Did you self-purchase? And IT’S RAINING BOOKS!

 

Gift

Did you self-purchase this Christmas? New research has revealed that one in four British women admit to spending more on themselves than others at Christmas, while 50% confess to buying a gift for themselves.

Scandalous, selfish wenches.

We Yanks never do that, right? Buwahahahaha. Eons ago, it never would have occurred to me, but something happened about five years ago when cashmere sweaters were marked off 60% and… Hey, a cuddl dud topped  cuddldudwith a cashmere sweater and lined wool slacks is my dream winter uniform when I have to step outside my house into brrrrr weather. Oh, and knee socks. Don’t forget the knee socks. It’s not about wanting to wear expensive or luxurious clothes. It’s about wanting to stay WARM! According to retail analysts, even in the states, 26% of us usually purchase Christmas pressies for ourselves. This year, it’s up to 41%. Why? We’re suffering from “frugality fatigue”.   I like that.  “Hey, Sweetie, I’ve got a bad case of frugality fatigue.  The temporary treatment is a new pair of boots.”  No doubt my husband will roll his eyes.

Did I “self-gift” this year? Yes, indeedy. I didn’t spend a boatload, but I found a deal on spanx and couldn’t resist some warm-looking knee socks. If I’d found the perfect low-heel riding boots, I would have bought those too, but it was not to be. I guess my faux Uggs will have to do.

So, what about you? It will be our little secret. Have you ever bought anything for yourself at Christmas?:)

Leave a comment and you’ll be entered to win the drawing for a shower of books! You are due! 

Anyone who comments between Dec 28 through January 3rd, will be eligible for the drawing of a shower of books. Here are some of the books!

Not Just the Nanny and Crush on You by Christie Ridgway

An Accidental Seduction and One Hot Mess – Lois Greiman

ROYAL HOLIDAY BABY  — Leanne Banks

NEXT COMES LOVE and ALONG CAME A HUSBAND—Helen Brenna

DEADLY PROMISES anthology – Sherrilyn Kenyon, Cindy Gerard, Laura Griffin

RISK NO SECRETS – Cindy Gerard

SEDUCING THE VAMPIRE and ROGUE ANGEL: The Bone Conjurer (Michele Hauf)

3 books from the Belle Books Catalog (Deb)

IN CARE OF SAM BEAUDRY; ONE COWBOY, ONE CHRISTMAS, and COOL HAND HANK—Kathleen Eagle

Happy New Year!Smile

xo,

Leanne

This entry was posted in self purchase, drawing for books, gifts. Bookmark the permalink.

58 Responses to Did you self-purchase? And IT’S RAINING BOOKS!

  1. Di R says:

    You bet I bought some of my own presents. I love my husband more than words, but after the peach sweather with beads and sequins, he’s not allowed to buy me clothes.
    I bought a pair of jeans and a plum colored t-shirt that says Believe on it.
    The problem arose this year when my daughter (11) discovered that I wrapped it, too. LOL!

    Di

  2. Charlotte M says:

    I have to admit I actually did do my own shopping this year. I bought myself a Kindle and a new desk. Then I bought for everyone else. 🙂

  3. runner10 says:

    I usually buy myself a piece of jewelry. Who knows what I like better than me?

  4. susan wilson says:

    My husband is a rubbish shopper so I bought some boots (with the buckles and the fur down the side!) and a tunic top and told him he’d bought me them for Christmas. His lifted his head, ever so slowly, from his laptop and he gave the usual grunt in response. He never even asked how much (which is what I’d planned).
    Don’t ya just love them????
    And you wonder why I lose myself in books………..

  5. mjfredrick says:

    I did! I took advantage of some deals and got some Reeboks, the first season of Glee and the latest season of Supernatural. My husband bought me some necklaces from Etsy, so I bought some sweaters to set them off 🙂

    And I have some Christmas money burning a hole in my pocket…thinking about a new watch.

  6. Linda Morgan says:

    I always buy myself a Christmas present! While shopping for others, invariably I will find something I wish I’d get. So if it isn’t too expensive, I treat myself. Funny how my list of gifts for others keeps getting smaller. This year it was beaded coasters at Pier 1. They were $14.95, and I just couldn’t resist their gaudiness. They made me smile. Once home I realized I don’t use coasters, don’t have company, and the tree isn’t big enough to hang them, so I put them in the white elephant gift exchange. Guilt free, I
    got to enjoy them a couple of weeks (just looking and touching, never used them), and
    my son-in-law ended up with them and gave them to me. He doesn’t use coasters either.

