HAIR!

Hair! It’s the bane of my existence. I’ve always thought, in fact, that if everyone were bald, I’d be better off, that it would level the playing field. Cuz I. Hate. My. Hair. It’s as fragile as tissue paper and as straight as a pool cue. I wore it long and parted down the middle hippy style until I was about 19. But since then I’ve tried everything under the lava lamp. There were the perms that made me look like an amped up poodle, the Farah Fawcett wanna be look, the so what if my hair looks as if it was shaped around a bowl look, and my personally most dreaded…the urine yellow do of ‘09.

I’m not sure what any of this tells us, but I’ve noticed after some  consideration that I can guess a woman’s age with considerable accuracy by seeing no more than a silhouette of her hair. Plus I’ve been told that the older a woman gets the shorter her hair becomes. Hmmm… What does THAT mean? Note to reader: right now my hair is pretty dang short. But will it stay that way? Only a first rate psychologist can venture a guess. But it seems to me that at some point in a woman’s life she generally settles on a hairstyle and sticks with it until she’s found toes up in her fruit cellar. Is that because she’s discovered the perfect style for her face shape or because she’d rather take a fork in the eye than keep experimenting with her coiffure?

How about you? Have YOU found the perfect hair style? Or does it change with the season? And do you have a favorite that you look back on with wonder and awe? If so why didn’t you stick with it? How bout we initiate a mandate that states every American citizen must keep her head clean shaven or be pelted with tomatoes and old banana peals?

These are just a few ideas I’m tossing out here…but I think they’re pretty good ones.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to HAIR!

  1. Betina says:

    Lois, my lovely, you always look great, hair included. But I do understand the eternal struggle with the hair menace. I have my own issues, too– and down here the constant humidity and heat have made me do things I never thought i’d do. . . like wear my hair shoulder length! Really, it’s straight as a poker and I have to torture it with searing hot irons to make it bend at all. Then the curve/curl hangs out in about 30 minutes flat. So I pull it back with hair bands and scrunchies and banana clip it up while around the house. In the winter I leave it longer for warmth; in the summer I want it up and out of the way. Who knows, maybe I’ll grow it a bit longer and put it up in a bun as I age! Never expected to have hair this long at this age.

    Yech. I just looked at it. I need a haircut. Badly. I look like my senior in high school photo. Only not nearly as young.

    Gee, thanks, Lois. For reminding me.

  2. Stephenia says:

    Even at 50, I still wish I had long lovely tresses with just the right amount of body, that fall into the perfect look with a toss of my head. But the mirror tells me I have wispy limper short slightly wavy in the wrong places tresses that do what they want to! Over the years, I’ve worn it shoulder length to pixie length, usually settling for something just above my collar, then I wouldn’t have to “put it up” when I wore my Navy uniform.

    I have also noticed the short hair sprayed, teased and picked to look like a helmet trend of older women…..the look fits right in with their seasonal holiday sweaters (ie, it adds plus ten years to your look).

    These last few years, after one year of particularly short hair I had let it grow to my shoulders again, then got it cut in layers and a miracle happened…….my husband noticed. “I really like your hair and it looks nicer a bit longer” were pretty much the words that tumbled forth. So the man is still looking after all these years, lol. I have to agree, I think I’ve found the style for now, my hairstylist is nailing it for the layers that work with my errant waves and the brush the top of my shoulder length is more girly – I like that. No hairspray, no helmet head and I don’t look bald if I wear a hat, I have a few tresses to peek out the bottom.

    I found my hairstyle on google….”shoulder length textured hairstyles”, printed off the my favorite 3, took them to Emily, my young hairstylist and she snipped my mop into place. Now I just wonder how many years I’m allowed to use this style before it becomes old fashioned, lol, lol.

  3. lois greiman says:

    Betina, with your laugh and I can do anything attitude, you could wear an apple bucket on your head and still look like a million bucks. Still, I wanna see the shoulder length hair.

  4. lois greiman says:

    Stephenia, I’m right there with ya…still want that great hair that looks kind of casual sexy. Right now my hair looks like I should have a red rubber nose. Not really the Victoria Secret look. But I’m glad you found your style…and if your husband noticed…wow!

