Guest Author: Lori Handeland

I “Like” Facebook

I admit it.  I like Facebook.  (Even though my 19 year old has informed me that it’s so “high school.”)  At first I wasn’t sure, but now I am hooked.  I post everyday.  It’s a great way to interact with friends, family and fans.  It took a while, but I even managed to get my kids to “friend” me.  Of course some of the things I see on their page . . . well–MY EYES!–but hey they’re my FRIENDS.  How cool is that?

I have gotten into contact with old high school chums.  Our exchange student from Brazil even found me on Facebook. and because of that I knew she was coming to our recent reunion and changed my mind about skipping it.  We had been close friends, lost touch and hadn’t seen each other in thirty years.  What a great result from something I’d once thought was silly.

Sure, there are annoyances.  Why does Facebook continually change everything?  And who are those men who keep virtually hitting on me?  Not to mention the people who constantly advertise THEIR books on MY page.  But that’s what a delete button is for.

We have a lot of fun at my Facebook page.  I’ve instituted Fun Quote Mondays, Excerpt Wednesdays, Whatcha Readin’ Fridays and Either/ Or Sundays.  It began as a way to have something to say without having to think about what that something was.  But it turned into something my”friends” enjoy.  When I was out of town on a Friday, I had a flood of “what happened to whatcha reading’ Friday???” emails.

Facebook is a great way to send out news to a lot of people fast.  Last Easter, one of my cousins wondered if I’d ask on my Facebook page if anyone knew how to get a hardboiled egg to peel right.  Within minutes, we had dozens of great suggestions.

But as much as I love Facebook, I can’t stand Twitter.  It’s too short for one thing.  I write 400 page books.  I can’t say anything in 140 characters (is that even right?) or less.  And I don’t wanna.  Maybe it’s also too impersonal.  All those feeds scrolling.  I feel scattered whenever I look at them.

How about you?  Are you a Facebook liker?  Or a Twitter tweeter?  How about both?

And have you “liked” my Facebook page?  Come join the fun.  In the “Notes” section you’ll find an excerpt of my next Nightcreature Novel, MOON CURSED, which takes place at Loch Ness and deals with the legend of Nessie.  Only one week until the book is released.  (March 1, 2011)

Visit Lori’s website at:  http://www.lorihandeland.com/

And her Facebook page at:  http://www.facebook.com/LoriHandeland

About Helen Brenna

Helen Brenna is the RITA award winning author of romances for Harlequin's Superromance line. Three more books in her popular Mirabelle Island series will be release in July, August and September of 2011. For more information, check out her website at www.helenbrenna.com.
This entry was posted in Guest Authors, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Guest Author: Lori Handeland

  1. kris says:

    I’m addicted to FB. It took me a while, so I’m relatively new to the party, but now that I’m in, I’m completely hooked. I have a twitter account, but never use it. It seems to scattered for me and it’s one more thing that I don’t want to deal with. I already “liked” your FB page. It’s such a great way to keep up with authors and their books!

  2. Marilyn says:

    I like Facebook too. My sons “friended” me and my eighty-something year old mother recently joined the Facebook crowd. Like you I’ve touched base with high school and college friends and even found a woman who was my neighbor when I lived in Germany. The sun never sets on my circle of Facebook friends.

    Another divorced friend and I were discussing FB one day and realized that for us it is a place to discuss the minutiae of the day. We used to do that across the dinner table with our husbands; now we do it in the status box on our Facebook pages.

    I have a Twitter account but never use it. Facebook and I click a little better.

  3. Lori Handeland says:

    Isn’t it fun, Kris. Thanks for “liking” me.

    Good for your mom, Marilyn. I can’t get mine to even touch a computer. Of course DH won’t either. LOL!

  4. Deb says:

    I am totally addicted to FB! It’s terrible that I have to check it first thing in the morning and then before bedtime. My sisters only live an hour away and we talk on the phone a couple of times a week, but it’s nice to get on FB and “chat” with them. I like how I can connect with my cousins and friends in Denmark or Australia or anywhere. I like the funny, inane, serious, and nothin’-much-to-say statuses that people post. I love FB! (My DH likes Bejeweled Blitz, so I am not on much during the weekend. 🙂 )

  5. Lori Handeland says:

    I wish I only checked it in the morning and at night, Deb! I’m constantly hitting it whenever I’m in “think” mode. Bad habit.

