The Most Important Award Show–Westminster Kennel Club

So I spent my romantic Valentines evening watching the Westminster Kennel Club dog show. http://www.westminsterkennelclub.org/   My husband was taking a class.  No worries.  We went out to lunch, and I personally think there’s way too much pressure for Valentines Day.  A card, even a homemade card, is fine and a few truffles, and I think we’re all good.Smile

The truth is I love watching this dog show.  I especially enjoy the dogs that aren’t quite so well-behaved.  Tonight, we’ve started with the hounds, and the wire-haired dachshund is quite frisky. wirehaireddach Plus he has a great wag to his tail.  A wagging tail is an awesome thing.  Adoration from these furry sweeties can have a huge healing effect on us.  That’s scientifically proven, but us dog owners have always known that.Smile

When I was a child, our first dog was a mixed breed – pekingese and cocker spaniel.  She gave birth to two litters and was a wonderful, loving pet who was the mama to our second pet, a pekapoo.  I know these are unbelievably prissy, but we adored them.  These dogs cultivated my interest in pets with lots of hair.pekingnese

When my husband and I got married, we didn’t consider getting a dog until we owned a home and both our children had been born.  Our first dog was a rescued dog, a mixed breed — part cocker, part everything else and she was a wonder dog.  We named her Molly and she could catch a frisbee and a tennis ball IN HER MOUTH!  She was amazing and we had her for 16 years.  I sobbed uncontrollably when we had to put her down.  molly

My daughter went on a mission trip when she was in high school and brought home a gorgeous mixed breed lab puppy.  “Charleston” ate our deck and Christmas lights.  My daughter went off to college and during one break, she took Charleston for a walk.  The dog yanked her out of her shoes.  Charleston needed acreage, which we did not have.  We put up an advertisement for her through my husband’s company, and two people were begging for her.  She now has 6 acres to roam and chases the cat in every night.Smile

During a visit to Florida, I was introduced to a Papillon in a shop and I was reminded of my desire for a prissy dog.  I had wanted a prissy dog for a long time, but my husband had nixed the idea.  I got my Bijou,  a registered Pomeranian.  I had to go through an interview with the breeder and sign a form promising that I would not breed her because she was “pet quality” instead of “show quality”.  How snooty is that!  But I signed it and brought her home and we bonded.  Soon enough, she won over my husband and he is now a fool for Bijou.<3   It doesn’t hurt that her poops are the size of mini tootsie rolls.Smile   Despite the fact that Bijou weighs a mere 4.5 lbs, when the pizza delivery guy comes to the door, she thinks her name is KILLER!  dec.jan 082

I hope to have a dog until the day I die….  Pets are one of the treasures of life…

What is your history with pets? Cats are welcome.  Do you have a dream breed?  Thank goodness for our pets!

xo,

Leanne

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to The Most Important Award Show–Westminster Kennel Club

  1. cindygerard says:

    I’m right there with you, Leanne. I had dogs and cats as a kid and we’ve never spent a minute in our house without one or more of each. I’ve loved them all and mourned them all when we lost them.
    Currently we have Margaret – a pure bred Brittany Spaniel. She’s a doll baby. She’s supposed to be a hunter but for the most part, she’s just a couch ‘tatter. Buddy and Sly, are our two ‘squatter cats’ who found their way into our home 5 years ago by invading through the doggie door. They are both little curs … no breeding at all … but we adore them.
    And like you, can’t imagine our home ever without some kind of 4 legged critter.

  2. leannebanks says:

    Yes, indeedy Cindy! Love that you named your dog Margaret.:) Your animals have a lot of personality and I always enjoy seeing pics of them!:)

  3. Michele says:

    I love cats, and hope to always have a cat (or two) in my home. They come in handy on mornings like today when the heater is not working (currently down to the 50s in the house!) to snuggle up to you and keep you warm. The unconditional love rocks, too.

    • leannebanks says:

      Yikes Michele! That’s chilly for indoors! I hope your heater starts working soon. But good for you having some “fur” support.:) Do they purr? That’s one of my fave things about cats — the way they purr.:)

      • Michele says:

        Heats working, but I’m still snuggling with my cats. Yep, they purr a lot. My favorite thing they do is the kneading. Especially when it also works as a massage for me when they do it!

  4. Betina says:

    Leanne, I love your big ole soft heart! Animals are the icing on the cake of life. Where would we humans be without them to ground and love us?

    I’m a dog person and have had one for most of my life. But I’ve come to appreciate cats, too (have 4 grandkitties). Cats just take a little longer to get to know and are a bit more conditional about the love– or at least who they give the love to. For the last couple of decades I’ve had mini-schnauzers. Barkie Von Schnauzers, yes, but also bright, trainable, and they don’t shed!!! They’re also talkers/singers. I love it when a dog talks to me. And I always swear that the NEXT dog, I’m going to do the whole obedience thing and make them more visitor friendly. Then I end up treating them like one of the family and they get away with barking at the sound of the doorbell or the sound of my sister’s arrival announcement: “IIIII’m heeeeere!” She does it just to make the dog go wild and torment me, I’m sure. One of my dogs, someday, is going to refuse to fall into her trap– I’m determined.

