Behind the Curve on Movies… Your recommendations?

I’m WAY behind the curve on watching movies.  The last movie I saw in a theater was “Lincoln”, which I really enjoyed.  I’ve been so busy writing I’ve felt like I shouldn’t take the time to indulge in a full-length movie. 

I finally got to see Silver Linings Playbook and found it interesting.  Since then, my husband have opted for more sophisticated fare:  Kung Fu Panda and Despicable Me.  I must be a child at heart because I loved both.Smile

Now that I can be almost a real person since I’ve finished those back-to-back deadlines, I would love to hear your recommendations for what movies I should see.  Must confess I’m tempted by Red 2 and, of course, Despicable Me 2.  One must for me is a happy ending!

What have you seen lately?

xo,

Leanne Banks

Coming August 21!

0913-9780373657636-bigw

http://www.harlequin.com/storeitem.html?iid=28883&cid=2868

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Behind the Curve on Movies… Your recommendations?

  1. Kathleen O says:

    The only movie I have saw this summer was The Heat with Sandra Bullock and Melissa McCarthy.. It was really good and so funny. These two together are wonderful..

  2. leannebanks says:

    Kathleen O, Thanks for the rec! I’ve heard great things about this one, but I’m not sure I can get my husband to watch it. :)

  3. lois greiman says:

    If you get chance, check out Warm Bodies. It’s in video now. :)

  4. The only movie we’ve seen in the theater this summer is “The Lone Ranger.” We enjoyed it. Yes, Tonto reminded us of Jack Sparrow just a bit, but that was part of the fun. If you’re a Johnny Depp and/or a Western fan, what’s not to like?

    Our most recent DVD was “The Promised Land,” and, yeah, it’s environmentally friendly, but so am I. Matt Damon, Frances McDormand–again, what’s not to like–and there was a good plot twist.

    • leannebanks says:

      Thank you Kathleen. I think you see many more movies than I do, so I love hearing your opinion. I’ll put The Promised Land on my list. I think Jack Sparrow would make a great Tonto. :)

  5. Chelsea B. says:

    Despicable Me 2 was AMAZING! So funny and so sweet. I don’t say this often, but I think I liked it better than the first. I KNOW! I’ll just say this: Gru has a love interest, and it is awesome. That is all.
    Monsters U was a lot of fun. Didn’t beat the first for me, but I loved getting to see how some of my favorite characters got to where they are.
    The Conjuring was interesting. I walked in knowing it was based on true facts, so that was fun and comforting to know while watching, ha. It wasn’t gruesome in the least. It was a more ‘mess with you head, make you jump’ thriller.
    I don’t know if it’s still out, but This is the End was absolutely HILARIOUS! I loved it so much. I can’t wait for it to come out on dvd so I can watch it again.

    I am SO LOOKING FORWARD to Red 2! I was so surprised at how much I freaking adored RED. It had EVERYTHING! I am so wicked excited!

    Enjoy your movie-going! :-)

    • leannebanks says:

      CHELSEA B, thanks tons for your recommendations. I’m writing them down!!!! I LOVED RED too!!!!!!!!!!! SO COOL! xo, Leanne

  6. laurieg72l says:

    I haven’t been to the movie theater in ages.

    From the library we watched the musical ROCK OF AGES with Tom Cruise as a troubled rock star. It also stars Alex Baldwin, Woody Harrelson and Julianne Hough. My husband, daughter and her husband all liked it. Tom Cruise did a great job and he can actually sing!

    We also re-watched CRAZY STUPID LOVE and laughed a lot.

    My son liked Jack Reacher. I have not seen it.

  7. michelehauf says:

    Red 2 rocked! I think it was even better than the first. And Helen Mirren should play the bad-girl assassin more often. Loved it! Despicable Me 2 was also great. Saw The Heat, and while I thought it was very funny, it disturbed me that they felt they had to have Melissa M use the F-word practically every other word. She’s funny enough that she doesn’t need to do that.

    Best thing I’ve watched on TV lately? Top of The Lake. A BBC mini-series. Highly recommended.

  8. Kylie Brant says:

    I really want to see Red 2. Loved the first one. Took the grandsons to Despicable Me 2 and think Gampa giggled more than the boys :) It was very cute.

  9. Renee Howell says:

    The last movie I went to see at the theater was World War Z with my husband and 12 yr old grandson. Brad Pitt was excellent in this movie, but I had to hide my face so many times with all the gory zombies. Please note, I didn’t pick this movie and I was aware of the zombies before going in, of course this was my grandson’s movie pick. Do not recommend if zombies bother you.
    But on a positive note just saw 2 movies from Redbox that are excellent- “Mud” with Matthew McConaghey-who is my favorite actor and the movie “The Call” with Halle Berry. Highly recommend both of these movies. Hope you find something you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