  7. Liza says:

    I actually bought myself a new pair of Uggs. I didn’t have the chestnut Uggs and found a great deal on them, and I couldn’t resist. Also got myself new books, but I buy books every month, so not sure they can count as self-gifts.

  8. annie says:

    I always buy something for myself as an end of the year indulgence so this year I bought a lovely cozy cashmere sweater. Love it.

  9. leannebanks says:

    DI, good for you! I’m wondering how you handled your 11 year old’s questions.:)

    CHARLOTTE! A kindle! Bet you’re going to love it. Have you started reading anything yet?

    RUNNER10 new jewelry, and yes you know exactly what you want, so it’s only logical that you should choose!;)

  10. leannebanks says:

    SUSAN, sounds like you made wonderful selections. Since your husband didn’t ask how much, I’m wondering if you should have bought more!lol

    MJFREDERICK LOVE that you bought some sweaters to help accent your new necklaces! You go girl!:)

    LINDA, I love your coaster story! They came back to you!:) They sound so lovely I’m tempted to make a trip to Pier 1 and see if I can find them because we DO use coasters!

  11. leannebanks says:

    LIZA, if you got a deal on Uggs, you were smart to grab them. And books at Christmas are perfect!:)

    ANNIE, I’m with you on the cashmere sweater especially with the cold temps and snow we’ve had!

  12. cindygerard says:

    Must admit, I bought a new Pipka Santa to go with my collection – then the DH bought me 2 more :o) Whoops. I love them all.

  13. michelehauf says:

    I love that term. Self-gifting. I always do, but I don’t look at it as a gift but rather ‘well, I needed that and it is on sale, so since I am shopping…’ You know how that goes. 🙂

  14. Linda Henderson says:

    I didn’t buy myself anything before Christmas, but I did order the first two seasons of Castle from Amazon yesterday as they had an amazing deal on them. I had some gift cards so I used them to pay for them. I can’t wait till they get here.

  15. kris says:

    I do pretty much all my own shopping. I have to do it for everyone else so why shouldn’t I just get my stuff while I’m at it? I have given hubby lists in the past and he’s fine with that, but if I’m already at the store I want/need something from, I will generally get it. I don’t like unauthorized gifts, so this really reduces the risk of that.

  16. Marilyn says:

    Did I self-purchase? Did I self-gift? You bet your sweet bippy I did! You should see my Kohl’s bill. But everything was at least 50% off and some was even more. I got an $80 set of queen flannel sheets for $19. I got a pair of those earmuffs that wrap around the back for $10 (regularly $25). I got two new pairs of warm jammies for less than half price. I got myself a big, rhinestone “M” for my Christmas tree. And of course I got Kohl’s cash and then had to spend that. LOL! Used it to shop for my mother’s January birthday.

    On Black Friday I got a pair of faux Uggs but oh my they’re warm.

    I think a lot of my self-gifting this year was self-medicating since the big “D” was final in mid-November. But it was all things I use regularly. That’s my justification and I’m stickin’ to it. 😉

  17. Marilyn says:

    Oh, and my sons and DIL gave me a Kindle for Christmas. Was I ever surprised! I’m still figuring it out but I’ve downloaded a couple free books for practice.

  18. Kylie Brant says:

    No doubt due to the amount of online shopping I did this year, I didn’t self-gift as much as usual. My daughter gave me a great idea for stocking stuffers for all the gals (a cover for hot curling irons so they can be thrown in the suitcase) so of course I needed one too 🙂 And I always buy myself a new Santa for my collection. Hubby and I usually buy things for the house when we’re shopping because we shop so rarely, so did mattress pads, sheets and blankets. And yes, I do believe I’m going to order myself several pair of boots online after seeing how much I liked the ones I ordered for the girls!

  19. LindaC says:

    I always self gift for every occasion. It eliminates returns for wrong color, wrong size, just plain wrong. I gifted myself with a pair of comfy shoes, books(of course), and the newest Norah Jones CD.

    LindaC

  20. Minna says:

    This year I didn’t have to! For once I got a book I actually like, a cookbook. My sisters have never before managed to buy a book I’ve liked. Their taste when it comes to fiction is a bit different from mine. And I got way too much chocolate.

  21. Keri Ford says:

    I don’t self-gift in terms that I go buy myself a present with my money. I do pick out my gifts from my mom, mil, and often my dh. …and they often have me pick it out exactly, my mom to the point where she says “here’s my card, go order it”. My MIL typically gives me a magazine and I go through it like a kid w/the Sears toy specials.

  22. Small indulgences for myself this year. A bottle of Select Riesling from Leelanau Cellars – to celebrate with my loving family that keeps growing, Andrea Bocelli CD “my Christmas” to share with my hubby on Christmas morning and three hours a day for undisturbed writing time in 2011 – because I’m optomistic as well as determined.

