Dog Days of Summer

ImageI read some info about why we call some parts of this season the “Dog Days.” According to Wikipedia, the Romans correlated the hot weather with the star Sirius. They named it the “Dog Star” because it is the brightest star in the constellation Canis Major (Large Dog). The Dog Days were the days when Sirius rose just before or at the same time as sunrise. Hate to tell you, but the Romans reportedly sacrificed a dog in April to make Sirius happy and not cause the hot, unpleasant weather in the later months.

In ancient times, the dates were July 24th through August 24th or from July 23 through August 23rd. Wikipedia tells me that we have to make some adjustments for modern times. I stopped reading.

Because I know what the Dog Days are at my house. It’s the days when Hank, our yellow Lab, retreats to the tile floor of the first floor bathroom to keep cool or insists on a session of Frisbee-throwing into the pool. It’s when we finally break down and turn on our air conditioning (hideously expensive in SoCal). It’s when we don’t even think about cooking indoors and we wipe down the very furry cat with a wet washcloth.

I have a big fan that I point at myself while I read a book that takes me away from the unpleasant temps. As all voracious readers know, reading is the best antidote to just about everything.

What makes it a Dog Day for you? What do you do to keep cool?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Dog Days of Summer

  1. Kylie Brant says:

    Love your pool, Christie! If it were me, I’d be living in it :) We can get some beastly hot weather in Iowa and I mostly stay inside. Air conditioning is relatively cheap here, and I get cold easily so I’m ok keeping it at 78. And I always sleep with a fan…all year round. That helps!

  2. What an awesome pool! I don’t blame Hank! I’d be retrieving the Frisbee from the pool too! :)
    In Arkansas, surviving without a/c is impossible. The heat and humidity is just too high. We’ve had a very mild summer thus far…meaning few days 100 or above. Today is only in the low 90′s, which, for the first day of August, is rare. We run the a/c starting in May through at least September. Being a “woman of a certain age”, I keep it set at about 73. And like Kylie, we have ceiling fans everywhere…all of the running.

  3. What a gorgeous picture, Christie! My black (mostly) Lab is a tennis ball chaser. We tried the Frisbee, but she made plastic mincemeat out of them. She’s loving the weather we’ve been having lately, and so am I. High 70s, low 80s and low dew point. Perfect!

  4. cheryl says:

    The pool looks nice. When it gets hot I go swimming at the beach.

Leave a Reply

