Day(s) of Jubilee/BOOK DRAWING!

I just finished two back-to-back deadlines and am returning to the land of the living.  I sacrificed several things to finish those books – Romance Writers of America National Conference, Sheryl Crow concert (we already had tickets), an extended week-end with girlfriends (1 night trip instead of 3), trips to the grocery store and well, any store, home cooked food, and on a more basic level – exercise, daily showers, shaved legs, a decent pedicure, and hair color.

I have a writer friend who once told me that after you finish a book you should have at least a Day of Jubilee where you do whatever you want.  I’ve decided to have more than one day of Jubilee. 

I’m going to stock up on homegrown corn and freeze it.  I can’t wait to go to Costco!  Woo-hoo!  A pedicure is in my future and I plan to buy a box of hair color.  I’m already riding my Fit Desk while watching my guilty pleasure morning show, and I’ve hauled out my hula hoop.  Also gonna visit my Mom <3

I’ll be back to writing again soon and I don’t dread it.   I would just like to bring down the pressure level a notch or two.  Till then I’m having a couple days of Jubilee.

How do you celebrate after an intense work period?  *****I’ll draw from the comments to give one copy of my not-yet-published book described below!  Come on!  I’m taking notes!

An advance head’s up!  My next Harlequin Special Edition THE MAVERICK AND THE MANHATTANITE  hits the stands August 20! http://tinyurl.com/luthocb

xo,

Leanne Banks

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Day(s) of Jubilee/BOOK DRAWING!

  1. Teresa Hughes says:

    Hey Leanne! Congrats on meeting your deadlines!

    As to how I reward myself when work has been exhausting…
    1. I get a manicure and pedicure.
    2. I get a haircut. Sounds like no big deal but, I have waist length hair so a cut is wonderful! My hairstylist washes it, cuts it, and flat irons it too. LOVE!!
    3. I go out with friends to my favorite Japanese Restaurant!! YUM!
    4. I reward myself by purchasing more books:)

    Congrats again! Looking forward to your newest release!

    • leannebanks says:

      Teresa, I like your list! I’ve applied hair color and gotten a pedicure. A haircut is in my future. I bet your hair is beautiful! Thanks for the list! :) xo, Leanne

  2. michelehauf says:

    I love that idea! Here’s to you!

  3. Good for you – do something nice for yourself, you’ve earned it for sure!

  4. Dyan says:

    That’s easy, I snuggle up with my kindle in a dark, quiet room and READ!!!

  5. Dyan says:

    That’s easy, I snuggle up with my kindle in a dark, quiet room and READ!!!

  6. Nancy Swern says:

    I always look forward to my down time after completing a big project! You deserve a break, make the most of it! Thanks for opportunity.

  7. IRT says:

    Relax and enjoy your down time! You deserve it! To reward myself after a big project, I like to go to the spa, get a mani & pedi, hair cut and highlighted. After that I just want to sit in a quiet place and read!!

  8. C-Jay M says:

    I usually just flop down and zone out for a bit. :-) Then, it’s a nice meal (meaning some take-out from somewhere) and, like other writers above, find a place to READ!

  9. Sue P. says:

    Zone out for awhile – cook some comfort food, read the books I’ve been putting off or watch my quilty pleasure TV shows I missed. Love up the family.

  10. amy o'neal says:

    I either sit in my recliner or in front of the computer in the living room and read :)

  11. leannebanks says:

    Amy, getting to the books! Sounds GREAT!!! :)

  12. Kathleen O says:

    Sitting down with a good book, some great music and peace and quiet is heaven to me, oh and you cant forget a massage, and mani-pedi thrown into the works…

    • leannebanks says:

      Kathleen, I would love a massage! I froze about 13 bags of corn last night (parboil, chill, cut it off the cobb with old electric knife). I think it gave me carpal tunnel! lol

  13. MaryC says:

    Dark chocolate and books!

  14. lindina2 says:

    You sure have an ambitious list to get through! I’d need my day of Jubilee after completing each task (that pedicure might deserve a Jubilee of its own). I am easily distracted and never seem to finish anything, whether it’s pruning roses, weeding, planting or sprucing up pots and bare spots in the garden, e-mail, [playing Candy Crush Saga, cooking the meat I took out of the freezer instead of throwing it out a week later, mopping the floor, etc. Procrastination is my first name (or maybe it’s the ADHD popping out). I think I have plenty of Jubilee without completing anything. I’m stuck reading Leopard’s Prey by Christine Feehan. I like her books, and I like shape shifters, but I just seem to find other things to pick up instead of it. And I have other books begging to be read. I can get lost for days books. Oh, maybe the fact that I have my 3 yr old grandson 3 nights (and 5 days) while his mom works night shift. He’s why I never get anything done or read. By the time I have cleaned up one “accident” of his, he has made 2 more messes. I need someone to come straighten out my life!

    • leannebanks says:

      Lindina2, you sound like me! Sometimes I have a hard time focusing, but I’m working on it! Congrats on your 3 yr old grandson. You’re a very generous mother and grandmother to take him on that much during the week. Hugs to you! <3

  15. Norma says:

    I read or veg in front of the TV….sometimes much longer than I planned.

  16. librarypat says:

    THE MAVERICK AND THE MANHATTANITE sounds like a good and fun read.
    After I finish a big project, I usually celebrate by pulling out some of the longer books I have been wanting to read, but haven’t had the time. I always manage to sneak in a Harlequin Intrigue or Harlequin Historical because they are quick reads, but to sit down and enjoy a longer book takes time so I can enjoy it and not be rushed. I usually have housework, laundry, and yard work to catch up on, but they will be done when I’m not reading.

    Enjoy your free time before going back into writing mode.

  17. cheryl says:

    A nice dinner and a quiet evening at home.

  18. Sharon says:

    Congrats on reaching your deadline! Now it’s time to have some “me” time.

  19. Teresa Morris says:

    I relax by getting a pedicure. Chill out…..you have definitely earned it!!
    Teresa

  20. pamela hamblin says:

    Leanne, I’ve been a stay at home mom most of my adult life. I have been busy lately with taking other people to thier appointments or helping a g/f out with her sick brother that I finally said enough! I need some ” me ” time or “family ” time. Last weekend my daughter, her boy friend , and I went to the local town to thier town old day’s. I got to look at antique cars, had cotton candy, looked at a couple cow’s ( Not like I haven’t seen any living in a rural area), listened to music, had a hot dog and soda, watched a cake wheel spin, and visit with other people I hadn’t seen in a long time!!! Then on Sunday we went to a family reunion picnic. The next me time may not be until next spring / summer so every chance I get I’m curled up reading!!!!

  21. Kathy Copeland says:

    Read, Stay up late and watch a good movie, Call my sister and talk and talk. Take the grandkids to one of their movies. I love to do all these things.

  22. Leanna says:

    I would probably do some cooking that calms me. Definately some reading and catching up on everything on my dvr.

  23. Rosemary K. says:

    We all need to unwind and chill. To much intensity burns us out. Be good to yourself.

  24. Quilt Lady says:

    I go spend time with my sister’s!

  25. Ada says:

    I sleep in and just chill. If I’m lucky, no one will bother me and I’ll be able to grab some down time with my next book in my TBR pile.

  26. Anita H. says:

    I always go and catch up with my sister.

  27. Marcy Shuler says:

    I treat myself to a book I’m wanting that’s not on sale. LOL

    bmndshuler(at)hotmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

