Kathleen Joins the Social Network

Befriend me.

Or be my friend. I can’t bring myself to say “Friend me.” You know how bent out of shape I get over torturing nouns into pretending they’re something they’re not. But lost causes aside, I’m really trying to lighten up and be more sociable. This week I signed up for Facebook.

Actually, my firstborn signed me up. He’s been telling me to get with the program for some time, and I finally decided to do it.

So far it’s been hell. First I signed up for Harlequin’s online tutorial for authors. I downloaded the meeting program, as instructed. I spent the next half hour trying to figure out why I couldn’t hear anything as the screen shots of a Power Point presentation flew past. I didn’t realize I was supposed to call an 800 number to turn on the sound. Not a good start in my new venture, but I gave #1 Son the go-ahead on setting up the page. Hands-on learning is generally best for me when it comes to anything to do with the computer. All too often it’s a steep curve.

Then came the flood of e-mail. My son had generously shared his friends with me. I was delighted to get requests from nieces and nephews, former students, and kids who used to hang out at my house and raid my refrigerator. Pretty soon I was feeling like Mickey Mouse watching the mops multiply, so I called the Sorcerer. He helped me shut the water off, but he said I wasn’t going to learn unless I got in there and tried things out. (I wonder where he got that?)

So now I’ve set the thing up, but I’m not sure what to do with it. I lasted on Twitter for about a day because I was pretty sure no one would want to know how many pages I wrote today or what I was cooking for supper. Facebook seems to offer a few more options, but I could easily lose myself in that news feed.

For a writer, I’m not the best communicator. I can see the possibilities with this–catching up with far-flung friends and family, enjoying the occasional blast from the past–but I’m a little intimidated by it.

What’s your Facebook life like? Do you converse like we do here, or is it more like sending tidbits into the ether? Do you tune in every day? How much time do you spend? What do you put in, and what do you get out of it? Have any interesting hookups happened for you?

About Kathleen Eagle

Kathleen Eagle is the award-winning, New York Times best-selling author of over forty novels.
This entry was posted in facebook. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

