Oh my aching back – and MORE HUGE GIVEAWAYS!

Okay – We are mattress shopping.  Ever since I slept on the most amazing bed at the Hyatt on Fisherman’s Wharf in San Francisco early December and realized that I did NOT have to wake up with a sore back every morning, I’ve been Jonesin’ for a new mattress and box spring.  Even the cat has been complaining … he’s so spoiled.

But what to do??  I went so far as to contact the Hyatt and ask them what kind of bed it was and found out that their entire line of beds and bedding are available for sale – the mattress set I was interested sells for around $3500!  Say what???  As my 2 1/2 half year old granddaughter would say, “Are you sure about that, Gramma?”  Well, yes, I’m sure.

But I’m also sure I don’t want to pay $3500 – it’s the Scotch, Irish, Midwestern penny pincher in me that simply can’t believe I can’t get something just as good for a lot less.

So dish, ya’all.  What are you sleeping on?  Do you like it, LOVE it, hate it … don’t advise getting it?  I want to know. Really.  And I appreciate all the help I can get.

And just to remind you, we are still in the ‘throws’ of our Mega ‘move to WordPress’ giveaway this week but time is running out.  On Monday, we’ll announce the winners of our Shower of Books Extravaganza!

Anyone who comments between yesterday, Dec 28 through January 3rd, will be eligible to receive TONS of books from the RIDERS.  Here are just a FEW of the titles we’ll be giving away:

Seducing the Vampire and Rogue Angel: The Bone Conjurer (MICHELE HAUF)

3 books from the Belle Books Catelog (DEB DIXON Dixon)

In Care Of Sam Beaudry; One Cowboy, One Christmas; Cool Hand Hank (KATHLEEN EAGLE)

So don’t be shy.  Help a girl out with some mattress advice AND get your name in the drawing for all those books!

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

48 Responses to Oh my aching back – and MORE HUGE GIVEAWAYS!

  1. Margay says:

    I’m in need of a new mattress myself – the one I have is wreaking havoc on my poor Ms-infected body. I always thought the Temperpedic one looked interesting.
    Margay

  2. leannebanks says:

    My mattress is okay, but not great. It’s got a pillow top. I say spend the moolah for your dream mattress. You and your back deserve it!<3

  3. Kirsten says:

    I have one of those aching backs & got a relatively cheap matrass from Ikea. (Sadly I’m on a tight budget.) I sleep on it, but it’s a nightmare!! I’m waking up at 5 in the morning and don’t know how fast I gotta try to climb out of it. Not a simple task and it’s giving me a bad temper. If I could scrape the money together I would get the expansive one. So I say: save every penny and get something comfortable. When lucky, we spend a good 7 hours a day on it. So it’ll be worth it in the end.

  4. susan wilson says:

    We just bought a beautiful new bed with a memory foam mattress and it is hideous!! It makes me feel about 110, I can’t even turn around on the thing!
    I had a similar experience to you when I slept in the bed at the Glasgow Hilton, sheer and utter joy! Have booked back in for February and can’t wait x

  5. LSUReader says:

    I need a new mattress, too! (It’s amazing how many of us are sleeping on lousing bedding!) I’m interested in what the lucky few have to offer as advice.

  6. We had the same hotel experience, Cindy. Fell in love with the mattress. Clyde especially. He ended up getting a twin size Tempur-pedic topper for his side. For my part, I’ve heard that the memory foam “sleeps hot,” and that’s not fun for me. We have an adjustable bed–you can raise and lower head and/or foot, both sides independently. I really like it. Clyde liked it at first, but doesn’t use that feature much.

    I think the in-home trial you can get with Tempur-pedic is the way to go. Try it out for as long as they’ll allow. That’s a big investment. But the Swedes make good stuff.

  7. cindygerard says:

    does anyone have a sleep number bed? I’ve heard a lot of things about them but mostly from the advertising side. would love to hear from someone who has one.

    • Lynn says:

      Cindy ~ my parents have a sleep number bed and here’s what my mom says….she likes it and feels that it is better than other mattresses of the past. My dad, however, has chronic back problems so it really doesn’t matter what he sleeps on, he’s still going to hurt in the morning. But all in all they like it.

