A Royally Great Year Ahead and Giveaway!

2011!  I’m always thrilled by the possibilities of a new year.  New diet.  New exercise program.  The promise of new clothes if I succeed with the above.

And January this year means for me a new release! I think it’s particularly exciting because Then He Kissed Me involves a royal wedding and there’s one upcoming between Prince Will and his beautiful Kate (April 29, 2011).

You just know it will be a magical year!

I had a lot of fun writing my royal wedding story.  Stephania (Stevie) Baci owns a limousine service in the wine country of California and on New Year’s Eve is contracted to drive a couple on a winery crawl.  The couple?  Her ex-boyfriend and his new affianced bride, who happens to be a half-American royal princess from a tiny state named Ardenia.  Yeah, he left her and took up with a princess!  But Stevie refuses to let her hurt show and is all-business until confronted by the woman’s brother, a charming rogue of a royal prince who can speak five languages and turn on a Georgia accent at the drop of a hat. Yeah, I love me some Jack Parini–and Stevie can’t get away from the man as the upcoming wedding is to take place at her family’s winery.

But rogue or not, Jack has shadows at the depth of his soul and it’s going to take a special woman to take him on.  Stevie has doubts that it can be her.  As she thinks: “if she could have constructed the complete wrong man for herself, it would be him: a gorgeous prince with a wealthy family and a dark past.” For his part, after a harrowing experience in his youth, Jack has cut himself off from the kinds of ties that love brings.

Ah, what I enjoy most! Two people who think they’re entirely wrong for each other but are entirely wrong about that.  Then He Kissed Me hits the shelves (or can be d/loaded to your e-reader) tomorrow, January 4.  Please look for it!

What are you looking forward to in 2011?  Comment to be in the pool to win our shower of books–a gobful of titles from the Top Down Riders (scroll down for list of books). I’ll draw one name at 5 o’clock PST today, and post.  Check back because we’ll need the winner to email their address to me so we can get your New Year off to a rollicking, reading start!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

39 Responses to A Royally Great Year Ahead and Giveaway!

  1. Pam Keener says:

    In December of 2011 I will, God willing, pay the final payment of my mortgage. It has been a tough couple of years but I see the tiny light at the end of the tunnel.
    Love & Hugs,
    Pam

  2. Laney4 says:

    Happy New Year, ladies! And what a year it looks like it will be! Thanks so much for the nice bonus being offered! (Fingers are crossed, which is HIGHLY uncomfortable, I might add.)

    I am looking forward to losing more weight. I have lost 16 lbs since Oct 29/10 and have a long way to go. People don’t realize I am as heavy as I am because I am 5’10” tall, but “I” realize it and want to feel healthier. I have been cutting back on portions, have discontinued night-time snacks (oh, how I miss my chips in the evening, but I buy a small bag once a month for numerous “desserts” at lunchtime so I don’t go bonkers), have cut out all pop (Pepsi is why I gained the weight in the first place), and have upped my competitive badminton from 2-3 nights/week to 5 nights/week. Egad, I’m exhausted, but it’s working, knock wood.

    Congrats to Pam re paying off her mortgage. We paid ours off after 11 years many moons ago and though jobs and income have changed drastically through the years, we’ve managed to remain debt free since then. It is not easy but it is SOOOO worth it. Way to go!

  3. Emmanuelle says:

    CONGRATS !!!
    I love new years and new year resolutions and how I feel like I have a blank page in front of me. Next september my son will start 6th grade and the whole family decided I would home school him. When I graduated from college I wanted to become a teacher. Life went in the way and I ended up being a stay at home mom. This year I’ll have to opportunity to be both. It’s exciting and challenging and scary too.
    Congrats again on your release. I love reading about people “all wrong for each other” 😉

  4. MIchele says:

    I just absolutely ADORE that cover. How clever. I know it’ll sell ba-zillions of copies for you, Christie!

