t read books electronically and now I need to think of another reason that I really really need the iPad version 2.  Must get creative….

My husband’s techno love is his big screen TV.  That I don’t care about so much.  I rarely bother to go to the basement so I can watch my shows on it.  I have been trying to get him to get DVR, which he’s resisting.  But since I watch most shows I miss on Hulu, again I have to get creative about why I need it.  Sigh.  Think!

Are you a techno-phobe or do you love the newest gadgets, too?  What’s your can’t-do-without piece of technology?


This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Techno-what?

  1. Helen Brenna says:

    I’m not a gadget person, Kylie. Everyone in my family has an iPhone except for me and I live without my cell phone just fine. Don’t have an ereader or an iPod. I only recently learned how to download photos onto my computer. I do know how to connect my son’s xBox 360 to Netflix and I LOVE that, but only because my dh hired someone to come in and set up wireless in the house.

    I couldn’t live without my computer and my laptop is a close second!

  2. michelehauf says:

    Another Apple slut here, Kylie. 🙂 I love all things Apple. I have drank the Kool-Aid. I am devoted.
    My favorite gadget of late is the Apple TV, so I can stream my iTunes to the TV (and thus play them through the speaker so I can hear them all over the house) and it also streams movies and Netflix. Love!
    I’m in lust for an iPad, and have my fingers crossed the new version they’re announcing next Wednesday has a camera and more cool features. Can’t wait!

  3. Betina says:

    Well, I was never an Apple fan– especially the computers. My boys had Mac’s in the olden days and had nothing but trouble with them. But since the MacBooks came out some family members swear by them and I have to admit, they’re reliable and versatile. But the real clincher was getting an I-Phone. I dragged my feet, but the Pool Boy insisted and ONE DAY with the thin and I was hooked deluxe!

    I ADORE my i-phone and I’m a fan of all kinds of apps. So I go wherever the techno trailblazer leads! And I love it!

  4. kylie brant says:

    Betina, welcome to the dark (Mac) side 🙂 I look forward to using my navigation app! Maybe I will never (or less frequently) get lost again!

  5. I resist new gadgets because I don’t want to take the time to learn how to use them. I have a cell phone that I use for calling. It does other stuff, but so far I don’t feel the need for it. It took me a while to add the phone to my life, and it does come in handy.

    Computer, of course, and I’d be lost without my GPS.

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Kathy, the GPS is such a boon for me. I’m sooo direction-impaired, it’s just really sad. Even going to familiar places…if I haven’t been there for a while I’ll get turned around. I can’t even turn the right way out of a hotel room! It’s saved my life a time or two. Of course, it’s also stopped guidance in the middle of a busy intersection, announcing, “You have reached your destination.” Whaaat!

  6. Oh, and the digital camera. I don’t use the one on the phone, and my little Canon Power Shot isn’t the fanciest, but I love the ease and the accessibility. A grandma’s best friend!

  7. debradixon says:

    Love technology. Can’t live without my android phone!

  8. Quilt Lady says:

    DVR I don’t think I could do without it now. I love it. I can’t stand to watch commercials so I record the shows I watch and watch them when I have time and fast forward through those dang commercials.

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Yup, that’d be reason enough to get a DVR! My grandson is two and doesn’t understand when he’s watching regular TV why they can’t fast forward through the commercials.

  9. Betina says:

    Oooooo, yes, the DVR! It is so easy to use and has SOOOO changed our lives! record most of the television we want to watch and just like you, Quiltie, we fast forward through the commercials. We are Madison Avenue’s worst nightmare. Advertising is lost on us. Mosly. I do have a soft spot for the clydesdale/dalmation commercials they play during the NFL playoffs. But the best thing is that I never have to miss one of my favorite shows! And I get to watch them when I want to, not when they shoehorn me into a viewing slot. I can even re-watch them if the spirit moves me that way. Is the modern world amazing, or what?

    Good post, Kylie! Thanks!

  10. Betina says:

    Oooooo, yes, the DVR! It is so easy to use and has SOOOO changed our lives! We record most of the television we want to watch and just like you, Quiltie, we fast forward through the commercials. We are Madison Avenue’s worst nightmare. Advertising is lost on us. Mostly. I do have a soft spot for the clydesdale/dalmation commercials they play during the NFL playoffs. But the best thing is that I never have to miss one of my favorite shows! And I get to watch them when I want to, not when they shoehorn me into a viewing slot. I can even re-watch them if the spirit moves me that way. Is the modern world amazing, or what?

    Good post, Kylie! Thanks!

  11. Leanne Banks says:

    I mostly use my cell phone for talking and texting. My laptop is very very important to me. We just started using our DVR. I’m strictly verizon, so I will wait until the kinks are worked out on the verizon I phone. Have you heard of the bleeding edge? That’s why I won’t get an Ipad. I want one that does more. Demanding little wench, aren’t I? 🙂

  12. Kylie Brant says:

    Leanne, I don’t know what the bleeding edge is. But it sounds painful 🙂 I am going to insist on getting DVR. I have missed the last two episodes of Justified and FX is really stinky about putting them online!

  13. cindygerard says:

    Late to the party but … I use my cell phone tons for calling … do a little texting. LOVE, love, love my DVR … especially Tuesday nights when Glee and NCIS are on at the same time :o)

Leave a Reply