  5. cindy gerard says:

    I’m right there with you, Lois. Been all over the place with the hair. right now, after 10 years of medium length, mine is short. Still getting used to it. Still afraid that instead of ‘updating’ me, it’s merely ‘dating” me.
    My 3 year old granddaughter was really thrown when she saw me last week for the first time with my shorter hair. After several minutes of sneaking covert looks at me, she couldn’t stand it any longer. With her most serious face, she looked at my hair then asked: “Who put that on your head, Gramma?”
    Cracked me up … until i started wondering if she thought I was wearing a hat … or possibly a helmet????

  6. lois greiman says:

    That is too funny, Cindy. Sometimes I wonder who put my hair on my head, too. Some jokester, I think.

  7. kris says:

    see, now i would give just about anything to have thin and straight hair!!! mine is overly thick and wavy, but not quite curly. it never looks good. i spend thousands a year on keratin treatments, which helps, but not enough. i have been wearing it too long for a couple of years now and tomorrow i will be chopping most of it off. but i know i won’t be happy with it. *sigh* i feel your pain.

  8. michelehauf says:

    I am so over ‘hair’. Seriously. I wore it long for too long (because the hubby always said he likes it long; be he never had to style it!) If I had a nicely shaped head (which I do not) I’d go bald. The less work the better. Which is why my hair is short, and will remain so until I’m dead. (I’ve heard it grows after death for a while, right? Eww. But then I don’t have to style it then, so who cares) I like the style I have. It’s called: Get up in the morning, glance in the mirror, decide it looks fine, and forget about it. SOme days I don’t even have to comb it. Love short hair!

  9. Helen Brenna says:

    I thought Kathy wrote this blog!!! lol Too funny, Lois. Have you ever had a short cut? I think it’d look nice on you. Do something really radical and go to a hairstylist you trust, tell her to take into consideration the texture of your hair and how much time you want to spend on it and let her do her thang! It’s hair. It grows back. You never know …

  10. Marilyn says:

    “They” say long hair makes a woman look older, and on some it does. I guess it depends on the woman. My hair is so fine and straight that long hair does make me look older. My hairdresser and I have finally settled on a short style with few layers that seems to work. For me, it’s all about the hair products — shampoo and volumizer. Then I blow almost dry and add some cheap velcro rollers around the top and let it dry the rest of the way. After that there’s another styling cream and if I’m going anywhere, hairspray (but not to the helmet stage).

    ‘Twould be nice if I could just cut it really short and spike it up. I have a friend who does that and it’s cute as can be. I’m just afraid to try. I know it would grow out but until it did…

  11. Candace Schuler says:

    I had short hair. Once. Turns out I’m just not “me” with short hair. I don’t know what to do with short hair or how to style it… and what do you do with short hair on bad hair days when you can’t pull it in to a ponytail? So now I’m approaching 60 (Oh.My.God!) and it’s still long and layered and falls halfway down my back. My dearly departed grandma would have a fit; on my wedding day she said that now that I was a mature (all of 22 years old!) married woman, I would need to cut my hair or start wearing it up. Sorry, Grandma.

  12. lois greiman says:

    Kris, I can’t even imagine having thick hair. Are you absolutely SURE it’s not wonderful? Cuz speaking as a nearly bald dirty dishwater brunette? with Scandanavian roots (no pun intended) it’s sounds marvie.

  13. Helen, I could have written this post. I like your recommendation–find a really good stylist and let her give you a new do.

    This time of year a great new hairstyle can brighten up your outlook. I need a haircut desperately right now, but I probably won’t get there until after I finish WIPing myself.

    Michele, you hit the nail on my head when you talked about returning to the tried and true hairstyle.

  14. michelehauf says:

    I agree with Helen. I think Lois would look fab in a short do. A pixie cut!

  15. lois greiman says:

    Marilyn, I still love long hair, but it tangles and it bleaches to bone white so it doesn’t match the roots, and I’m OLD, but sigh…you’re right. Maybe I’ll just keep long hair on my horses.

  16. Keri Ford says:

    hair. ugh. straight and fine here. I can’t do short, it makes my face look 12 and a ponytail is necessary for me. would never survive if I couldn’t sling my hair back in a tail!

    so I stay shoulder length or longer. I typically do layers and for going somewhere I break out the hotrollers, gel, and lots of hairspray 🙂

  17. Leanne Banks says:

    When I was little, my mother cut my hair very short when I wanted long, luxurious locks. My hair was always very fine, so luxurious wasn’t in my future unless I wanted to get extensions. As soon as I could hold a curler in my hand, I learned how to roll my hair. I’m very fast at it now — under 5 minutes with electric rollers. But I didn’t get my hair cut for 3 months and it was really scraggly, so I decided to get the length cut just below my collar bone. I’m with Betina. I don’t want a bare neck in the winter! The problem? The rollers won’t work with this new style, so I have to learn new hair skills such as using a flat iron. I hate the time it takes for the learning curve. I’ve even checked out some youtube videos to learn some new techniques. The only constant with my hair is that I will probably always have bangs and will likely color it. Other than that, I like that I can change it if I want.