  8. catslady says:

    I am also a Tempur-pedic fan. When we were first married we had a regular mattress. Then we switched to a waterbed. Oh, we loved that waterbed. It eventually sprung a leak so we got a new waterbed. Blah – they had changed it. Instead of one big bladder it was a lot of smaller bladders and the motion that we loved was gone. I am positive we wouldn’t like the waterbed now that we are older lol. Besides the Tempur-pedic being the most comfortable bed ever, you really can’t feel it when your partner turns over or gets out of bed. Now if they could only come up with a bed that wouldn’t let me hear his snoring lol. I do think they are on the high end but they have a 20 yr. waranty and I really couldn’t sleep on anything else now

  9. cindygerard says:

    good to know, catslady. thanks!

    Still hoping to hear from someone who has a sleep number bed :o)

  10. Liz Selvig says:

    I have a minor but aggravating lower back issue and sleeping is about my least favorite thing to do. I’ve tried the Sleep Number bed just at demos and was pretty impressed with the five minutes I was on it. My parents inherited one and really didn’t like it much. But I have an aunt and uncle who swear by them and have purchased several for themselves and all their guest rooms. I actually have really good luck on a camping air mattress in our tent–so if that says anything…

    I desperately want a new bed, but my husband is comfy on literally anything. He’s loath to spend money on a new mattress since ours is an expensive pillow-top and not even ten years old. Sigh … I’ll be watching the comments here with interest too!

  11. runner10 says:

    Get a pillowtop matress. You will need to buy deep-pocket sheets.

  12. Minna says:

    I would need a new mattress myself! I have heard good things about Tempur.

  13. Michele says:

    Cindy, have I got the bed for you. The hubby and I have had the Sleep Number for almost 18 years, and we decided to get a new one for Xmas. Just got it about a month ago. We upgraded to the Sleep Number with Memory foam topper. Oh heaven! We’ve loved having the adjustible bed over the years, and now with the lush memory foam on top, well, it’s been a dreamy sleep. And the hubby’s snoring has remarkably decreased by about 50%. Bonus for me! I’d highly recommend the Sleep Number bed. They’re actually having a sale right now and some beds you can get up to $600 off. Ours was $2500 (but we had a $1000 off coupon), and all I can say is it sounds like a lot of money to spend, but it’ll last you almost twenty years. So isn’t that worth it? I mean, you spend much more on a car and that often doesn’t last more than a decade.

  14. cindygerard says:

    oooo, Michele. I’m so glad to hear about this! I did see where they were having a sale. I’ll have to watch for a coupon too!
    And — you’re liking the memory foam, huh? Someone posted earlier that they hated it … maybe the sleep number makes the difference.

    Do you remember – do they have like a trial period so if you don’t like it you can take it back?? this is such a HUGE purchase :o)

  15. CrystalGB says:

    I need a new mattress too. I would love to have a tempurpedic mattress.

  16. Michele says:

    I remember with our first bed there was a 90 day trial period before we had to pay. After two days, we loved the bed so much, went sent in the full payment.
    Not sure if they still have that trial period. Do you have a store in your area? You could check with them.

  17. elaing8 says:

    you know, I just got a new mattress/box spring last winter and I have no clue who makes it.lol.I think it was a mix and match sale. It is a pillow top and is it ever comfortable 🙂
    Good luck buying your set,it took me a while to decide what to get.

  18. Jane says:

    I have a Simmons mattress. It’s pretty good. I really want a Sleep Number bed.

  19. Nicole says:

    I’ve got a tempurpedic mattress that I would die without. I love it. I didn’t think I’d like it, but now I’m uncomfortable on any other bed.

  20. Johanna Jochum says:

    I can’t remember what mine is I woul have to get up! I’m sure it is a Beauty Rest or something like that! I bought it years ago. I have hated from the first week. Its hard and uncomfortable. Hope to get something nicer one of these days! thanks for sharing with us!

  21. Amy says:

    We bought a new King size matress about 3 years ago. After a few recommendations, we went with a Serta that has a pillow top (never had a pillow top before). I have to say, not sure if I’d do it again. They told us we wouldn’t have to move it around and there’s a place on the one side my husband sleeps..then there’s my spot! You lay in the middle…and roll to the sides! It’s very soft but I still wake up with a sore back/stiff neck. I’ve read that may have more to do with pillow than matress?!! Kinda of my next step and see if that helps..getting a different pillow!?!? Argh…shopping for matresses is sooo ishy…and expensive:( Good luck!

  22. Terry Odell says:

    Before we moved, we had a ‘tubular’ water bed. There were 10 individual tubes inside, and that meant Hubster could have his soft bed and I could have my firm one. Also, very little transfer of motion. But we weren’t going to bring it with us, so we ended up with a Beautyrest. Mattress is a compromise; firm enough for me, although I could have gone one level higher. Selling point: independent pocketed coils, so when he moves around, I don’t get bounced. We tried the Tempurpedic, and didn’t like the squishyness. Kids have a Sleepnumber, and we tried that as well. Neither seemed to be anything special enough to warrant the bucks. We heard that Sleepnumbers (which are really giant air mattresses) often lost compression, or whatever.

