The Extra Button

I know, it’s Valentine’s Day and probably a romance author should talk romance today, eh?  Sorry, wasn’t feeling it.  If you write it all day, every day…well then.  But I have a romantic pining for a strange little quirk I possess, embedded in me since childhood.  You see, I can’t throw away that extra button.

You know that button.  You buy the new shirt or sweater, and dangling from the hang tag is a little plastic bag with an extra button in it.  I have been saving those buttons (in the bag, of course) since I’ve been buying my own clothes.  This harkens back to my childhood when my mother owned a button jar.  (I think everyone’s mother had a button jar, yes?)  One of the most exciting things to do was beg Mom to bring out the button jar for an afternoon.  I’d sit at the kitchen table, sorting through the fabulous circles, squares, and bejeweled treasures from ages past.  Fond memories there.  I haven’t started my own button jar.  But I’m going to because I have all the extra buttons collected in various places throughout the house, and they call out to be ordered in a common place.

Why save the extra button?  The reason is simple: I don’t want to mess with the karmic energy of the Extra Button.

Because I know very well, the moment I toss that extra button, then next time I put the shirt on, a button will fall off.  It will happen.  Wanna know how I know?  Because a button has yet to fall off one of my shirts/sweaters.  That’s because I’ve been feeding the Karma of The Extra Button over the years.

So what about you?  Do you save the extra button?  Do you toss it without care for the wrath of karma?  Or do you have some other quirk that others may find strange that you dare to confess today?

Happy Valentine’s Day!

Michele

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to The Extra Button

  1. cindy gerard says:

    LOL Michele. I’m a button saver too …. until I find one that’s been hanging around in a drawer for eons and I can’t remember what button it’s supposed to replace. Then and only THEN, do I toss it … and yeah, it’s because of that karma thing :o)

  2. OMG! Me Too!! I have baskets of buttons, some of them to clothes I no longer own. I think I afraid that as soon as I toss that button, then I’ll need it. And it’ll be a “special” button, one that you can’t just go to Walmart for find.

    And here’s what’s worse…most of then are still in their little plastic bags. LOL

  3. Terry Odell says:

    I’m a saver as well, even though the garments they were designed for are long gone. I don’t have all that many since we moved, but I did discover a small button box that I’ll let my grandson play with when he visits, the same way I did.

    Does anyone save those lone earrings? Because as soon as you throw it away, its mate will show up, right?

    Terry
    Terry’s Place
    Romance with a Twist–of Mystery

  4. michelehauf says:

    Yay, I’m not the only one who believes in the Extra Button Karma! And yes, what about those little plastic bags? They’re so…usable. You just can’t toss those, either. 😉

  5. Michele, my sister in spirit, I am looking as a sandwich bag full of buttons as we speak. It’s in a basket with the bits I save for the kids’ projects. And I have a jar like the one in the picture down in the laundry room. And a little box for the incoming extra buttons on my dresser. I never thought of it as karma–just, “I might want this someday.” When the Brownie scouts were working on their sewing badge, I had the buttons. When my frient who makes the neatest felted bags needed buttons, I was her girl. Pack Rat Kathy, that’s me.

  6. That’s *friend.*

    You know what else I used to play with from Mama’s sewing box? Spools of thread. They were colorful, and they came in different sizes, so you had families–parents with lots of kids.

  7. lois greiman says:

    Yup. Button jar. Got one. But I always thought it was just because Mom had one. Didn’t know about the bad karma. Thanks for enlightening me.

  8. Pingback: Tweets that mention The Extra Button | Riding With The Top Down -- Topsy.com

  9. Helen Brenna says:

    LOL, I do the same. Always loved the sound all the buttons make coming out of that jar and landing on the counter. I also save extra shoelaces, like that extra colored pair that comes with kids tennis shoes. And that extra string of thread for repairs on the sweaters we buy, not that I’ve ever, ever used it!

    Happy Vday, folks!

  10. Michele says:

    I love that so many have button jars! Just when I’m beginning to mourn the loss of tradition and wonder if this next generation will give up homemade cooking all together (who passes down grandma’s recipes anymore?), you ladies lift me with the secret that most still preserve the tradition of the button jar. Yay! I said I needed to start a jar, but found a pretty little box instead. I look forward to bringing it out for my (future) grandkids to play with someday. Now, I’d better start buying more shirts to fill it! 🙂

  11. kylie brant says:

    I finally put all my extra buttons in a big Ziploc and am saving them for a craft project to do with the grandkids. What are the chances if that button falls off that I’ll actually sew it back on????

  12. Michele says:

    Kylie, yes, if the button does fall off, I’ll probably be like “ah, the shirt is old, so I’ll toss it”, because who has needle and thread?

  13. chey says:

    I always save buttons too. If I throw them out, I just know I’ll need one the next week/month.

  14. leannebanks says:

    I save them, but I haven’t been organized enough to put them in a jar. What a novel idea!lol When I was a little girl, I bought my mother blue buttons for Christmas one year. Many, many years later, she decorated sweatshirts with buttons for my daughter and me and included those buttons. Way cool.<3

  15. Stephenia says:

    I save the buttons too….and then use them later on craft projects.

  16. Karen H says:

    I have a button box instead. But I have needed and used those buttons in the past. I finally got wise and now I insert a little piece of paper telling me what the button is for into the plastic bag before I put it in the box. Yesterday, in fact, I had to take the saved buttons for 4 (really!) sweaters and sew them on. I really think the buttons, that are pretty small, are getting caught in the dryer holes and being pulled off. Anyway, the 5th button I sewed on was found on the floor on the same day I wore a new dress for the first time. The middle of the button was still attached to the dress but the rest of the button, looking like a blue donut, was on the floor. I hadn’t even gotten around to labeling it and putting it away!

    Plus, I sometimes just look at the buttons in the button box and admire their shapes and colors, just like I did when I was a little girl.

Leave a Reply

