It’s Baaaack …

That’s right, American Idol season 10 premiered last night in New Jersey with a couple new judges.  Goodbye Ellen Degeneres (bummer), Kara DioGuardi (yay!) and Simon Cowell (undecided) and hello Steven Tyler and Jennifer Lopez.

I’ve been an American Idol follower for several years, although I quit watching last year.  Although I loved last year’s addition of Judge Ellen, I really did not, not, not like Kara.  Then too, the talent seemed lackluster, that is other than the final two Lee DeWyze and Crystal Bowersox.  Apparently, a few other people agreed that the show had lost some of it’s zing and their ratings tumbled.  Everyone knew Simon had been planning on leaving, so it was time to shake things up!

Early on, I think it was fairly clear that Randy and Ryan would be back.  And while I don’t remember what names had been thrown around as possible new judges, I wasn’t surprised to hear Jennifer Lopez was hopping aboard the AI train.  She seemed like a good fit, and she is.  After watching last night I think Jennifer brings back the heart that was missing after Paula left.  She had a really hard time saying no last night, and it was cute.

When I heard Steven Tyler was going to be the other judge, I was skeptical.  As far as I was concerned the best thing about Steven was his daughter Liv.  I’ve never been an Aerosmith fan, and I just wasn’t sure if I wanted to look at him for weeks on end.  He reminds me far too much of Mick Jagger, and although I love listening to the Stones’ I can’t watch them.

Well, I’m a big girl.  I can admit I was wrong.  Steven could very well fill at least one of Simon’s shoes.  His comment last night to one crazy performer, “Did you eat a lot of paint chips when you were a kid?” was Simonesque.  And he was fun, jamming with a couple of the singers, cracking jokes, and being generally cool.

As for the talent search itself?  There were, of course, some interesting characters. None of “Pants on the Ground” caliber, but still fun.  I think we met some possible contenders in the bunch from Jersey last night, and I hope a couple of them make it for a while.  I’d like to see how they grow.

So those are my thoughts.  What about you?  Are you an AI follower?  Do you already miss Simon?  What did you think of the new judges Steven and Jennifer, and do you think this new season has promise?

Next stop?  New Orleans tonight.  I’ll think I’ll give it another shot.

Helen

About Helen Brenna

Helen Brenna is the RITA award winning author of romances for Harlequin's Superromance line. Three more books in her popular Mirabelle Island series will be release in July, August and September of 2011. For more information, check out her website at www.helenbrenna.com.
This entry was posted in American idol, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to It’s Baaaack …

  1. MIchele says:

    Never watched Idol, but am a fan of Aerosmith, so could see myself tuning in just to watch Tyler.

  2. lois greiman says:

    JLo is still likable isn’t she? And it is still fascinating to watch people go for their dream. As writers we can all probably relate. Toss your heart out there and see who stomps on it. Man that would take a ton of nerve.

  3. I live on another planet, Helen. I can watch the Stones, have minimal interest in AI. (Doesn’t that mean artificial insemination?) I’ve tried a couple of times–also gave Dancing With the Stars a couple of looks, Skating With the Stars, America’s Got Talent, and others–figure I need to be up on contemporary culture. I gave American Idol some attention when I heard about Jennifer Hudson, and when she didn’t win, I was done.

    I do like acerbic humor sometimes as long as it isn’t served up in a review of MY work. Simon seems to be good at that. (I like Ricky Gervais.) I have no time for the Paula Abdul type.

  4. Helen Brenna says:

    He’s fun to watch, Michele. I think, anyway.

    Lois, I think you hit on the reason this show hits me – watching people go for their dreams. It can be heart-wrenching at times, but I think that’s why it’s good.

    Kathy, I like Ricky Gervais, too, most of the time. Did you watch the Golden Globes last weekend? Apparently, he took some heat for that, but I haven’t had time to check into the details.

  5. Leanne Banks says:

    Didn’t watch, but I’m a little curious about Steven Tyler, so I’ll tune in sometime. I’m not wedded to watching the show every week and sometimes just watch during the final few weeks. Liked Paula. Didn’t like Ellen OR Kara that much. LOVE Randy — dawg!:)

  6. Betina Krahn says:

    I confess, I watched! The New Jersey thing was pretty good. I kind of like Steven tyler– big mouth and all. Randy seems like the anchor now and JoLo is quite the little empathizer. Who knew? The talent didn’t seem all that striking, however. Maybe we’ll see more on the New Orleans night. Or maybe it was just a hangover from the anesthetic. . . everything seem copascetic just now. Glad to be recovering and in the land of the living again!

  7. kylie brant says:

    I’m not an Idol fan (despised Simon) but think it would be worth it to check out Stephen Tyler!

  8. Helen Brenna says:

    I don’t watch the show every week either, Leanne. I like the first couple, catch a few here and there and then watch the last several, depending.

    Betina, your comment made me think of that 16 y/o woman from NC, I think. Never seen this happen before, but all of the judges seem to be on the fence with her – she was too sweet for ST, but had a lovely voice. She ended up talking the judges into giving her a chance in Hollywood! Couldn’t believe it. That NEVER would’ve happened with Simon on the show.

  9. catslady says:

    I totally agree with you lol. I prefer JLo to Paula who would get on my nerves sometimes. I too don’t like looking at Tyler but I like him lol. They all seemed to know what they were talking about and were fun. I think they’ll get better as they go on. I do miss Ellen’s humor though. And I enjoy Ricky Gervais too. If they didn’t like his kind of humor, they shouldn’t have hired him.

  10. Helen Brenna says:

    I think they hired Ricky BECAUSE he creates a buzz. He’s done the Globes two years in a row. We’ll find out soon enough if he’ll be up for a 3rd year!

  11. Monex says:

    Jennifer Lopez and made their debut last night and I thought they did oknothing too differernt!

Leave a Reply

