When I Grow Up


Do you remember being a kid and wondering what you wanted to be when you grew up? It’s very clear in my mine, but I think that might only be true because when I was in third grade my teacher asked us to write it down so she could keep the papers and let us review our answers in a few years.


I wanted to be a farmer’s wife. That’s right. Reach high. Not a doctor or a scientist or a great novelist. 🙂 Not even a farmer, but a farmer’s wife. For the last ohhhhh, forty years I’ve considered that kinda pathetic and anti feminist. But I just spent last weekend at my new grandson’s birthday party. (He’s 6 so I’m not really a grandmother in the traditional sense.) But anyway, I asked him what he wanted to be when he grew up. He didn’t miss a beat, didn’t hesitate, didn’t waffle. “Batman!” he said.

Unequivocally the best answer I’ll ever heard. Although later he was a little less certain. Maybe he’d rather be Ironman. When I suggested that he’d probably have to do well in college to be Ironman…I mean…Ironman invented some pretty cool stuff, he thought maybe he’d just be a cowboy then. However, he’s still a little uncertain of horses so I’d have to ride with him. The images here were absolutely priceless for me…we’ll be the first bucking bronco grandmother/grandson duo.

Anyway, how about you? Do you remember what you dreamed of being when you were a kid? Do you remember why? Did it come true or did your dreams change? And is it too late to become a superhero? 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