    I’m looking forward to….hmm, haven’t thought that far ahead. I guess I want to reach my goal weight (doing fine so far), and I am looking forward to the vacation in NY with hubby this summer (for RWA conf). We rarely do vacations, so I can’t wait!

  5. christieridgway says:

    Yay for you, Pam! WTG on the mortgage.

    I’m right with you, Laney4. Going to be a healthier eater.

    Emmanuelle: Home schooling! I’m sure that will be a challenging and fulfilling experience. I know your son will learn lots.

  6. anne says:

    Happy New Year! 2011 will be a healthy year for the family which is the most important ingredient in a life. I will be preparing healthy meals and helping my daughter-in-law in many ways in order to ease her burden of work and worries.

  7. Pam Keener says:

    Thanks Laney4 & Christie. It was only a 10 year mortgage of which I paid half of the house down. Of course I forgot to factor in taxes and things needing to be replaced.
    But I look forward to the day I will be debt free because that is my goal.

    Congrats on your new release Christie. It is a gahgeous cover one that makes you take a second look even though I already love your books.
    Love & Hugs,
    Pam

  8. Desere says:

    Hello Christie

    What a great post thank you for sharing it with us ! In 2011 I am looking forward to so many things one of them being all of my family member who worked in Iraq will be home for their birthdays etc , many of them over the last 6 years have not been home for many special occasions,christmas ,new year or their birthdays and this christmas passed was the first time all of them were here, but they have all completed their services now and in 2011 they will all be here for all the special occasions !

    Amongst that I am looking forward to my five year old learning many new things , making new memories , and myself learning new things as well. Not forgetting I am looking forward to reading as many wonderfull books as I can get my hands on I adore reading !

    I am loving this cover of yours simply stunning ! I cannot wait to read it !

    All the very best
    Desere

  9. Linda Henderson says:

    I’m looking forward to spending more time with my grandkids. They grow up so fast and soon it won’t be cool to hang around with grandma, so I’m enjoying it now. I hope to have a better year health wise too. At least I’m going to try and take better care of myself.

  10. Lois Greiman says:

    Two weddings and a new book contract. Okay, I’m being optimistic. But that’s okay sometimes. :0 Best of everything to everybody.

  11. Aurora says:

    I am looking forward to being better with the choices I make when it comes to money and be wiser with what I spend it on 🙂 I look forward to spending LOTS of time with friends at Disney since it is my most favorite place to be and I look forward to my Best Friends Wedding!!!!!!

  12. Tabitha says:

    I am looking forward to spending lots of time with my amazing family and reading tons of books!

  13. I don’t do resolutions because I know they will be broken the first day of the year. I am looking forward to our 15th anniversary trip to Scotland this year. One of my dream trips. Happy New Year all.

  14. What a terrific setup for THEN HE KISSED ME! And it’s just what we need to start the year off–a bit of Cinderella, a bit of a dark prince.

    So this year I plan to get healthy, wealthy, and wise. Okay, two out of three wouldn’t be bad.

  15. Tanya Maxemow says:

    Happy New Year!! In 2011 I am looking forward to finally being able to take my family on a vaction to Disney World. We haven’t been able to afford it and this is the year when we will finally go. My kids are so excited!! I think I am a little more than them though as I used to live in Florida and we went every summer. I haven’t been back in close to 20 yrs and I can’t wait to see all the new attractions.

  16. christieridgway says:

    Reading, family, health, wisdom…all great things to look forward to in 2011. Love that Disney and weddings keep coming up!

  17. Maureen says:

    Congratulations on your new release! I am looking forward to the spring and planting my garden. I was just looking at seeds today to see what I want to grow.

  18. runner10 says:

    I’m looking forward to my son graduating from high school this year.

  19. elaing8 says:

    I’m looking forward to my nieces sons 1st birthday in February. nieces wedding in the summer. And hopefully,fingers crossed, a new job.

  20. chey says:

    Congrats on your new release!
    I’m looking forward to reaching my goal weight! I’m also looking forward to Spring!

