When/Why do you stop reading a book?

I found this great infographic from Goodreads on how and why readers stop reading books.  Very fascinating.  Most of this we know, there is something about this infographic that kept me exploring and considering.

http://www.goodreads.com/blog/show/424-what-makes-you-put-down-a-book

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to When/Why do you stop reading a book?

  1. bellwriter says:

    Deb, I thought it was interesting that a good-size percentage put the book down and then come back to it later. I find I have to be in the right mood for whatever topic the author is selling. As for me, if I don’t care that the character is in peril, in love, etc. I stop reading. It’s all about the characters for me.

  2. Teresa Hill says:

    Hi,
    For me as a reader, the biggest reason to put a book down is that I just don’t care enough about the characters to keep reading. Which is about the book being slow/boring, sometimes the characters doing stupid things, sometimes really not liking the characters.

    I don’t understand people who finish all the books they start. I want to tell them that it’s okay, you don’t have to do that. You don’t have to torture yourself with a book you don’t like. There are so many great books in the world that you’d love. Go read one of those. I give you permission.

  3. Trish Jensen says:

    Debra:
    I stop reading a book when I’m bored by page three. Life’s too short.This is why, to me, even the first sentence has to be enticing. And why it takes me forever to begin. Want the draw from the very beginning.
    Funny enough, I could NOT get into Harry Potter. But one I was forced to hear it in audio, I was hooked.

    But to answer your question, three pages. I’d loved to be hooked by the first sentence, but I’ll give it three pages.

    Trish, generous

  4. Pat Van Wie says:

    I don’t give a book very long either. Sometimes I stop on page one. Or, if not, as Theresa said, when I no longer care what happens–either to the characters or in the plot. As for readers who finish everything they start, I really don’t understand that. Someone else will read it, someone else will love it. It doesn’t have to be you.

Leave a Reply

