Ditching The Tiara

When you were six years old, what did you want to be?

Confession.  I wanted to be a princess.  I was the third of three girls, so the princess position had been filled.  My mother, however, read me stories about princesses and I saw them on television.  I always thought princesses did fun things like wear tiaras and have people wait on them and adore them.  They always wore pretty dresses and usually got the gorgeous prince.  This all sounded good to me.:)

PrincessHeartTiara_400-01

In real life, many princesses make a lot of appearances and work very hard.  They have a lot of pressure from the press and every move can be scrutinized by the public.  So what if you were a princess?  What if you were the princess who never gets into trouble, who avoids scandal and works like a dog?  Your brother, the crown prince, can be an arrogant you-know-what, but you love him and you know he’s under pressure, so you try to always be there for him.  Your younger, thinner, more beautiful sister who has caused countless scandals and spent a stint in rehab, is now getting married to a French filmmaker.  You have no love life.  You have no personal life. 

For one night, you get a chance to ditch the tiara at a masquerade party.  You get a chance to be anyone what you want to be.  You meet a hot, but kind rancher.  You spend some time with him.  Unlike Cinderella, reality hits you way after midnight, and months later, you learn that you, the goody-two-shoes everyone has counted on, is pregnant.

rhbaby

Yeah, this is the premise for the first Silhouette Special Edition I’ve written in over ten years.  What I like about this book is the humanity of the characters.  The hunky hero has his own baggage and the worst thing that could happen to him is an unplanned pregnancy that he caused.  Romantic Times Book Club gave ROYAL HOLIDAY BABY a 4 1/2 star review and I really like this book, so I hope you’ll give it a try.  If you do, please drop me a line at leannebbb@aol.com 

In the meantime, I’m giving away a copy of one of my previous books to one commenter.  My questions:  When you were six years old, what did you want to be?  Did you ever want to be a princess?  Have you ever worn a tiara?  (I have a hair band with crystals that resembles a tiara, but I’ve never had the nerve to wear it.<g>)   TELL ALL!:)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

