Me Again!:) What’s your fave breakfast food? Drawing!

The history of breakfast food, according to Leanne…

My mother tells me it all started with rice cereal for me.  I progressed to oatmeal and quickly rejected that.  I was a skinny, scrawny kid for the first 20 years of my life.  The dreaded picky eater.  Poor woman, my mother.  She was stuck with three skinny daughters.  In my case, my mother tried very hard to get me to drink milk with my breakfast.  I hated milk.  My family’s choice of beverage for dinner was milk or iced tea.  I became  a big fan of iced tea.  I’d like to say my aversion to milk was due to lactose intolerance, but I loved and still love cheese, so no, I just hated drinking milk.

I progressed to eggs, BACON – looooooooove it – (I sometimes think I’m related to Elvis), then Captain Crunch cereal, occasional pancakes and pop tarts (the breakfast of champions).   My favorite Pop Tarts were the kind that tasted like Oreos.Smile  You have a hint of what’s to come.  My mother became so desperate to get me to eat breakfast that she gave me an ice cream sandwich for breakfast. IceCremeSandwich Hey, it included dairy.  I was a skinny kid.  There was no danger of me eating too many of them.

Then to college.  Oreos and Country Time lemonade.  No lie.  As a Virginia Tech Hokie, I had to walk across that drill field everyday to class.  No time to hit the dining hall since I was busy hot-rolling my hair, which fell like lead in the wind, rain and humidity.Smile  Oreos-oreo-1413880-800-480

Next phases included Blueberry Morning Cereal, more poptarts, then when my metabolism slowed, boiled eggs, peanut butter and honey on toast, fasting.  I tried Kashi cereal, but the results were ugly.  (I do NOT need more fiber in my diet.)  Muffins are full of sugar and fat as are breakfast breads.  I recently made Monkey Bread for friends.  First time in 15 years. FYI, if you want to kill people, give them a steady diet of monkey bread which is filled with butter and sugar.  I hate yogurt.2007_07_yuck  I keep trying to make friends with it, but I keep hating it.  That said,  I’ve learned protein is my friend for breakfast.  Otherwise after two hours, my stomach is growling and saying “Yo, give me something helpful.”

Just so you know, my fave dining-out breakfast is one scrambled egg, crisp bacon, one-half of a blueberry pancake with maple syrup  bberrypancakes and real grits with butter.  grits-with-butterThat happens about three times a year, but I make loud moaning and groaning sounds of pleasure when it takes place.

So, here’s my question to you.  What do you eat for breakfast?  How do you include protein?  (Oh, and no shakes or yogurt allowed!)  I’ll draw a name from the responses and send my award-nominated book, ROYAL HOLIDAY BABY.

Give me some ideas!

xo,

Leanne

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Me Again!:) What’s your fave breakfast food? Drawing!

  1. Quilt Lady says:

    I love breakfast foods, as a matter of fact I had eggs, saugage, biscuits and gravy for our supper tonight. That is when I get breakfast foods, I rarely fix it in the mornings. Since I don’t usually eat real early in the mornings I will eat about anything from left overs to tv dinners. Today I had a meatloaf sandwich for my breakfast but that was about 10:30 this morning. If I have to get up early and eat early I will just have a bowl of cerial.

  2. EllenToo says:

    I eat oatmeal for breakfast ~ no not the bland stuff ~ my favorite it oatmeal with cranberries or blueberries or even strawberries and I use milk instead of water.

  3. Laney4 says:

    I am guilty. I didn’t eat breakfast as a child nor as a young adult. I didn’t start eating it until I was probably in my forties. Now that I am a whopping 51 years old, I push myself to eat most mornings, especially if – eek! – I have pills to take with it! Right now I have a dental infection (the precursor to the dreaded root canal, most likely), so I will take the pill on a full stomach with breakfast. Luckily for me, I am having breakfast out with my college friend tomorrow morning, so he and I will both be eating 2 eggs, 2 pieces of toast, hashbrowns, 3 slices of bacon, and tea – all for a mere $4.99 each. We will order at 8:45 am and walk out of the restaurant around 11 am. No sense in rushing it! Usually, though, I have 2 pieces of buttered toast for breakfast (sometimes with peanut butter) OR a bowl of cereal (with tons of sugar – Alphabits) OR an egg and toast. When I want to REALLY splurge, I’ll have a toasted bacon sandwich instead. Decadent, I know….

  4. infinitieh says:

    My mother made the same breakfast for me from seventh grade on: oatmeal (not the instant kind with sugar), add a little honey, some raisins, a raw egg (which will be cooked by the hot oatmeal or a soft-boiled one, crumbled, if you’re queasy about the raw egg), and a little bit of milk to cool it down enough for me to eat.