  23. After 40 years of marriage, hubby and I have come to an understanding about gifts. The most important thing for me is the deal. The most important thing for him is utility. This year, for example, I ran into a deal on a $50 sweater I really liked. It was half off and I had a $10 friend-of-store certificate. No tax on clothing in MN, by the way, so the first joy the sweater brought me came from the $50 sweater for $12.50 deal. I gave the sweater to hubby, and he and the grands wrapped it up and put it under the tree for Nana. Joy to the Eagle World!

  24. Example #2 in multiplying the joy of the gift in the Eagles’ nest: hubby covets new power tool. What do I know about tools, hmm? He finds the nailer with compressor on sale, purchases it using his Veteran’s discount at Home Depot–you all know about that, right?– and we have another big box under the tree. And there is some surprise to be enjoyed when gift is revealed. Dear daughter–a chip off the old handyman block, i.e. father’s daughter and my daddy’s granddaughter–is thrilled with having great new stuff in Dad’s workshop. Plus she gets the compressor because Dad already has one.

    Works slick.

  25. LSUReader says:

    I didn’t self-gift this year. But when Hubby asked what I wanted for Christmas, he and I picked out my Kindle and blue leather cover together!

  26. chey says:

    I didn’t self gift this year.

  27. Pam Keener says:

    I purchased a pair of Ugg Sweater boots from Victoria’s Secret. I mean I had a $10.00
    reward cert that just had to be used *wink* & I had been eyeing these boots all season long. If I would have asked for these for Christmas I would have gotten the “like you really need more boots”
    Love & Hugs,
    Pam

  28. Heather says:

    Happy new year, Leanne! I couldn’t resist the lure of a new set of Cuddl Duds myself this year (esp as they were on sale), and I’d say the money spent on new winter boots was definitely well worth it. I may have also picked up one or two (okay, four) books at Half Price Books today, but hey–everything is an extra 20% off this week. It’s the best time to pick up on back titles you may have missed. Good thing I was only in there 15 minutes, LOL!

  29. I also self-purchased =and= I gave the guys in my life a list of gift ideas and they filled all of them! Maybe my fave self-purchase was a pair of Lucky brand slip-on shoes. They look like cowboy boots when my pants come down long enough. Black, with pink and red flowers embroidered on them. Very chic. Thank you, me.

  30. catslady says:

    I rarely buy myself anything. Maybe because my mom worked in a dept. store and would bring clothes home for me and there was never any question as to having to keep what was bought. I now hate shopping but mostly just for myself. I did get myself some sock that were on sale if that counts lol.

  31. MaryC says:

    Hi, Leanne.

    Too busy this year taking care of relative with fractured shoulder – thankfully I managed to do most of my shopping online.

    I got myself some audiobooks which I enjoy listening to while doing chores around the house.

  32. Emmanuelle says:

    Wow huge prize, it IS raining books !! Thx.
    I didn’t buy any books this december… weird (and only read 1… even weirder). On the other hand I spent a LOT of money on beauty products which I almost never do but it was hard time me to take a bit more care of my appearance. December was a pretty vain month I guess. Can’t wait to be january and buy books 😉

  33. Quilt Lady says:

    Well I can say I didn’t buy anything for myself this year. I didn’t have a lot of time to shop. So I more or less worried about everyone else.

  34. Summer says:

    I’d been reading the YA series The Luxe, and saw the final book discounted, so I gifted myself for Christmas, though I’m still waiting for it to arrive in the mail, as it said in stock but really wasn’t.

  35. Marilyn says:

    I must confess Leanne, I did…….some warm PJ’s and slippers. However, again this year I spoiled my family. Happy New Year

    While I’m here, if any of you have a book coming out towards the end of January and are interested to doing a Q&A and giveaway, email me seattlesnoops at aol dot com. I’ve signed up for a blog challenge Jan 21-23 for my review site as well as Romance Author Buzz. Thanks!

  36. Jane says:

    It’s hard not to buy anything for yourself. I shop for others, but always find something that’s the right size and style for myself.

  37. Leanne Banks says:

    Linda, I call using gift cards extremely frugal. I’m trying to figure out if I can use a Steinmart card to get a piece of luggage I need.:)

    Kris! Loved your post. No unauthorized gifts.lololol WE call those surprises!:)

    Marilyn P, good for you for treating yourself after your rough year! But it sounds like you did it wisely. I have a friend who often shops at Kohls and she always talks about how much she saved… but not how much she spent.:)

  38. Leanne Banks says:

    Kylie, I did a lot of my shopping online this year as well. That’s probably why I didn’t self-gift as much as usual. I hope you get some good boots. I’m still pining for the perfect pair.

