Party At Tiffany’s

image           It’s a book! image           It’s a movie!

20130712_073421_resized It’s a terrific party theme, this one facilitated by my daughter.  I’d call her a chip off the ol’ block, but Elizabeth has her own flair, and she’s a quicker study and way more efficient than her mother when it’s time to make a fuss over somebody special.  Overnight she turned a government office into a jewelry store for a retirement party a week or so ago.

She started with a theme that meant something to the honoree, who loves Tiffany’s.  Perfect!  Not only does she have instant personalization, but there’s a story and a color scheme, and, oh, can that girl ever accessorize.

20130625_211939_resized_2

There’s a story behind the cake topper.  The showpiece that was ordered didn’t show up, so Elizabeth used what she had and improvised on the fly.

20130626_141633_resized_2

Voila!

20130626_141604_resized_1

Tiffany blue and Audrey Hepburn, too.  Just covering the photo display and mixing up a punch in signature Tiffany style makes such a statement.  And you’ve got your strawberries and roses.  Yes, the plates are made of paper, but Holly Golightly would approve.  Like the Kisses, they’re shiny silver.

DIY takes many forms, from the child’s homemade card to the handmade gift of a wedding ring quilt.  The message is always:  Did It for You.

And how do you like my new cover?

Reason to Believe - screen

The newly edited REASON TO BELIEVE is listed on Amazon this week and will soon be available in both trade paperback and digital formats.  There’s so much I want to tell you about this book, but I’ll wait until next week, when everything should be in place.  Meanwhile…

Would you reach in the drawer there and give me my purse. A girl doesn’t read this sort of thing without her lipstick.”
― Truman Capote, Breakfast at Tiffany’s

About Kathleen Eagle

Kathleen Eagle is the award-winning, New York Times best-selling author of over forty novels.
This entry was posted in decorating, office party theme, Tiffany's, Breakfast at Tiffany's,, party decorations. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Party At Tiffany’s

  1. cool party theme…
    Awesome cover.
    OT – I just got The Night Remembers on my kindle. Will be digging in soon!

  2. Kathleen O says:

    What a fantastic idea… You daughter is very talented like her mom…I love Breakfast at Tiffany’s. It is one of my all time fav movies.. And A Night to Remember will be arriving on my kindle soon… I love the cover…

  3. “The Night Remembers” was my first hardcover, and I followed it up years later (had to give Tommy T time to grow up) with NIGHT FALLS LIKE SILK, also available on Kindle. Tommy T is a special character. He was inspired by one of my students, back in the day when I was a very young teacher on the Standing Rock Sioux Indian Reservation. His name was Oliver, and he was enormously talented.

  4. Love the party idea! I love Tiffany blue too.

  5. Heather L says:

    Neat idea for a party theme! I’ve seen the movie many times, but only recently read the book for a group read at Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