    Nowadays, I’d crumble some bacon in it, too, but I’d forgo the sweetener. This is how I’d do it up when eating in restaurants and this is the only way my cousin would eat oatmeal at all.

    Think of oatmeal as a carb and dress it up accordingly, which to me means both sweet (raisins) and savory (bacon).

  5. Minna says:

    I’m a lazy cook in the morning. For me breakfast is some yogurt, maybe some fruit, oatmeal porridge and some bread or Karelian pastries and maybe some egg butter on top of the bread or pastries.

  6. Kylie Brant says:

    I despise breakfast. I’d rather wait until 10 AM, have a sandwich and call it lunch. The things that I do like for breakfast–bacon, Captain Crunch, Corn Pops–I know are fattening so I don’t eat them. If I grab a banana or yogurt it’s purely for fuel. I’m really thinking about what I’m going to have at noon!

  7. Debra says:

    We’ve always been big fans of breakfast around here. But mostly for dinner, not for breakfast! Lately I’ve been trying to eat breakfast every day and tend to gravitate to yogurt because it’s just so easy.

    While reading your breakfast history, it occurs to me that there are lots of good “character” details. I’m sure you’re as bad as the rest of us in terms of sucking up the “specific interesting details of life” and then spewing them out seemingly from nowhere one day as you’re working on a character in a book. Writers are such sponges.

  8. Helen Brenna says:

    Breakfast when I was growing up was always cereal with milk – the one meal my mom didn’t have to cook. I still eat cereal most mornings, although I use soy milk with some form of organic flakes. It took me a while to get used to the soy, but now I can’t STAND regular milk, after having been a regular milk drinker most of my life.

    Occasionally, I’ll fry up a couple eggs, and I love, love, love bacon, too.

    We have brinner – breakfast for dinner – probably once a month around here!

  9. Linda Morgan says:

    Hmmmm, I just had two toasted Thomas’ thin bagels loaded with butter and cream cheese. I have to share with the birds and dogs, and now my 8 mo old grandson wants some, too, but they don’t get 1/4 of one in all.

    When I am in the mood I make eggs benedict just for me. If I make it for company, I have to make a double batch of blender Hollandaise because just a drizzle isn’t enough
    I seldom eat eggs. I, too, love bacon (or sausage or ham).

    Frosted Flakes with extra sugar is my favorite cereal, although I also like the Walmart brand of flakes with freeze dried strawberries. I used to eat instant oatmeal with strawberries or peaches, the kind in the little bags. I was thinking about getting some so I can introduce Kaden to it, but I’m not sure I want him following in my eating habits. He won’t get grits from me. I was told to use them to get rid of fireants. The grits swell up and make the ants explode. I don’t know if that’s true, but it’s a good use for them.

  10. Every Sunday we have a full brunch, eggs, ham and/or bacon, hash browns, toast, sliced tomato the whole bit. Sprinkle some shredded cheese in the eggs as well.
    The rest of the week is a bowl of raisin bran and tea~

    One of my worst childhood memories is being told to eat my ‘cream of wheat’ *gag* hate it to this day!

  11. CrystalGB says:

    My favorite breakfast is chocolate chip pancakes with a side of bacon. On work days, I eat a muffin or granola bars with a fruit.

  12. michelehauf says:

    I’ve never been much for breakfast but have been forcing myself lately because I feel the benefits from actually fueling up in the morning. My fav right now is a crumpet with almond butter on it. Num! I have dreams about putting almond butter on stuff like crumpets and celery sticks and radishes.

    Never have liked milk. It just tastes wrong. I believe it is Evil. But I recall as a kid all we ate was cereal with milk and many, many, Many tablespoons of sugar poured over it all.

  13. Man, you hit me where I live this morning. I just read that new research shows that coffee with a donut really has some benefit in the morning–something about the way caffeine combines with sugar–so I’ve already indulged. Love bacon. One of the kids left her bacon this morning, and I spotted it too late. I fought the dog, and the dog won.

    I’ve never been a breakfast person, either. Your history sounds like mine, Leanne. My nickname as a kid was Beanpole. Didn’t like milk, loved ice cream and cheese. My parents liked grits too–hey, Daddy went to Virginia Tech right after WWII!–but I don’t like the texture. Feels like, well, grits.

