Debra – I want my hour back.

 

Hello!  It’s me again.   No, not a guest.  We were going to have a guest and then we needed to reschedule.  Which meant you, our dear and faithful readers, would be left with a gaping hole in your day.  Gaping.

At which point I volunteered to whip up a blog.  (That’s just the kind of person I am.  Seriously.)

I wanted to leave you with something funny or unusual.  I thought, “Score!  I can finally just camp out at YouTube and watch videos to find some really cool videos to give you.  Guess what?  I couldn’t find anything.  I’m not joking.  I want my hour back.

Either I have:
a) no sense of humor
b) higher standards for what should be YouTube worthy
c) an attention span that is too long for an MTV world

In an hour of prowling and discarding, I came up with two videos I’d already seen more than once.  You may have, too, but they are re-look worthy.  So, I’m sharing those and asking YOU, “What’s wrong with me?”  Is trolling for videos that hard?  I saw cute.  I saw amusing.  I even saw a few which had chuckle worthy *parts.*  But I didn’t find anything I was compelled to share.

And today’s giveaway goes to the commenter with the best YouTube video link.  That’s right.  No random number drawing.  I’ll be the sole judge of what is funny, touching or compelling.  But to be as fair as I can, I won’t comment on how much I like any video links.  Those who come to the blog late don’t have an edge from reading my comments.  Tweet your friends and tell them you need YouTube recommendations.  (The prize?  A $15 Amazon gift card.)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Debra – I want my hour back.

  1. mjfredrick says:

    Okay, it’s not You Tube, but my husband showed me this last night. I can’t believe that cat stayed still!

    http://www.doobybrain.com/2010/09/21/wrapping-a-kitty-cat/

  2. Laney4 says:

    This is one that came out over a year ago, but it still brings a smile (and tears) to my face. I believe it was referred to as the “wedding dance” video:

    Here’s one the guys like: you don’t have to watch the entire video – you’ll get the gist after the first minute. I enjoyed hearing how the “Radio Flyer” wagon was made.

  3. Minna says:

    Ok, here are some of my favorites:
    Put a Little Love in Your Heart

    Due South – The Mountie Song Revisited

    Dirty Dancing – The Time of my Life

    These always make me laugh:
    Lady Gaga – Poker Face – Parody (“Outer Space”)

    Parody of Taylor Swift – You Belong With Me (“Just A Zombie”)

    Rowan Atkinson in Hell – WITH SUBTITLES

  4. Emmanuelle says:

    This in german but humor knows no language (I mean I don’t get a single word and find it funny) :
    10 things NOT TO DO in the elevator :

    Great idea !!

  5. What a terrific idea, Deb. (And yes, dear friends, that’s the kind of person Deb is. Seriously.) I LOVE William Tell Mom. This grandma’s still singing that tune.

  6. debradixon says:

    mfredrick- We’ll allow any link in the spirit of YouTube (i.e. video for sharing)

  7. LSUReader says:

    What fun! But I don’t think any one us is going to get an hour back, watching videos today. (Love William Tell Mom.) I like this one. Hope y’all will, too:

  8. Sabrina says:

    This one made me smile and it’s a wonderful message.



  9. Sabrina says:

    Oh – this was my favorite video and I love that halfway through you can see the mom in the distance with a look like “what is my crazy child doing?”



  10. kylie brant says:

    Okay it’s not a video but you guys with kids or grandkids have GOT to do this for them. It’s adorable: http://www.portablenorthpole.tv/home

    You can select the age of the child and then fill out a checklist of behaviors they’ve been working on, favorite gift they want, and upload pictures of them. Then it generates a video with Santa talking to the child, using the personal data you fed in. Have four kids? No problem–there are at least that many different backgrounds of Santa in his workshop, in his sleigh, etc. It’s absolutely a kill and you should see the kids’ eyes when Santa sends them a personal video message!

    • Debra Dixon says:

      Kylie– This was AWESOME!! My nephew loved this. Thanks so much for the tip. It’s not a “video” so revealing that you and it are awesome, does skew the video results. (g)

  11. Debra Dixon says:

    Keep ’em coming guys!

  12. morningstar says:

    Here’s one I’ve enjoyed since I first saw it a year or more ago; it’s a parody on cowboys and cattle herding:

  13. I love this cat video (saw it on Animal Planet this morning then found it on youtube). My fave moment is at about 32 seconds.

  14. I love the food court one…so cool to see all the different age groups participating. & thanks for the happy tears with Christian the lion. Get me every time.

  15. kris says:

    the old spice guy:

    cracks me up every time (and he’s nice to look at!)

  16. Terry Odell says:

    I’ve never browsed YouTube. I’ve watched some videos others have sent me, or that I’ve seen on FB or were links. I’ve put one or two on my own blog, but this is the only one I ever went looking for, and I did that only because I was pretty sure I’d seen it before. (And I’ll probably post it again on Saturday on my own blog, because–well–it’s true!)

    Terry
    Terry’s Place
    Romance with a Twist–of Mystery

  17. Minna says:

    Oh here’s one more. I’d like this guy do all my shopping. I’d just need to give him a couple of euros and he’d come back with a computer:
    http://www.viddler.com/explore/kylemacmac/videos/2/

  18. Hellion says:

    Sorry, not a YouTube person; however, I do have something that will make you pee your pants laughing. It’s a blog…and there’s pictures to enhance the storytelling.

    http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/2010/10/god-of-cake.html

    And if you have dumb dogs and have ever moved, this one might strike a chord:

    http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/2010/11/dogs-dont-understand-basic-concepts.html

    And if you’re feeling particularly sacrilegious about Christmas, there is always the newest installment of Hyperbole:

    http://hyperboleandahalf.blogspot.com/2010/12/year-kenny-loggins-ruined-christmas.html

    They all come highly, highly recommended. Oh, and I’m not promoting my own blog–since it’s obvious from reading these, I could never be that funny. Although this week we are doing pirate versions of Christmas Carols…but I bet it’d be better with pictures.

  19. catslady says:

    OMG I laughed so hard at the first one and cried my head off on the second one. I am going to have to come back and watch the others soon!

  20. Minna says:

    Home for the evening:

  21. Pam Keener says:

    I am a pet lover and this brightened my day.

    Love & Hugs & Happy Howlidays,
    Pam

  22. catslady says:

    This one made me smile (sorry you have to cut and paste because I don’t know how to make a link (sigh) http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b4_EdJ-XkUA There is another one where this guy dances around the world but I’ll be darn if I can find it now lol.

  23. catslady says:

    I’ll be darn – it worked after I sent it. Sorry guys, I really don’t know what I’m doing lol.

  24. Debra Dixon says:

    Catslady– whoo hoo! New skills. We’re very proud. (g)

  25. Margay says:

    This is something I find fantastic – it gets me every time I watch it. It’s from a relatively new competition show called the Sing-Off and the thing that amazes me the most about this is the fact that they sing Acapella – all of the instrumental sounds are made by their own voices. Hope you enjoy it!

Leave a Reply