  18. lois greiman says:

    Yeah, but Keri, you’re cute, so anything goes.

  19. I’ve had all lengths of hair… Now it’s sort of medium. Don’t we all struggle with it? I’d say it’s a woman-only thing, but my two boys moan about their hair all the time. Son1 has thick, straight hair with cowlicks in unfortunate places. Son2 has ringlets. Actual ringlets. But he buzzes his hair short now after being taken for a girl too many times. Breaks my heart cuz I loooved the ringlets.

  20. Marilyn says:

    Find a good hairdresser at a high end salon and go armed with photos. Be prepared to spend bucks though. I pay $50 for a haircut alone. But a really good stylist can tell you what will and won’t work for your hair, and he/she will be your best friend. Heck, mine even supplied me with the name of the best divorce attorney in town. ~grin~

    • Stephenia says:

      Marilyn – I agree with you on this – a better salon and pictures are the way to go! They are a bit more up on the styles and not afraid to try something different!

  21. lois greiman says:

    I went into a restaurant with my daughter and her fiance once. He had long red hair…great hair…the kind of hair any heroine would swoon over. Anyway, the waitress came up behind him and said, “Can I help you, ladies?” Then she saw Bob’s face and apologized as if she’d slandered his mother integrity. So rediculously many apologies. I thought she could have just said, “Can I help you ladies….and this obviously extremely masculine gentleman?” But I still laugh out loud when I think about it.

    I wonder if hair has always been a symbol of femininity.

  22. Helen Brenna says:

    I love long hair on guys, especially when it’s curly.

  23. lois greiman says:

    I sometimes feel bad for guys. It seems they have less options in things like hairstyles, clothes…and maybe lifestyles??

  24. Kylie Brant says:

    You’ve got short hair now, Lois? I’ve never seen you with short hair before. When I had my third son my husband nagged about getting my hair cut so I’d have more time in the mornings. So I got it cut. Short. He looked at me and said, “Oh. I didn’t know you’d look like *that*.” ‘Nuff said 🙂

  25. Leanne Banks says:

    Kylie, OMG! How is that man still alive! lol

  26. Kylie Brant says:

    Leanne, I ask myself that everyday 🙂

  27. Mary Louise says:

    Hi Lois: I have given into my natural curls after many years of having a super short cut. Now, it’s still short, but it’s grown a bit fuller. I barely shake my head after a shampoo and voila it does it’s thing. In college I also had the long hair, parted in the middle. I worked hard to straighten it by living in huge rollers or wrapping it. Finally, after all this time, I have a style I actually like P.S. Lois: please check your email for another brainstorm!!

  28. infinitieh says:

    I grew up with short hair. Hair I didn’t even have to comb every day and it’d still look the same. Then in college, I got lazy. After all perms and coloring (I’m not cut out to be a blonde – everyone complained), I just let it grow. At one point during my late twenties, my hair reached my hips. It’s no longer than long (the weight of my hair was pulling on my head too much), but I *still* haven’t decided on a “style”. So, I just tell people that I have the hairstyle I do because I am lazy.

  29. debradixon says:

    Lois– You know I had great hair in college, but over the years, it has become sadly less great and I now settle for adequate any day of the week and call it a victory!

    I’ve had the same hair style for way too long but it’s just so darned easy. It’s the “soccer mom bob.”

  30. I’ve always had thick, curly hair that grows like a weed. I went from boy-short to past my shoulders during one pregnancy. And no matter what length my hair is, I want it to be different. Needless to say, I change my hairstyle every time I go to the hairdresser.

    One thing about moving from New England to Montana: I lost the frizzies. It’s hardly ever humid or damp out here–even when it’s raining–so it’s like I’ve had a completely different head of hair these past seven years.

    I’m not real happy with the gray and am considering giving up on coloring it and just going short and letting the gray have its way. Funny that no one else mentioned the gray. I guess I must be older than all of you, eh?

Leave a Reply