  14. I like oatmeal. Not instant, though. I mix steel cut, regular, a little of the quick version, and oat bran–I get it all from the bins in the health food aisle–in a ziplock bag. 1/2 cup of that mixture with cinnamon, brown sugar, dash salt, dried cranberries and blueberries (raisins if the other isn’t available) and skim milk; nuke 2 min, 1 min rest, add more milk if necessary.

  15. lois greiman says:

    I agree on the protein for breakfast idea. But although I love bacon more than oxygen I try to avoid eating my friends (namely anything with a face) so I usually just have a handful of nuts and milk. Works surprisingly well to stave off desperation till lunch. Unlike you tho, Leanne, I was NOT a skinny kid. My body would very happily live in the 300 pound range.

  16. Keri Ford says:

    I’ll take nearly anything for breakfast—so long as I don’t have to drink white milk. 🙂

    supper leftovers, oatmeal, cream of wheat, cereal, poptarts, corndogs, chocolate, waffles, bacon, sausage, candy, soup–doesn’t matter, I’ll eat it for breakfast. Just give me SOMETHING.

    worst breakfast days of my life was when I was pregnant. I had to have protein every single morning. I ate PB&Js. about 3months after son’s birth, I discovered pregnant women are not supposed to eat peanut butter! He’s fine, but it’s funny–he refuses to eat PB&J. always has.

  17. Kirsten says:

    Usually I just grab a quick jam sandwich. But on the weekends I make semolina porridge. I eat it with a lump of butter, dollop of honey and a few raisins. Not my favorite taste in the world but healthy, I think.

  18. Kylie Brant says:

    We have a favorite around here called crab bagels that I do for breakfast when everyone is home. I mix a stick of butter, diced up crab, and a jar of old English cheese. Season with garlic powder. Chill. Then spread on mini bagel halves and broil. Now THAT is the breakfast of champions! My crew will eat their way through two bags in the morning and my two year old grandson can eat six on his own!

  19. Deb says:

    My fave breakfast depends on what time of day it is. I have 2 eggs every morning, fried or scrambled. But, I love having a breakfast supper of either waffles or omelettes with fried potatoes. (My husband makes a mean omelette.) When I was little, my mom made fried cornmeal mush and we lathered it with butter and syrup, yum.

    My grandmother had pancake night once a month when I was a girl. We had corn pancakes, potato pancakes, blueberry pancakes, boysenberry pancakes, etc. Is was always a fun Sunday night.

  20. catslady says:

    When I worked outside the home it was coffee and donuts 🙂 Then I tried cereal and eggs on the weekends. Eventually it was just plain coffee. A few years back I had a health scare and had to change my ways. Now it’s a glass of water mixed with black cherry juice (antioxidants and very good) and your dreaded yogurt – but only Activia lol. I always had stomach problems and they are now totally gone 🙂

  21. chey says:

    Usually, for breakfast I usually have fruit and an egg or cheese.

  22. Marcia in OK says:

    We LOVE breakfast foods at my house, but we have them for dinner. Single mom and two daughters off to work/school by 7 am – no time for anything that can’t fit in a ziploc bag.

    In my desk, I have a box of cereal (that I can eat dry by the cupful at a time) a box of reduced fat Granola bars, and in the office fridge I have OJ and butter and or cheese for toast.

    Can’t stand milk as a beverage. I can eat an entire bowl of cereal and have almost as much left as when I started eating.

  23. Stephenia says:

    I love breakfast – my favorite is pancakes, bacon and eggs, to be savored slowly with a strong cup of dark coffee and a handsome man (my hubby, unless Gerard or Johnny are free, smiles).

    But during the week, this girl has to work and I have to get something quicker…..so I usually have a hard fried egg/cheese/100cal bagel sandwich; microwave turkey sausage links/bagel/small amount of pancake syrup sandwich; granola bar/string cheese; grilled cheese; hard boiled egg(made ahead of time) with bagel/granola bar; scrambled egg/cheese burrito or 1/2 peanut butter sandwich. And add a banana to any of the choices above.

    Deb – I love fried cornmeal mush with syrup/butter too!

  24. Liza says:

    I love real grits with butter too. Don’t get to eat that very often. I love scrambled eggs(I eat egg beaters), turkey sausage/bacon, or Morning Star bacon/sausage. I fix a sandwich on an Arnold’s sandwich thin or Thomas bagel thin. For a treat, I’ll fix a bagel thin with Nutella.

  25. Susan T. says:

    When I’m at work, I tend to have a bagel with butter and a cup of coffee. I’ve been trying on and off to get myself to eat oatmeal not having alot of luck. I tend to save bacon and eggs for lunch or even dinner.

Leave a Reply