    Terry
    Terry’s Place
    Romance with a Twist–of Mystery

  23. Jen A says:

    being a penny pincher myself, it pains me to say this, but I would go for the gusto 🙂 You’ve slept on it, loved it, and face it a good night’s sleep is worth it’s weight in gold (so speaks someone who hasn’t had one in a while). I only know of one person who got a sleep number bed and hated it. Would be worth the try if there is trial period. Good luck! (Also, too funny that the hotel sells their beds must be you are not the only one to call)

  24. Stephenia says:

    I need a mattress too! We were looking at some magic memory foamy type ones about a year ago and they were just too far out of the price range. I found a pillow top that I liked, hubby didn’t like the top. He found a hard (not firm) one he liked and I wasn’t keen on it. So we’re still using the same old, same old and still can’t decide. The sleep numbers sound comfortable too, nice to know they last so long!

  25. penny says:

    I have a pillow top that I love, My parents have an older sleep number bed. They love it. I tried it a couple of times while house sitting for them and I hate it! They must not have my number( a common problem, unfortunately.) See if they will let you try it foe a week or so before committing to one.

  26. Alison says:

    I agree you should spend the $$ on the mattress you love! Overall we spend hours on our mattresses…they are worth the investment. Someone once told me there are 2 things you should never skimp on…tires — for safety and your mattress a good nights sleep can make your entire day 🙂

  27. Araceli says:

    Hello Cindy,

    I am sorry to hear about the not-so-comfortable bed that you must sleep on. Well as for me, when I first got married we bought one from like Ikea, BAD IDEA!! Then once I got divorced (for other reasons, not the bed, lol), I bought a regular mattress and ummm it was okay at first then I HATED IT. Now I upgraded to a nice memory foam pillow top one, and I am in heaven and it is deliciously comfortable and for once I slept through the whole night without moving, shifting all over the bed. AMAZING! I say you go to like a mattress store and try laying in them for a few minutes, you can definetely tell if you will like the bed within a few minutes of laying on it.

    Best of luck!

  28. cindygerard says:

    wow. it seems we all have difficulty finding the RIGHT mattress set. You guys have all been great! If anyone else out there has more suggestions, let me hear them.

    I think the mattress set from the Hyatt is a Serta. We slept on it 3 nights and I slept like a baby each night and woke up each morning without a single ache or pain. Unbelievable as I’m usually stiff and sore each morning. And it’s not because we don’t have a good mattress. We do. it’s just apparently NOT good for me.

  29. Catslady, we have the same waterbed history as yours. Oh, man, did that first waterbed rock! The stories I could tell. We got it when I found out I was pregnant the second time, and it really helped in that last stage when you’re trying to get comfortable with a watermelon strapped to you. The waterbed with the baffles wasn’t nearly as much fun.

    We had the sleep number, got rid of it about 10 years ago, so it was an older model. I don’t think I ever found my number, but it was okay. Clyde has back problems, and he liked it at first, but after a while not so much. It didn’t have a pillow top.

    One thing I like about the current bed is the vibrator. There are two, and I like to use the one at the foot of the bed.

  30. Quilt Lady says:

    We went from a waterbed mattress to a memory foam mattress and I haven’t had as much problems with my back since. The only problem I have with the memory foam mattress is that its hot. Its nice in the winter but in the summer I wake up sweating, other then that I love the way it sleeps. The reason we got the memory foam mattress is that we have a California King size bed and its very hard to find a mattress to fit it, unless you order it. We pulled the water mattress out and just dropped in the memory foam mattress. We really need a new bed but with money the way it is we did what we had to do.

  31. Lisa Mc says:

    I feel your pain. We needed a new mattress about 3 years ago and after LOTS of looking, got a memory foam mattress. I hate it! Its hot (not good for a menopausal woman!) and sunken spots on each side where we lay, resulting in a big hump in the middle. Hope you have better luck—Happy Shopping.

  32. Kylie Brant says:

    The Wyndhams (?) have the Heavenly beds which are also for sale and they are, indeed, heavenly. But several years ago when we were in the market for a bed, we checked into it and it was going to be nearly $4000 with all the comfy down filled stuff that goes with it. For that kind of money we bought a refurbished (meaning whole new top on a brand new but returned bed) Select Comfort sleep number bed. Do I like it? No, I LOOOOOOOOVE it! I have the best bed in the entire world! My husband likes it firmer, I like a soft mattress…his number is 55 and mine is 35. He slapped a 4 inch pillowtop mattress pad on it and it’s to die for. Recently found the best blanket ever (Chris Madden Lux Plush) to put on it. I never want to get out of it. Seriously it’s that wonderful!

