Looking Back on 2010

The end of another year is nigh!! The grand finale of the first decade of the new millennium.

Looking back, the past twelve months have been fraught with problems for a host of people: a bad economy, volcanoes, devastating earthquakes, high unemployment, and a worsening environment.

So cheer up! It’s obviously time to look back and consider the many wonderful things in our lives.

For me, the best part was summer. It was the first time I showed all three of my beloved horses: my gelding in pleasure, his sister in speed events (barrel racing etc.) and my crazy little adopted mare in long distance races. They were all great (okay sometimes they were crazy as mentioned above) and gave me hours upon hours of exercise in the balmy outdoors with friends (many of whom were equine) and family.

So what about you? What was the best part of 2010? Was it a special event? A promotion? The birth of a child? A long awaited vacation?

Looking ahead, what are your plans for making 2011 even better?

Chime in and win a pair of sapphire earrings.

And Happy New Year everyone! May this be your best ever.

Lois

About Helen Brenna

Helen Brenna is the RITA award winning author of romances for Harlequin's Superromance line. Three more books in her popular Mirabelle Island series will be release in July, August and September of 2011. For more information, check out her website at www.helenbrenna.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Looking Back on 2010

  1. Maureen says:

    Almost Happy New Year! In 2010 the best events were my son’s graduation from high school and my daughter receiving her associates degree. Now they are both pursuing their bachelor’s degrees and it is hard to imagine both my children are both in college.

  2. lois greiman says:

    Congratulations, Maureen. Managing to get kids graduated is a major achievement. May they forever have jobs that stimulate their minds and pay the bills.

  3. runner10 says:

    Best part of 2010 was family vacation to Key West. I highly recommend it.
    2011–My son will start college. So excited for him.

  4. Stephenia says:

    We didnt’ have any big family events this year – but my big moment was being accepted to teach part time nursing school! I thought to do it part time on a whim for extra pocket money and have realized that I LOVE it! Nothing beats the glimmer in my student’s eye when they get “it” and knowing I contributed to that!

  5. Margay says:

    I want to write more, be more positive, and just enjoy my family more.
    Margay

  6. Wow the best of 2010 huh? Lets see… I started writing a book. I received a new role in my office which is more to my liking and I find exciting. I went to New York for BEA and met many other book bloggers, authors, publishers, and lots of books!
    And of course, this Christmas was the first time in 13 months that both boys were home and it was awesome.

    I like that you look at the positive. 🙂

  7. kris says:

    summer is definitely the best; I’m a beach girl. my 2011 is already filled with dance competitions for my daughter. happy almost new year!!!

  8. Kylie Brant says:

    Highlights of 2010: third Rita nom, a trip to Jamaica, and buying our first farm (gulp!) The best of the year was, of course, those times spent with all the family together. I am looking forward to 2011, as well: a trip to the Dominican, my daughter’s graduation from the Master’s program (which means eventually dropping her from the parental dole ), a family trip to a beach house in North Carolina and the birth of two granddaughters in the next five months. Things move fast and furious here…also need to get a few books written, too!

  9. I didn’t know you were a barrel racer, Lois. Wow. Shouldn’t be surprised, though. You can do anything on horseback, right?

    My sister and niece’s visit in September was very special. It had been 10 years since my sister had been here (from CT) and it was lovely. I’m usually the one to travel eastward, which is also lovely since our brother lives in DE.

  10. lois greiman says:

    Runner, I want to do Key West. I wanna. I wanna. Good for you.

  11. lois greiman says:

    Stephenia, there’s nothing better than finding a career you love. Kudos.

  12. lois greiman says:

    Kylie, I didn’t know you bought a farm. Tell us about it.

  13. catslady says:

    My oldest daughter and son-in-law moved into their first house and it’s less than 10 minutes away!!! Next thing on the agenda (but a couple more years probably) are hopes of my first grandchild and grandma says she’ll babysit lol.

  14. lois greiman says:

    Catslady, family is everything. I’m so envious that your young ones are so close.

  15. anne says:

    A 40th wedding anniversary with a memorable trip.

  16. Hellion says:

    I know my “best thing” is going to be surpassed by many–if not most of the commenters–but it was important to me. I finally FINALLY got rid of that stupid eczema rash on my legs (which was migrating to my arms). This was important because I had this rash for almost a year–so most of my 2010 was spent dealing with this stupid rash, in misery. To say I accomplished nothing but thinking of new and unique ways to scratch my itch would be an understatement.

    The 2nd best thing was going to the Harry Potter world in Florida and if you knew how much I *LOVE* Harry Potter and that I’d rate it 2nd to that damned rash, you’d understand how bad the rash was.

    In 2011, I’m looking forward to doing more productive things without the rash. Namely writing. And finishing the draft of the silly book. And POTC4 and Harry Potter 7 part 2. Lots of great things to look forward to.

  17. 2010 brought the birth of a new great-granddaughter, my namesake Lora, and also our 56th wedding annivesary. I’m still writing. All in all, a good year. Hopefully, 2011 will be even better.

  18. Jane says:

    I got to visit my grandmother. She lives in another country and it’s been a few years since I’ve seen her. My niece started school in September and I’m really happy she having a great time at preschool.

  19. GunDiva says:

    I finally got the nerve to canter bareback on my mare! That was a pretty exciting day since we don’t have an arena to ride in and I just had to find a clear spot in the mountains that I wouldn’t mind falling off in (if I was to fall off, which I didn’t). I’m sure there was a bunch of other stuff I did, too, but that one was HUGE for me.

  20. Linda Henderson says:

    The best part of 2010 was in June when my new grandson was born. He is a great joy and delight, always with a smile on his face, unless he is sick. I hope to have better health in 2011, I’m certainly going to try and take better care of myself.

  21. Best of 2010? Being a finalist in the Golden Heart contest and all the hoopla that goes with it. A great, great ride.
    2011? Sell my first book? Get my dream job? Don’t think I could handle both.

  22. leannebanks says:

    Lois, great pics, great blog! Congrats on your great year!:) High points of 2010 for me were publishing in a different line, doing the all you can jet jet blue adventure, my niece’s wedding, Thanksgiving with my big family. Wow, I have so much to be thankful for.:)

  23. Lisa G. says:

    Congrats on all of your accomplishments! This year has been good. My only niece, Ziva, was born in March. We had an appy colt in April. My son graduated from the police academy in August. My family was all together for Christmas. So life is good.

  24. Quilt Lady says:

    We really didn’t have any big events in 2010, my son did pass his college calculus class woo hoo! I was really worried as to weather he would make it through it. Must really be a rough class.

  25. Pamk says:

    2010 would be oldest son gradutated electrician’s certificate and is not working as an electricians helper yay.
    went to orlando and got to see Harry Potter’s wizarding world. It was wonderful.
    2011 me and hubby’s 25th wedding anniversary and hopefully a cruise to celebrate.
    oldest son getting his electrician’s license when he has all of his worked hours in. and youngest son continuing to get good grades in high school

  26. Mary Louise Larkin says:

    Lois? Is that really you? I was considering putting out an APB! But here you are. 2010 was a wonderful year. I count the many blessings I have in my life. However, I am disappointed that the “power of one” is limited to changing the world but not the publishing world. That saddens me. I wish many good things for you in 2011.

    Mary Louise

  27. Page Pennington says:

    So great to see someone still enjoying horse back riding. I miss it. Best part of my year, finally liking exercise and having it work.

Leave a Reply