    What’s on my DVR? Every episode of “Dogs 101.” And a lot of “The Dog Whisperer.” And I missed the Wesminster Kennel Club this year! ARGHhhhhh! I LOVE that show. Leann, I hope you enjoyed it enough for both of us!

    • leannebanks says:

      Betina, not all is lost! You only missed the first night! The Kennel Club will be on again TONIGHT!!!lol And I love your Barkie Von Schnauzers! They have to sound the alarm in their way, don’t they?lol We actually put two of our dogs through obedience training. One of them really flunked!lol THANKS for popping in!<3 xo, Leanne

  5. Kim Wenger says:

    Loved watching the dog show last night too–my Valentine wasn’t home either! I’m a pet sitter, so I’m surrounded by all kinds of dogs, cats, rabbits, ferrets etc. every day. Needless to say, I love them all. I think my favorite kind of dog–the one I’m most tempted to get someday–is a Miniature Pinscher. I’ve had a few as clients and I think they’re great. For now, I have cats. I’ve had them all my life. The first one to belong completely to me was George. (After George Michael, my favorite singer.) I had him for 15 years and losing him was devastating. I then took in a dear friend’s cat named Oreo. He’s 11 now and I’ve had him 2 years. About a year ago I adopted 2 sisters from a cat rescue–Fergie and Diana. (Yes, I do seem to have a thing for England in the 80’s!) They have turned my house upside down but I laugh at their antics every day. I love all 3 of them and I feel like they know they’ve landed in a good, safe place where they can live out their days surrounded by people who will cater to their every whim. Which is all any cat wants. :))

    • leannebanks says:

      Kim, I’ve loved your stories about Oreo and Fergie and Diana. TOO fun! For you to say you would pick a mini pin means a lot since you are exposed to sooo many animals!!! THANKS for commenting!:) xo, Leanne

  6. catslady says:

    We’ve had many wonderful pets. Our first was a beagle named Lucy and was our baby since we didn’t have kids yet. We had her for 12 years. We then got a rescue dog named Shadow who was the sweetest dog ever and never gave us any problems. She was a year when we started our family and took to our two girls wonderfully. Our oldest learned to stand by grabbing handfuls of her hair and she would only give a small wimper but never move away. We had her for 17 wonderful years. 5 or 6 years later we got our first resuce cat and everyone got along. Then 4 years later the first mama cat and her litter showed up on our doorstep. It’s been 15 years of taking in, fixing, finding homes and loving many cats. I had 7 at one point and now only 4 inside. I had 3 permanent females outside and now 2 with males that have come and gone. I could go on forever… although my heart breaks when something happens and /or I can’t save one, I couldn’t live without them.

    • leannebanks says:

      Catslady, loved your stories about all your animals. I can picture Shadow helping your daughters learn to walk. How cool is that! They really do become members of our family and a part of our family histories, don’t they? Thank you so much for sharing!<3

  7. Leanne, one of my favorite movies of all time is “Best In Show.” AKC show at its best.

    I’m a dog person, too. We had to do the interview/application/swear not to breed thing with our Australian Shepherd. Cisco was my dear friend for 13 years, and I miss him still.

    I’m a big fan of the rescue route now. Our looks-like-a-Lab, sheds-like-a-Lab, loves-like-a-Lab (but maybe has a little Dobie in her) is such a dog–which, as far as I’m concerned, is the ultimate compliment.

    • leannebanks says:

      I’m not surprised that you enjoy your dogs. I would expect that of you. I know what you mean about how hard it is when they die. Hit me harder than I expected! I’m glad you’re enjoying your rescue dog. We have done that in the past and will probably do it in the future.:)

  8. Helen Brenna says:

    LOL, I’ll be the wet dog, er, blanket here. Don’t get me wrong I LOVE my 2 dogs and cats, but I am sooooo ready to be done taking care of animals. My mothering instincts must be disappearing along with my estrogen levels!

    • leannebanks says:

      Helen, I really understand. My oldest sister has 3 dogs (due to family pressure) and I think she would be perfectly happy to be petless. Oh, and they also have a cat. You may feel differently when your kids are gone….:)

  9. Hellion says:

    I’ve had great dogs–Rex was my childhood dog, and he was a mutt, not sure what he was. Part Collie, we were sure, which fit him right in with the Colley family who were also only part Colley. But he was a regal sort of dog; laid-back, calm, and assured, like my father actually. I think that’s why he was a great farm dog–he was a farmer like dad. Not particularly excitable, rather stoic when the children pulled on him and tolerant. Great dog. When he died of extreme old age, he was impossible to replace. We did have another, a part lab named Braveheart who wasn’t brave but was definitely all heart. Loved to taunt skunks, much to his detriment. My friends have great dogs with hilarious personalities–and I like to visit them. Nakira is always so excited to see you that she cannot contain herself and her tail nearly wags her in circles as she greets you. This is particularly humorous since she’s not a little lapdog. Monty is a bit more dignified and soulful, reminds me of my beloved Rex–and waits his turn for petting. He knows Nakira will get bored and go away, and then he can lean against you all night and you can pet him to his heart’s content. I’m sometimes tempted to run off with Monty. He’s a good snuggler.

