So What’s a Superfood?

In general, I live a pretty healthy lifestyle. I tend to pay attention to what I eat, exercise three to five times a week, take good supplements, and get a good night’s sleep. A year and a half ago, I herniated a disk in my lower spine. Talk about a wake-up call. Apparently, as much as I was doing to take care of myself, it wasn’t enough. So while I’ve been trying to get back to normal – I’m probably about 90% – I set out to discover what more I could do to stay healthy.

The biggest change I’ve made is to revise my workout schedule to include more variety. Too much of anything isn’t healthy and I was very likely spending too much time on the stairs at the gym.

When I took a look at what I was eating, I realized there were still improvements I could make. Simple improvements. Did you know there’s something called Superfoods that can control cholesterol, fight cancer and heart disease and even improve your mood?

So here they are, taken from the WebMD site:

Beans
Blueberries
Broccoli
Oats
Oranges
Pumpkin
Salmon
Soy
Spinach
Tea (green or black)
Tomatoes
Turkey
Walnuts
Yogurt

Add dark chocolate and fiber to this list, and you’ve got a lot of bases covered.

Changing our eating habits isn’t easy, but here are some things I’ve done to include more of these superfoods in my diet.

I keep jars of raw walnuts and almonds at my desk. I buy cherry tomatoes and pop them like grapes for a snack. Yogurts makes a great desert. I love the two kinds that are supposed to regulate digestion. Kills two birds with one stone. When I’m in a restaurant, I’ll look for things that include black beans, or order fish (since I don’t cook it much at home). And I’ve found that ground turkey works just as well as beef in things like chili, tacos or spaghetti.

So have you ever heard of Superfoods? Do you have any suggestions for how to fit more of them in my diet? Is there something you’ve started doing this past year to improve your health?

THE MOON THAT NIGHT my November Superromance is now available at eHarlequin or for pre-order at any of your fav on-line places. It’ll be in stores on November 9th!

Helen

About Helen Brenna

Helen Brenna is the RITA award winning author of romances for Harlequin's Superromance line. Three more books in her popular Mirabelle Island series will be release in July, August and September of 2011. For more information, check out her website at www.helenbrenna.com.
This entry was posted in health, Superfoods. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

