Movie Review – THE FIGHTER + another great Giveaway!!

T’is the season to check out some fantastic new flicks! Not sure why the movie making powers-that-be decided Christmas was a great time for new releases but I love it.  Just wish I had time to catch all the latest films.  Fortunately, I DID get the opportunity to see one of them last week:  THE FIGHTER – staring Mark Wahlberg, Christian Bale and Amy Adams.

The-Fighter-Photo-2

Here’s the trade synopsis:

“The Fighter” tells the true story of Boston fighter “Irish” Micky Ward and how he was helped to the world lightweight championship by half-brother and his trainer Dicky Ecklund.

Ecklund was a journeyman fighter who sent Sugar Ray Leonard to the canvas in 1978. His career was derailed by drug addiction and a prison sentence. Upon his release, he convinced his younger brother, Ward – who had retired from boxing at 26 after losing four straight – to get back in the ring. Under Ecklund’s tutelage, Ward won the WBU Light Welterweight title and engaged in one of the greatest fight trilogies in history with Arturo Gatti. Wahlberg plays Ward, a fighter who was losing bouts and was ready to hang up the gloves when his brother came back into his life. Ecklund turned his life around and helped his underperforming brother find the spark for a remarkable run that led to the world title.  Bale plays Ecklund, whose drugs and robbery spree drew him a 10- to 15-year sentence in state prison. There, he kicked drugs, became a model prisoner and emerged as a changed man who helped his brother reach the glory that eluded him.

Okay. Nice tidy synopsis but it only tells part of the story.  I’ll admit I was a little reluctant to see THE FIGHTER because, well, fighting is not really my thing.  But this story was rich with personal relationships, a fantastic love story, gritty, true life characters and more charm than one of my fat cats.  I loved it.  And I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to indulge in a great drama, a smattering of laugh-out-loud humor, Mark Walhberg RIPPED, and Amy Adams as you’ve never seen her – a rough, tough, edgy ‘burg’ babe who can hold her own in any rough crowd.

Anyone out there seen it?  If so, let me know what you think.  How about other holiday releases?  What have you seen?  What do you want to see?  One lucky commenter will receive a super cool OVO Digital Photo Viewer with alarm clock as a prize!  I was recently given one and I love it so much I want to share!!

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in action film, alpha, awesome things, movie review, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Movie Review – THE FIGHTER + another great Giveaway!!

  1. kris says:

    sounds great, but I still think of Mr Walhberg as Marky-Mark!! I haven’t seen a grown up movie in the theater in quite some time. I took my daughter to see Yogi Bear yesterday. A definite must miss movie.

  2. cindygerard says:

    Kris- trust me on this …. if you see Walhberg in THE FIGHTER, you will never see him as Marky-Mark again. He’s an amazingly handsome man! I’ve loved him since I saw him in THE SHOOTER. And what a turn around he’s done with his entire life. Gotta love a success and triumph story like that.

  3. Minna says:

    No, ihaven’t seen it. Other Holiday releases, well, I usually have to wait until I can see them on tv or they are available on DVD. I’d like to see the Finnish animation, Niko and the Way to the Stars.

    http://www.radionova.fi/joulutervehdys

  4. Helen Brenna says:

    I love Mark Wahlberg – will definitely be seeing this one.
    Thanks for the review, Cindy!

  5. leannebanks says:

    Cindy, I had a Mark Wahlberg lookalike on one of my covers which showed his ripped chest and abdomen. Sold like hotcakes. 🙂 I’ve enjoyed him as an actor too. Loved him in The Italian Job. Great review! Thanks! But I am probably headed to the more literary “Little Fockers” on Monday. Merry Christmas!

  6. LSUReader says:

    I haven’t seen The Fighter, or any holiday movie release, as of yet. The last movie I saw was Unstoppable, with Denzel Washington and Chris Pine, and I really enjoyed it. Merry Christmas, all.

  7. cindygerard says:

    Helen – what I love about Wahlberg is the way he turned his life around – and yeah, well, also because he’s HOT :o)
    Loved the role he played in DATE NIGHT with Steve Carrell. Love that he can make fun of himself :o)

  8. Stephenia says:

    Thanks for the review – I would hesitate over seeing a boxing movie too, but I am a fan of Mark W from his Shooter days too! I think he is one of the underrated hunks in hollywood. We might go to the movies the day after Christmas but have yet to pick which one! Happy holidays to all.

    • cindygerard says:

      Stephenia – lots of good flicks out there to see. I don’t think you’d be disappointed in THE FIGHTER. As I said, I was a little hesitant to see if because of the subject matter but the title is deceiving. Yes, there is the world of boxing and some fight scenes but the movie was SO MUCH more than that. It was one of the best surprises I’d had for a long time …

  9. runner10 says:

    I haven’t seen THE FIGHTER. I would like to see Country Strong. It looks so good.
    Merry Christmas!

    • cindygerard says:

      I’d like to see Country Strong, too! Love Paltrow and Tim McGraw. Have been pleasantly surprised by Paltrow’s ‘country music’ voice.

  10. Lisa B says:

    I want to see the new narnia movie. Voyage of the Dawn treader. It’s not mad it to my small town yet but it’s coming. My middle son just saw Yogi Bear he said it was ok and my youngest and i went to see Tangled. It was really good.

    Lisa B

  11. Jane says:

    I haven’t seen the movie, but I heard that Christian Bale’s performance was amazing. I haven’t been to the movies lately, but the last great one I saw was Easy A.

    • cindygerard says:

      jane – Christian Bale WAS amazing. I’d never seen him in anything before and I was so impressed by his performance!

      Easy A is on pay for view right now. Have been wondering about it. So it’s good?

  12. anne says:

    I will be seeing True Grit. It looks great. Mark Walhberg movie sounds wonderful.

  13. catslady says:

    I’m currently watching an older movie with Walhburg and Will Ferrell – The Other Guys – not so good lol. But I have enjoyed Mark W. in most movies. I want to see The Tourist with Johnny Depp, The Little Fockers and The Fighter.

  14. Quilt Lady says:

    The movie sounds great we just don’t go to the movies much anymore.

  15. Lisa G. says:

    I haven’t seen this movie but I really want to. I love both Walhburg brothers. It’s like saying, “Can You Say Sexy?”

  16. Linda Henderson says:

    I really want to see this movie. I read somewhere that he trained for it for a long time. I usually like his movies.

  17. Dina says:

    I’ve not yet seen it, but plan too. Recently saw Tron:Legacy and the new Narnia.

  18. RobynL says:

    haven’t seen it but it sounds great. We haven’t been to a movie in so long as we live an hour away from a theatre. we watched an old release last night of Red Skelton’s Christmas Dinner; very enjoyable and got a lot of good laughs in which I needed.

    yourstrulee(at)sasktel(dot)net

Leave a Reply