    Linda, excellent choices. Comfy shoes, great books and nice music.

    Minna, lucky you! I say that as I’m eating one of the chocolates I received!:)

    Keri, you sound like a sweetie pie to buy for — I can just imagine you studying that catalog!:)

  39. Leanne Banks says:

    Loralee, your small indulgences sound l-0-v-e-l-y.:)

    Kathy, BARGAINS! I was raised to LOVE a bargain. Yours are great and how fun that your daughter is so handy with tools!!!!

    LSUreader, love the kindle but I really love the blue leather holder.:)

    Chey! There’s still time!:)

  40. Leanne Banks says:

    Pam, I bet those sweater boots are gorgeous. Wise use of your $10. off!:)

    Christie, your shoes sound FAB! I’m a little jealous, but I’ll try to get over it.:)

    catslady, SOCKS count! I bought some on sale too.:)

    MaryC, your injured friend is lucky.<3 Enjoy those audio books!

  41. Leanne Banks says:

    Emmanuelle, you reminded me! I also gifted myself with eyeshadow from Sephora.:) I like to think of beauty products as necessary maintenance.;)

    Quilt Lady, make sure you give yourself the gift of time. It sounds like you deserve it.

    Summer, good for you. I hope it arrives soon!

  42. Dina says:

    I love cuddle duds and bought some for myself.

  43. Leanne Banks says:

    Marilyn, thanks for the happy new year. And your pjs and slippers sound fab. Aren’t they just like a warm hug?:) Thanks also for the blog Q&A info. I wish I had a book coming out soon!

    Jane, I call that a good use of time, energy and money.:)

  44. Stacey says:

    I did! I bought books as gifts for others and myself (one for you, two for me). 🙂

  45. elaing8 says:

    I’ve bought my own gifts.This year I bought some clothes. Jeans,Sweaters and a tshirt.Other years I’ve bought books..a book shelf.

  46. Leanne Banks says:

    Heather and Dina, we know the secret about cuddl duds, don’t we? I’m wearing one right now!:)

    Stacey, I LOVE your math!lol

    Elaing8, I bet you got some good buys. Enjoy your “gifts”.:)

  47. infinitieh says:

    Yep, the best way to insure I get what I want is to buy it for myself. Of course, I get gift cards so it’s easier to do so.

  48. Stephanie says:

    I happened to hit the clearance counter and purchased an awesome Coach handbag…Merry Christmas to me!

  49. kanch says:

    I self-gifted myself at Michael’s Art Stores this year (but I don’t just do it at Christmas – I also do it on other major holiday occasions, throughout the year)

  50. bovanity says:

    Although I did spend quite a bit on gifts for other people, I try not to forget myself and took advantage of some super tech deals posted by CNET and I also did some post-holiday shopping from Amazon and Barnes and Noble.

  51. Kirsten says:

    I bought myself some nice choclates. I really needed them after pulling of a “fabulous” Christmas party all by myself.

  52. Maribeth Curry says:

    Self- gift! I guess! Bought several romances just for me- and then I got a gift card from Indigo – a Canadian book franchise so will get more… but one can never have too many books- NEVER!!!!
    So of course I want to win!
    Happy New Year,
    You keep writing, I’ll keep reading!
    hugs
    m

  53. Maureen says:

    I ask for gift cards, then I can go out shopping for myself guilt free.

  54. Stephenia says:

    I always self purchase during the holidays – it is a great time to round out my wardrobe. This year my big find was brown riding boots – love them, love them, love them! And if you don’t buy shows before the holiday here, they won’t reappear until next year.

  55. Laney4 says:

    I buy stuff for myself throughout the year when they’re on sale, set them aside, and then my husband wraps them for me as part of his gift to me at Christmastime. I’ve usually forgotten what they are, he doesn’t have to return stuff (that is totally not “me”), and I get what I want. We consider it a win-win situation.

  56. Nas says:

    I also bought for myself and for everyone else, as my husband never shops! So I bought a smartphone for myself. My husband paid, of course!

  57. mariska says:

    No self gift this year but I have a left over GC to use for my self;)

  58. Desere says:

    Happy New Year Everyone!

    I did not purchase anything for myself this year , only for others. All though I would of love to buy myself a stack of books I am just dying to read , seeing the joy on others faces at my gifts was more than special enough for me! Those memories will stay with me forever.

    Thank you very much for the stunning contest , a shower of books indeed would be amazing !

    All of the very best for 2011
    And good luck to one and all !
    Desere

Leave a Reply

