How to survive February?

imagesCA6D4HSB

That’s a picture of me.  Stick a fork in me.  I am done with winter!  Unfortunately, winter is not done with us.  I made a BIG mistake this year by not booking a quick trip to Florida during January.  It’s something I think everyone should do.  I looooooong for the sensation of sand between my toes, WARM sunshine on my pale skin (coated with sunscreen, of course) and a WARM breeze… along with the sound of Beach Music or Motown.

.beach

The sad thing is the temps where I live aren’t nearly as low as the temps where many of you live.  I’ll admit it.  My name is Leanne.  And I’m a winter wimp.

So I have a few ideas for how to survive this month.  Can you help me out and share yours too?

1. Change my screensaver to a beach scene.

2. Play beach music on my car stereo.

3. Give myself a pedicure – bright color required.

4. Go outside when the sun is shining.

5. Mark each day off the calendar.

6. Plan an early Spring trip to the beach!

How do you survive February?

Here’s a song for all of us …. 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bmDakhg45rk 

xo,

Leanne

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to How to survive February?

  1. I’m whimpering with you, Leanne. Even us Minnesnowtans are crying Uncle! this week. And it’s like 29 below in Bismarck (where I used to live) today.

    I think we’re headed for a mid-week trip to the Mall of America. Indoor amusement park, Underwater World, really bright inside during the day. Minnesota has a head start preparing for climate change. We know how to live under glass.

    • leannebanks says:

      Kathleen, Minnesnowtans!:) haha Love that! I like your idea for a mid-week trip to the Mall of America… if we can’t go to the Bahamas. No tanning beds for me. The only way I get tan is if somebody sprays me!lol

  2. Wait, wait. That’s you? No more tanning bed for you, girl.

  3. Michele says:

    My screensaver is an explosion of bright green leaves. Sigh… I’m so over winter as well. Just told the hubby last night we need to plan–and actually go on–a vacation every year or every other year. And winter would be the perfect time. I think I”m going to start subscribing to your idea of heading south in the winter, Leanne. But it might be difficult getting me back on the plane for the return trip!

    • leannebanks says:

      Michele, I’m a firm believer in vacations. My daddy raised me that way. Every summer we took a trip to Myrtle Beach, SC and sometimes we even managed to make it down to Florida. The older I get, the more vacations I need.

  4. My sympathy to all you sick of winter! It was close to 80 here on Superbowl Sunday, though today it’s cooler and a bit overcast. That’s my fave part of SoCal living…we can have summer in the middle of winter. But May and June will be very gloomy with fog and then I’ll be crying the blues.

    Pedicure is a sure cure! Bright pink nail polish.

    • leannebanks says:

      Christie! 80? Quiet sobbing here. Well, you’re a sunny girl, so you deserve it. I didn’t know May and June would be foggy. I’m headed to Orange County in May!

  5. Quilt Lady says:

    Thanks so much for the up lifting song. We have another two inches or more of snow today, with the temps a high of 25, have to go clean off the car again. I am so ready for warm weather and spring.

    • leannebanks says:

      Quilt Lady, I’m glad you enjoyed the tune. That song is a feel-good one for me every time I hear it. I’m wishing you some warmer temps! xo

  6. Helen Brenna says:

    All good ideas, Leanne! I think what happens to us is that we can see the light at the end of the tunnel and start losing our patience.

    I keep reminding myself I have an hour more sunshine than a month ago, and in just 4 more weeks, I’ll have another hour. Yay! It might’ve been 5 below when I woke up this morning, but it’s damned sunny out! I can deal with 3 more weeks of this. Once March hits, the fat lady has sung, as far as I’m concerned.

    • leannebanks says:

      Helen, there you go with your glass half-full when I’m being a total Cranky Pants! Excellent points, though. I do see a beach trip in my future, but probably not until April. It’s sunny here today and I just looked at the weather forecast and wondered why I’m whining. Monday, it’s supposed to hit 64!

  7. Kylie Brant says:

    I get positively giddy noting that it isn’t pitch dark at 5 PM anymore. I’m the one telling everyone on Dec. 22 that the days are going to start getting longer 🙂 My dh *has* to go on a vacation every winter and he’s a beach lover. So being the nurturing self-sacrificing wife that I am, I go with him to keep him company . This year it’s Cozamel (know I didn’t spell it right) but our favorite is Punta Cana. But anywhere with sand and beautiful water does it for me. We don’t get to go for another 6 weeks, though. Winter’s practically over then!

    • leannebanks says:

      You’re such an awesome wife, Kylie!:) I know your husband deeply appreciates you going with him to Cozumel and Punta Cana. I’m glad you’re skipping Punta Cana this year. 6 weeks is awhile, but you have all that anticipation to help you get through!!!!!:)xo

Leave a Reply