    These dogs are all medium to “largish” dogs. I’ve never been a fan of the ankle-biters. Mainly because I trip over cracks in sidewalks–I don’t need a weavy dog who wants to sniff both sides of the road at the same time. My neighbor has a cute curly haired anklebiter and I bend my rule to pet him every time I see him.

    The picture of the pekingese is the CUTEST picture of a pekingese I’ve ever seen. And I love Bijou–perfect name, cute dog. *LOL* If I got a dog for myself, I’d want a short-haired mutt, or a whippet–I love the look of them!–but to be honest, if I got a pet, it’d probably be a cat. Cats aren’t as needy, you don’t have to let them out or walk them (good luck trying), they can snuggle too, and they amuse me with their personalities, because they’re so proud and yet so ridiculous acting. Dogs–dogs don’t seem to have a lot of pride and I feel sorta bad for laughing at them. Like they don’t understand they’ve done something funny.

    • leannebanks says:

      Hellion, I LOVE your descriptions. You sound like a true dog lover! You sneak in a lot of rubbing and hugging with those neighbors’ dogs, don’t you? My pekingnese didn’t have as much of the smash face and super heavy coat because she was a mixed breed. Yes, that’s my Bijou. She’s spoiled rotten. I used to dislike cats, but I like them better now. My husband is very allergic, so he draws the line with a cat… but you never know.:) Thanks for telling your “tales”.:)

  10. Kylie Brant says:

    Not a cat person, but love dogs. We have a Polish Lowland Sheepdog who is getting pretty aged. Trying to talk my husband into another. Although I saw the Obama’s Portuguese Water Dog and that looks cute too. Like ’em medium sized, non-shedding and fuzzy!

    • leannebanks says:

      Kylie, I would love to see a pick of your Sheepdog! Is it big? Haha on the medium-sized, non-shedding and fuzzy. GREAT COMBO!!!:) Thanks for popping in! xoxo, Leanne

  11. MaryC says:

    I love watching the Westminster Kennel Club competition! Yesterday I saw a piece on what it takes to keep all these dogs happy – one dog was blissfully enjoying a massage.

    While I dearly miss my Siberian Husky Rusty, we currently reside in a no pet complex.
    However, I do get to spend time with my brother’s two dogs.

    • leannebanks says:

      MaryC, a massage! No wonder they’re happy!lol I would be too, wouldn’t you?:) Yikes on the no pet complex, but good for you that you get to visit your brother’s dogs. Bet they love it when auntie comes to visit.<3 xo, Leanne

  12. Stephenia says:

    I always wanted a horse, when we moved to the country 10 years ago, I still dreamed of owning one. Then I realized the cost, time and attention a horse needed and changed my mind. I think I was cut out to occasionally ride, but not own.

    I love dogs – we have always owned mutts, they are loveable and I just gravitate towards them more. My dream dog was always a husky or something alaska-ish like that.

    We have barn cats – they are my favorite…low maintenance! We have one indoor cat, he thinks he is king and is into everything and doesn’t mind. I like fish too, we had a giant tank at one time in life, now I go for one fish at a time in a small bowl. I want a goat, but have no reason to have one, so that’s a nixed idea, also miniature ponies are intriguing and I like the cows my neighbor has. Sometime in my older age I’m just going to get a job where I can pet these beasts daily, then go home without any mess to clean up!

    • leannebanks says:

      Stephenia, I wanted a horse when I was a little girl. A friend and I even rode our bikes around the neighborhood to try to find a place where we might could board our “fictitious” horse. I took horseback riding lessons and just loved them. My hormones kicked in and my interest turned to boys. I’m not sure if my parents were relieved or not.lol Love that your cat thinks he is king.:) I’ve thought about getting one of those beta fish. Have you tried one of those? I like the no-mess idea. I’m lucky. My Bijou isn’t very messy these days.:) Thanks for joining in the discussion. xo, Leanne

  13. Helen Brenna says:

    I just heard on the news today that the Best in Show for this show was a Scottish deerhound from my neck of the woods – Minneapolis! He’s beautiful.

    • leannebanks says:

      Haha Helen! You just showed your true colors. This dog may be perfect for his breed, but beautiful? YOU ARE A DOG LOVER!!!!:) xoxox, Leanne

Leave a Reply

