Debra- What did I do yesterday?

 

Nothing.

Okay, that’s not true.  But I did have one of those days in which you feel like you’ve pushed a 2 ton rock up a steep hill only to find out it’s the wrong rock.  Things have been so crazy at work that we  now have a catch-phrase.  “Don’t ask me what I did today.”  This is what we say when all hope of progress evaporates.

Anytime the unexpected bomb lands innocently in your email in box or when you happily pick up a stack of mail placed on your desk and realize the stack of mail is four separate communications from the State of Pennsylvania on an unemployment claim and not only have you not fired or laid anyone off…you don’t have an employee, office, warehouse or relative in Pennsylvania.  It’s times like those when we’ve gotten into the bad habit of hollering down the hall, “Don’t ask me what I did today.”

This phrase actually started because I’m fond of asking the Ops Manager, “What’d you do today?”  I like mentally crossing items off lists.  I enjoy progress.  So, I ask.  However, I also personally contribute to the never ending stream on the Ops Manager’s To Do list.  One day I handed her the fifth, urgent, unplanned thing and she snapped.  “Don’t ask me what I did today.  I can tell you right now that I am not going to get anything done.  The answer to your favorite question will be, ‘Nothing.‘”  Her opinion was accompanied by a very pointed look at me.

I took the hint and left her alone for at least an hour.

What about you?  Do you develop shared catch-phrases that have a world of meaning and a story behind them?

Pssst…..Bell Bridge Books has a new integrated blog site.  Go!  Follow!  http://www.bellbridgebooksblog.com/
The HOW TO SLAY A DRAGON cover is for our January middle-grade fantasy, which will be available for sale in the next week or so.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Debra- What did I do yesterday?

  1. Betina Krahn says:

    Wow, Deb– GREAT cover! I love it!

    We have several phrases at work. . . some of which don’t bear repeating in public. Which I usually pretend I don’t hear. After all, I’m the practice manager and SOMEBODY has to keep standards up. Here are a few choice ones:

    Medicare moves in mysterious ways.
    They’re not paying me enough to do this stuff.
    I hate people. (A favorite of doctors and nurses alike)
    And my personal favorite: Take it up with the other ME.

    Sigh. Got to get ready for another day tilting at windmills.

  2. michelehauf says:

    Love it, Deb! We have a similar phrase in this house, with an answer borrowed from Pinky.
    What are you going to do today?
    Same thing I do everyday. Try to take over the world.

    • debradixon says:

      Yes! “Same thing I do everyday. Try to take over the world.”
      I’m stealing that. I did not consider the potential for stockpiling snappy comebacks when I wrote the blog. Score!

  3. loisgreiman says:

    “It’s never too late to give up,” is a favorite of mine.

    • debradixon says:

      Ha! I could use that one too. I should actually take it to heart! Because I sometimes let things become “a quest.”

  4. Keri Ford says:

    hehee. I’m going with Betina. “some of which don’t bear repeating in public”

    except, I do absolutely hear and uh, often say. we gave up on that whole standards thing long ago. too much work. 🙂

  5. christieridgway says:

    For years we’ve asked the kids, “How many times were you called into the principal’s office today?” Never fails to raise a smile, even when they’re at their surliest. Then they make up some absurb number.

  6. debradixon says:

    Christie– What’s going to be fun is when they ask that to their kids. You know they will. It’s ingrained now.

  7. kylie brant says:

    My favorite seems to be: I’m sorry, I know I didn’t tell you that. Or, I didn’t tell you but this changed…things change so rapidly here. I have a volunteer that comes in every Friday and I have to let her know if we have any new students (Usually) but almost always forget to tell my aides that a schedule changed or what not. Truthfully, sometimes I forget to tell them because I forgot myself!

  8. debradixon says:

    Kylie– I didn’t tell you but… Yep! Guilty as charged!

  9. Helen Brenna says:

    I’m brain dead right now, so I can’t think of any catch phrases, but I will say there’s nothing more satisfying that checking things off a to-do list. That’s something I miss about working in an office setting in a regular job. There were shorter tasks. It takes a while to check “Write a book” off the list. LOL

    Love the cover! BelleBooks has some really great ones!

    • debradixon says:

      Thanks, Helen!

      You know I never thought about the loss of “list satisfaction” when writer’s make the decision to leave Corporate America for the home or Starbuck’s office.

  10. Leanne Banks says:

    Deb, same for all the others! My current fave is “You might not wanna do that if you don’t want to wake up with scissors in your head.”:)

Leave a Reply