  33. Linda Morgan says:

    Maybe there’s a hotel near you with sleep number beds so you can try one out. If not, I think you would be happy with the one from the Hyatt. If you figure how many hours you’ll be spending in it, how much are you worth? Be good to you!

    I have a pillowtop queen, and I really like it. I called a store, told them about my back problems and they delivered this one. I had 30 days to return it if I wasn’t happy with it. Sleep Number may be the same (or most any bedding place).

    When you have back problems, you need to do whatever you can. If your back is
    hurting, the sex scenes in your books will suffer, and we wouldn’t want that, would we?

  34. Susan T. says:

    Like most here I too need a new mattress. I too had one from IKEA and those are killer on the back. My mom has one that’s seem pretty good…think it’s a Sealy.

  35. chey says:

    I can’t remember what kind of mattress I have. Do any of them last more than a couple years anymore?

  36. kris says:

    the cat looks pretty happy in the pic. we have a sealy pillow top that we’ve had for years now and it’s still comfy (although my husband has said maybe we should start thinking about a new one).

  37. Maureen says:

    We have a Serta and have had it for many years and it is great. It is very comfortable and I hope the next mattress we get is as good.

  38. Maureen says:

    We have a Serta and have had it for many years and we really like it. It’s very comfortable and I hope the next mattress we get is as good.

  39. Nancy Bristow says:

    Cindy…I sleep on a Simmons with a quilted mattress cover and it’s very comfortable I bought it at Sears at least 15 years ago. As long as it’s comfortable I’ll keep it…if it becomes uncomfortable, I’ll replace it. Average the life span of the mattress against the bucks and it makes sense but more important is one’s health (sleep).

    I’d do as much of my research on line as I could. I did a quick trip here: http://www.serta.com/#/hotel-bed-mattress-guest-purchase-program-to-buy-Serta-mattresses/buy-a-serta-hotel-mattress
    and found out that the Serta mattresses used in the hotels are not available retail. I also didn’t find Hyatt listed as one of Serta’s partners so you may want to double check your info??

    You might also want to try a consumer site re mattress ratings and comments. They might be biased but probably less so than brand bias. Could be comfort is as subjective as taste in books. (I know, not helpful;)

    Bottom line…if the mattress you slept on for three days was heaven for you, then go for it and enjoy every solid night you spend on it:)

  40. ellie says:

    A very important purchase indeed. Wishing you luck.

  41. Kay Martinez says:

    Cindy, my sypathies on the bed search. We moved in July & bought a new king size bed. It is a pillow top & the pillow top is memory foam. I like it, but it does suffer from the humpy middle & sinking sides others have mentioned. Also it is so tall! I’m not short (5′ 9″) & I feel as if I need a step ladder to get in bed! I do notice it being hot, but both my dogs sleep piled right up against me, so that may be part of that problem, not the mattress. I also had to go out & buy new sheets as the new one requires the deep pocket sheets & none of my old king size sheets fit.

    I’ve heard lots of good things about both the sleep number beds & the tempurpedic beds.

    I’ll be interested to hear what you decide on. Good luck!

  42. Linda Henderson says:

    My bed and mattress are really old so I’m no help. My oldest daughter has a pillow-top and she hates it. I dread buying a new mattress, it’s so hard to find one that suits me. I don’t like too hard or too soft. I’m going to put it off as long as I can.

  43. Dina says:

    I won’t say what my bedding is, but I need a new mattress for sure!

  44. cindygerard says:

    you guys totally rock! thanks for all the excellent information and advice. I’ll be studying the websites and checking things out! appreciate it!

  45. Page Pennington says:

    We got a pillowtop from Sam’s and it sleeps great. My BFF has a memory foam and she loves it. Get the most bed you can afford that you love sleeping on. Cause we all can’t change beds every ten years. Invest in great sheets and a good pillow and sleeping will be devine.

  46. Tonya Williams says:

    SIGH….I too am in need of a new mattress, but am not able to afford it just yet. Good luck finding the “Perfect for you” mattress.

  47. Pamk says:

    I loathe mine. But don’t want to spend money on a new one right now. I am looking for a good inexpensive one too. So i’ll be reading the comments with interest.

Leave a Reply