  6. Robin in NC says:

    Hello, my name is Robin & I’m addicted to Facebook. I just love keeping up with friends & family spread out across the US! My biggest time wasters, I mean “role playing jobs” are Frontierville & Farmville. I’ve vowed to myself that no matter how many invitations I get to Cityville, I’m not starting a new _____ville. By the way, if you know folks that play games & you hate to see those posts filling your home page, block the application, not the person. 😉 P.S. Lori I like your page. See you in cyberspace!

  7. Lori Handeland says:

    I’m not into the games, Robin, but a lot of people love them, and that’s great. Like you said we can block the app, which is what I do.

  8. michele says:

    Welcome to the convertible, Lori! I admit I like FB too. It’s great for meeting friends and family and fans. And you’re right about finding answers SO FAST. I also enjoy Twitter, and use TweetDeck (which I have to hide some days so I can actually get some work done). Makes me wonder what the next big social networking thing will be. Will we be virtually holo-contacting people soon enough? 🙂

  9. Hellion says:

    Addicted to FB (though I’m relatively new to it; a grad student had to bug me for a year to join) but cannot stand Twitter. Then again, I don’t update my status much on FB, so I have even less use for Twitter. I rarely have anything interesting to say; and when I do, I’m not sure I want it documented for all time. *LOL* But I love using FB to catch up with friends and comment on stuff; and I love finding out about my favorite authors.

    Recently I found a bunch of cousins from my mother’s side of the family–I barely knew anything about my mother’s side of the family. So lately it’s been a family reunion and I feel all warm and cozy right now.

  10. Lori Handeland says:

    Thanks, Michele. Great to be here. The covers on the side are gorgeous. All of them. Love looking at covers. What’s TweetDeck? Something that shows the tweets on your computer? Oh, that would be bad!

    Hellion–I had someone hook up my FB updates to my Twitter account so I don’t have to deal with Twitter. I like it that way.
    I found a bunch of my dad’s side of the family on FB. Which has been nice since my dad has passed we don’t see that side much.

  11. Welcome, Lori!
    One of my sons pushed me into FB by actually making me a page after I said I didn’t have time to make another page. Because he set it up, I was instantly befriended by bunches of nieces and nephews. It took me a while to get the hang of the thing, and I’ve begun building among readers and writers, but I probably should have separated professional/promotional from family and friends. Still, that would have given me 2 more pages. It’s so hard to keep up! I do like connecting and re-connecting.

    I can’t get interested in Twitter. If FB is so high school, Twitter must be so junior high. Or elementary? And while I loved school at every level, I’m not good with one-liners. Besides, I spent half my life teaching the value of whole sentences and my whole life celebrating whole words. I still don’t know what a hash tag is besides the punch line of a lot of jokes.

    Am I hopelessly behind the times?

  12. Lori Handeland says:

    If you’re behind, Kathleen, I’m right there with you. I have no idea what a hash tag is either.

    Am I the only one who winces when people write to me using FB, Twitter and text message spelling? I’m thankful that my boys are old enough to know the difference, but I worry about the youngsters.

    Which just shows that I’m REALLY old.

  13. lois greiman says:

    Thanks for joining us, Lori. Haven’t seen you forever. And I’m afraid I’m a SEEING kind of person. I prefer my relationships to be face to face (usually) instead of Facebook to Facebook, but maybe if I had a faster internet connection I’d feel differently.

    Beautiful new book by the by.

  14. Lori Handeland says:

    Thanks, Lois. I love this cover!

    When WAS the last time we had face-to-face? I can’t remember and that’s BAD.

    Of course lately it might have been last week and I wouldn’t remember . . .

  15. Helen Brenna says:

    Hi Lori! Thanks again for coming by to visit today and congrats on the new book!

    I can take FB or leave it. Started to get really into it a month or so ago and then a deadline sidetracked me. Twitter? Don’t get that at all. Except for big stars. And even then it seems like tmi.

    I wonder if I we were “normal” people – not a writers, LOL – would we still be FBing?

  16. I’m on Twitter more than Facebook. I am in the process of setting up my “author page” and moving off a personal page.

    I can’t seem to get hooked on FB. Maybe if I were there more…in all my “spare” time. Ha!

  17. leanne says:

    I love FB! Hate Twitter lol I’ve also “liked” u on FB, been awhile now… I adore having many author friends and my family is all on there. It makes me feel like I’m part of something and I also like it because I can be there for others who otherwise might not have had someone to talk to.

