Vampires in Frockcoats

That sounds like my ultimate movie—Vampires In Frockcoats.  Wish it really existed.  I love a handsome, 18th century rogue who strides into a marble-floored ballroom, the wide skirt of his watered silk frockcoat swinging grandly as his bootheels click a path toward the hapless heroine bedecked in damask, lace, and enough powder in her wig to whiten a hundred babies’ bottoms.  Add in fangs, and I’m in heaven.  🙂

I feel quite lucky that I got to write my latest paranormal romance, SEDUCING THE VAMPIRE (in stores now!).  I expected resistance from my editor when I presented the idea to her.  She said it sounded great.  I repeated myself to her, “You know, it is set mostly in the eighteenth century, with about a quarter of it in modern times?”  I had expected marketing would pull their hair out over the unmarketability of such a story, since it wasn’t really a historical, and it certainly wasn’t a contemporary.  But I lucked out, my editor repeated that she thought it sounded great, and I got to not only write the story I wanted to write, but also gained some awesome new characters to my paranormal world of Beautiful Creatures.

Many readers write to ask what order they should read my paranormal romances.  Some are actually placed into a series, while others are not.  This is what you need to know about my world.  All my paranormal romances for Nocturne and HQN (save one or two) belong in the Beautiful Creatures world.  Some may also be in a series, but it’s because sometimes the publisher likes to sort stories into sets that feature like themes (such as the Bewitch the Dark series was about vampires and witches) yet those series are also included in my world.  You don’t have to read any of my books in any particular order to understand what is going on, either.

And to make things really easy, I’ve designed a supplemental site which acts as a place for all my characters to gather.  It’s called Club Scarlet, and you can look up any character from my books, and learn a few facts about them (some secret facts as well) and learn what stories they appear in, if they have children (and if those children have their own story), and well, it nicely ties together my world.  There’s a term list that covers all the terms in the entire world as well.  So do stop by and check it out!  And don’t forget to wander into the Ichor Den for surprises.  🙂

Michele

For today’s prize drawing, Kathleen Eagle is donating an uber-fab Riding With The Top Down tee-shirt!  You know you need this.  It’s one of a kind.  So since I revealed my favorite kind of sexy guy (frockcoat and fangs) tell me what yours is?  Bluejeans and cowboy boots?  Black leather and an earring?  Plaid and pack boots?  Tell!  (Sorry, for some reason the pic loaded sideways and for the life of me I couldn’t figure how to turn it, so do please tilt your head to the left.)  😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Vampires in Frockcoats

  1. Oh Michele, You do vamps so well…so sexy.

    For me, it’s cowboys in jeans, worn snug in all the right places, covered with a pair of chaps. Shirt is irrelevant, even better if missing! 🙂

  2. MJ says:

    I love men in uniform–military, firefighters, cops. Now I don’t think I could live with someone who was that regimented, but to read–YUM!

  3. Kylie Brant says:

    I love the jaded hardened cops who have seen it all, done it all…and still manage to believe in love 🙂 Actually, I think a vampire story set in historical times is a fabulous idea! Good luck with your new release!

  4. Araceli says:

    I love my vampires that carry themselves with a wisdom that they have gained from experience and age, but have a bit of a modern twist. I would say jeans and boots, not cowboy boots just a bit of a rocker/bad boy look, a bit rugged. 🙂

  5. cindygerard says:

    If he has the right smile, the right wicked sense of humor and a cute butt – he’s my kind of guy :o)

    congrats on the new release, Michele! It sounds vampaliseous!

  6. Work-worn bluejeans that fit, boots and hat, Western style. No drugstore cowboys, please.

  7. catslady says:

    If I had to pick just one I’d have to go with a man in uniform. I can still remember my hubby in his Navy blues some 40 years ago. I really think they stand proud when in uniform and act accordingly and in turn are given the same respect from others! They deserve it 🙂

  8. Michele says:

    Sounds like the hard-working men and military men are tops! Hmm, I wonder if there’s ever been a military vampire? I know there’s an author out there who writes vampire cowboys, so that’s covered.

  9. Jane says:

    I can appreciate how a man looks in a uniform, but I also like guys that can wear a suit.

  10. chey says:

    I like a guy in a black leather jacket and jeans.

  11. Keri Ford says:

    congrats on the release!

    I’ll take worn jeans, work boots and a dirty ball cap any day of the week. Oh wait. I do get that every day of the week, cause a country boy is what I married. 🙂

  12. Stephenia says:

    Give me the tall, naturally muscular guy (muscles from work and not working-out), with piercing emerald or soulful dark eyes with rakishly long dark brown, brushing his collar hair wearing form fitting jeans, work boots and a leather bomber jacket. Earring and tattoo optional. He is the hot undercover cop, the super-spy/elite ops or vampire/werewolf guy who knows how to handle himself in tight situations. If anyone sees him, tell me to call me at his leisure!

  13. Stephenia says:

    oops, i meant to say tell him to call me at his leisure…….

  14. leannebanks says:

    I think your book sounds extremely sexy! Both historical and contemporary. Oooh. Aaahhh. And so forbidden!:) My favorite sexy guy is very intelligent with a sense of humor and a generous heart.<3

  15. Helen Brenna says:

    Is it really, really bad of me to say my favorite sexy guy is nekked? lol Course ole faded jeans work, too!

    It’s so cool, Michele, that you’re putting together this world. Keeping track of it on your website must be a lot of work, but much appreciated by readers!

  16. Michele says:

    But Helen, nekked front or nekked back? That’s what I want to know. 😉 (For the record, I prefer a nice strong nekked back. Num!)

  17. Linda Henderson says:

    My kind of guy, tight jeans and cowboy boots. YUM!!

  18. Andrea Cummings says:

    For me it’s got to be vampire, wearing long black leather coat, black jeans and black leather DMs. Yummy!!!

  19. CrystalGB says:

    I love a guy in chaps, boots and a cowboy hat.

Leave a Reply