  21. kris says:

    I am looking forward to my daughter’s dance competitions this year. There are also many books I am looking forward to. Can’t wait for “then he kissed me”….was at border’s yesterday, but might have to make a return trip to pick up a copy first thing tomorrow.

    so many books, so little time.

  22. Minna says:

    Well, right now I’m looking forward to getting rid of some stuff, like Barbie doll clothes and other things I’ve made and 4 bags of books I no longer wish to keep. I swear those books multiply in the dark…

  23. I’m looking forward to New York in June–not just because it’ll be my first official, real, live author event, but because my family will be coming with me for a vacation! Bring on the Big Apple!!

  24. Deb says:

    I’m looking forward to seeing my nieces graduate high school and college. They have turned out to be wonderful, caring young women. I’m looking forward to my nephew’s official wedding in April (he and his wife were married a year ago before they left for the Marshall Islands, but are now renewing their vows in church). God has been good to me and I cherish every moment I have with my immediate family.

  25. Michele Benard says:

    I’m looking forward to making my last car payment in Feb

  26. mariska says:

    I’m looking forward to read more great books this year, hope I could win some of them soon ‘wink’

  27. diane says:

    love the cover. gonna re-read crush on you so i will be ready! lol

    looking forward to being healthier in the new year: getting my pace maker battery replaced next week and gonna eat healthier and work out.

  28. Karoline says:

    Hi Christie!!! Happy New Years!

    I am so excited to read Then He Kissed Me! I enjoy all your books and I’m happy to say I have read all of them! I got married 6 months ago so my plans for the new year is to love and enjoy my husband and hopefully start a family soon. I also want to write a book… I have given a lot of thought about it and I really believe I can write one! anyways can’t wait to read the new book and I hope you have a wonderful new year 🙂

  29. Quilt Lady says:

    Congrats on your new release! I am looking forward to loosing some of this weight I have picked up this winter. I need to get on a good exercising program would help and stop eating all of these sweet things that come along with the holidays. Hoping everything settles down when son goes back to school. Also looking for all the new books coming out.

  30. Laura M says:

    yeah, cannot wait for the new book. I’ll preorder so it will be automagically download to my kindle!!!

  31. MaryC says:

    Love the cover – can’t wait to read it!

  32. Marcia J says:

    2011 is a year to count your blessings. I’m looking forward to good reads like the writers here, going deep into the writing craft and getting recognized for it (all body parts crossed) and improved biz all around. Am thankful for a nice home and my big squeeze teddy-bear guy.

  33. Jane says:

    I’m definitely looking forward to a healthy and more prosperous year. There are also so many great books and movies to look forward to.

  34. Stephenia says:

    I’m looking forward to being healthier, walking a little more, eating a little less, being mindful of taking my vitamins and getting some calcium in – I know that is so cliche’, but I am very sincere about it.

    What fun to have a character that (almost) has my name, it is definately a first. I’m sure she is a fierce heroine, smiles.

  35. Alice Kunce says:

    I’m looking forward to spending more time with my girlfriends. Family took over my life last year, but this year I’m making more time for the girls!

  36. christieridgway says:

    I can report to those w/weight loss & exercise goals that I am doing well today. Went to gym, ate right (so far!). Lots of good stuff we’re all looking forward to. Yay, us!

  37. Barbara Elness says:

    I’m looking forward to doing well at my new job (I started today). And since they have a gym that I can use, with some cool classes that I can take at lunchtime or after work, I’m hoping to get in more exercise. I was walking almost every day while unemployed and was afraid my exercise was going to suffer, so this is great.

  38. Leanne Banks says:

    Christie, this sounds like a fabulous story! Another NOT-to-be-missed book from YOU!!!:) xo, Leanne

  39. Kirsten says:

    I’m hoping that 2011 will be a healthy year for my family. And that we’ll get a chance to get closer together through happy times rather than sickbeds. If all goes well will have a short holiday together in the summer and I’m looking forward to it.

Leave a Reply