  18. kylie brant says:

    I absolutely agree. I love Facebook. Have 5000 of my nearest and dearest friends 🙂 But it’s a great way to keep in touch with my kids and their friends, readers, old highschool chums…I’m addicted. As a matter of fact, I started a page for my husband so he’d stop spying on mine! He’s not allowed to post on my page…he’s just not appropriate 🙂

    And twitter…eh, not so much. Can’t figure out the point. You’d have to sit there and watch it all day to catch all the posts so I can’t see why I should bother.

  19. Lori Handeland says:

    Hi, Helen! I don’t know if I’d FB if I wasn’t a writer or not. I do keep in touch with a lot of family that way. It’s easier to say a few things and catch up. If I had to call or write a letter, not happening.

  20. Lori Handeland says:

    Hi, Cyndi!! I know what you mean about all that “spare” time. I should not play on FB as much as I do. But . . . addicted.

  21. Lori Handeland says:

    Leanne–Thanks for “liking” me. What a nice thing to think–being there for someone who wants to talk. How lovely.

  22. Lori Handeland says:

    Kylie-I wondered about that with Twitter too. How can you keep up when everything is all over the place. At least on FB it’s all right there. Someone did tell me you can get Twitter updates emailed to you. That just gave me a headache.

  23. Betina says:

    Lori, hurray for Facebook and for all the wonderful techie things that allow us to stay connected! I’ve caught up with high school and college friends and even reconnected my fiance with his long-lost brother!

    But I confess, I’m a casual Facebook-er. I check my page once a week if I’m lucky and probably don’t respond as quickly as people would like. Any tips on using, Lori?

  24. Leanne Banks says:

    Lori, welcome welcome! And congrats on your new release!:) I’m more of a facebook girl, although I sometimes go underground and don’t post for awhile. Sometimes I really have to stay away from anything that will distract me from getting my writing done! I’m signed up for twitter, but I haven’t tweeted in a year.

  25. Lori Handeland says:

    How cool is it that you were able to connect long lost bros, Betina. As for useful tips, I check in every morning and post something. The particular “days” I’ve instituted “Whatcha Readin’ Fridays” helps. I also think knowing that I have those themed days brings people back. Or at leas I hope it does.

  26. Lori Handeland says:

    I agree on the distraction factor, Leanne. I should definitely be paying more undivided attention to my work!

  27. cindygerard says:

    Hi Lori! Waving madly. :o) Last time I saw you was at the Rita ceremony in Orlando where we were both presenting. It’s a lot less stress presenting the RITA than wondering if you have a shot at winning right? I love presenting.
    Anyway, I like FB … don’t exactly love it. I have a hard time keeping up with all the posts and I’m kind of hit and miss on making appearances. Twitter — I still don’t like it, probably never will.

    Great cover!!! BTW and thanks for joining us today

  28. catslady says:

    I don’t twitter but I do facebook. My two grown daughters got me hooked. It’s all very time consuming because I like to play games too.

  29. Lori Handeland says:

    Hey, Cindy!! (Waving back.) I must thank you again for graciously allowing me to sit by you that night and help my nerves. I get very stressed when presenting. More so than when I’m nominated because when I’m nominated I might not have to go up there. When presenting–ba-bum–it’s only a matter of time before I do. LOL!

    I’m afraid to begin with games, catslady, or I may never get off FB at all.

  30. Keri Ford says:

    I struggle so hard with facebook. I make an attempt to go there at least once a day. but I don’t always update it as I should. I think part of the issue is….there’s a few family members on there. My mom is there. There’s friends of my husband on there…you know the drill. I don’t want to be popping in all, “Whew doggie! I’ve been trying to make my characters have sex for the last three hours and we are almost DONE!”

    I love twitter and the largest appeal of it is–no family members, no friends of family, ect ect. It’s all romance-book-minded people. I don’t necessarily censor myself as much (LOL which could be a bad thing!)

  31. Lori Handeland says:

    Keri–if I ever said anything family related, I’d probably be in trouble.
    Actually I was once–I said something about #1 son, meaning OLDEST, and #2 son–YOUNGEST–threw a big fit.
    I never made that mistake again. On FB or anywhere else. I’m an only child, so all this jostling for position and manly bumping of chests confuses me.

  32. Pingback: Review: Moon Cursed (Nightcreature #10) by Lori Handeland « Fullmoonbites

Leave a Reply

