Wedding Bliss

I love a wedding! So it’s no surprise that I’ve been following the stream of details about the upcoming nuptials of Prince William and Kate Middleton.  I admit to being a little surprised that he gave to her his mother’s engagement ring.  But I suppose it’s a tribute to his love for his mom as opposed to anything about how her marriage ended.

Latest news is that Kate will not ride to the wedding in the glass carriage (pictured above) as Diana did, however. Some say it’s because the carriage wasn’t a very comfortable fit, or because of the possible weather in April, or because the couple don’t want to appear too ostentatious. Word is the Queen would prefer to have things her way, though, and it looks like the carriage ride might still be a possibility. Kate and Prince William will leave the wedding, however, in the same open, horse-drawn carriage that Diana  and Charles used.  (Factoid: Apparently Kate is allergic to horses!)

There will be a wedding breakfast/luncheon hosted by the Queen with perhaps 900 guests, most of them chosen by Will’s side of the family. (Factoid: Diana’s family was only allowed to invite 30 people to her wedding breakfast.) The date, April 29, has been declared a holiday in England.

I was listening to the radio and they were playing a James Blunt song about seeing a girl and having to let her go (I can’t find it, darn it) and said it’s rumored to be one he’ll play at the upcoming wedding.  Sheesh, I hope not.  I love the song by Train, “Marry Me,” that I predict will become the new go-to first dance song for wedding receptions. Listen/watch here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ghZt2cILcCU

I can’t wait to see Kate’s dress. I suppose she won’t be wearing the style that seems all the rage on “Say Yes to the Dress”–very revealing and sexy. I’m assuming she’ll be more covered, and I think it will set a new trend for future gowns.

Are you paying attention to what’s next for Will and Kate? Will you be watching on April 29?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Wedding Bliss

  1. leannebanks says:

    Yes yes yes! I would frankly love to have a gathering to celebrate just for fun, but it will be very early here. But I can’t wait to see all the selections of cake and china and dress and everything else that are made.:)

  2. I love weddings, too! I haven’t been following Kate and Will, but I’ll watch the big day. I remember watching Chas and Di–I was finishing up my MS and staying in a dorm during the week, watching in the commons area with other teacher/students–and wondering how she felt wearing so much dress. She looked so wide-eyed and innocent and shy. I have a feeling Kate is going into this with her eyes wide open in the sophisticated sense.

  3. On the I-love-a-wedding front, the one wedding show I really enjoy is “My Fair Wedding.” David Tutera is such a sweetie, and every wedding is a Cinderella story. Watched his put together an Alice In Wonderland theme last night–so cool!

  4. lois greiman says:

    I haven’t been following, but weddings have been on my mind lately. I’m thinking a littttle less posh for my own offsprings’ weddings, but I loooove the carriage.

  5. April Bishop says:

    Thank you for your nice article. I like it.

    Thanks

  6. Kylie Brant says:

    I was never one of those caught up in the Diana/Charles deal. I do hope the couple gets to do their own thing and not have that pushy queen shoving all her ideas on them. Sheesh, she should get a real job!

  7. MIchele says:

    I’m not as compelled to this wedding story as that of Diana’s. But will probably watch it when aired on TV.

  8. christieridgway says:

    I think we are all a little less starry-eyed about this wedding than Charles and Di…but so are the bride and groom. And I feel confident they really love each other.

    I was reading an article that said the British people will be hosting lots of wedding-themed parties and such and thought that might be a really fun thing to do come April…

  9. Mary Baird says:

    I am a total Anglophile. I have watched every royal wedding since I can remember. I remember watching Queen Elizabeth’s coronation in 1953, when I was a small child. I will be taking the day off on April 29th in order to enjoy the entire day!

  10. christieridgway says:

    Watching The King’s Speech made me feel “closer” to the British royal family, I think. I loved seeing little Elizabeth and her parents. I think it has made my anticipation of the wedding even keener!

  11. catslady says:

    I think the song is called Your Beautiful but not positive. I will watch but I’m not as enraptured as I was for Diana. I thought it was horrible how she was treated but this marriage seems more down to earth. Not the failed fairy tale of Princess Diana.

  12. Minna says:

    I’ll probably watch it. I read today they are asking people to give money for charities instead giving them wedding gifts.

  13. Helen Brenna says:

    I’m not much into weddings, including this one, but I’m always curious when I hear a spotlight or two on the national news about their plans. Love the fact that they refuse to have servants for the first couple of years – apparently until Will is finished with his military service and has to take up official duties. They sound like 2 very level headed young adults.

  14. Deb says:

    YES, I am loving this wedding watch for Kate and Prince William. I got up really early to watch Diana and Charles’ wedding and will for Kate and William’s. My 10-year-old daughter has caught the wedding fever, too. 🙂 I was, and still am, a devoted fan of Diana’s. She had grace, poise, and style and was kind-hearted.

Leave a Reply

