Let’s go to the movies!!!

I don’t get to a lot of movies in the theater. Mostly, I watch movies on TV when they’re past their prime and everyone’s seen them BUT me. For some unknown reason, however, I’ve gone to the theater twice in the last two weeks and wow, I’m so glad I did.

Last week I saw RED. Okay. Up front: I adore Bruce Willis. Just adore him and he didn’t disappoint me in RED. Nor did Helen Mirren, John Malcovich, Morgan Freeman or Mary Louise Parker. From the moment I saw the trailer I knew I was going to love this movie. For an action adventure romantic suspense author, what’s not to love? A CIA conspiracy, operatives on the run, a sweet love story, lots of shoot ’em up bang bang scenes and above all else a generous dose of humor mixed in with all the drama. Seeing Helen Mirren firing a machine gun and sighting down the barrel of a sniper rifle was worth the price :o) I loved everything about this movie!!

Yesterday, I saw SECRETARIAT. Now, I’ll admit, I was on the fence about going to this movie but went anyway ’cause I’m a sucker for an animal story. I was afraid, however, that it would be schmaltzy and cheezy so I went in to the theater a bit skeptical. I’m happy to say that I was pleasantly surprised. In fact, I really, really liked this movie. Turns out, it wasn’t just an animal story. It was a story of a very strong woman in a male dominated sport during a time in our history where a woman’s place was ‘in the home’. It was a heartwarming, touching family saga that tugged at my emotions and tapped into some very core values that made me glad I’d paid the price of the ticket. Diane Lane was convincing and sincere in the role of Penny Chenery and John Malcovich (yes him again) was perfect as the French spewing, reluctant trainer, Lucien Laurin. Yes, there was one moment when I was hard pressed not to roll my eyes, but I resisted and just went with it because of the over all feel of the story. It was refreshing to see a feel good family movie.

So what about you? Has anyone seen either of these movies and if so, what’s your take? And if you haven’t seen them, do you think you might? Any other movies I should add to my list? And finally, can you tell I’m off deadline for a minute or two? :o)

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Bruce Willis, Helen Mirren, John Malcovich, Mary Louise Parker, Morgan Freeman, RED, Secretariat. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

