Who’s Yo Mama?

momnchildWith Mother’s Day coming up, naturally I’m thinking about all things mom. I’m close to mine, though she lives a 10-hour drive away…I so wish she was nearer! (Or is that why our relationship is so good?) When I think of my mother, these are the things that pop into my head:

Her house is immaculate. She’s afraid of spiders and snakes. Though her cooking skills are limited (she’s just not that interested) she makes great mac ‘n’ cheese. An incredible seamstress, she made many clothes for me and for herself. In terms of entertainment, she’s an aficionado of old movies and loves to watch HGTV. To me, she passed on her love of reading, which meant she was always up for a trip to the library. And you could always count on her to go shopping for a new outfit for a special occasion.

Now that I’m a mom, I wonder what list like above my sons would make for me? Here’s what I hope they’d say: momcookies

Mom is unfazed by a messy house filled with guys and guy-stuff. She’s always willing to deliver a forgotten lunch or something else left behind. She makes great mac ‘n’ cheese…and cookies too! She’s always willing to play personal shopper for us and come home with something we need for a special occasion. Although we don’t love reading as much as she does, if we express an interest in something she’ll go all out for anything Lord of the Rings or Game of Thrones.

What defines your mom? If you are a mom, what do you think your kids would say about you?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Who’s Yo Mama?

  1. Teresa Hughes says:

    My mom is a strong mom who never gives up. She makes awesome meatloaf. She is a shopaholic. She is always there whenever anyone needs her.

    I hope my kids say that I was always there and supported them in whatever they try. I hope they will say I was at least an okay cook (my husband cooks a lot better). I hope they say that while I wasn’t perfect I was perfect for them.

    What I already know they say is that I’m cool. Their friends say they are lucky to have an awesome mom.

    Thanks for sharing:)

    • christieridgway says:

      I love your reply! Your kids are lucky to have you and your mom sounds fab. I could have said my mom’s a shopaholic too…and a great bargain hunter.

      • Teresa Hughes says:

        Thanks Christie!

        We call mom the Double Coupon Queen so loves those bargains too!

        Have a great Mother’s Day!

  2. Mona Kekstadt says:

    My mom is the best. She lives in Arizona so I don’t see her as often as I would like. When she comes in she loves to cook in my house. All of my favorite German dishes that I don’t cook that she cooks the best. I could never duplicate. I try some. I do make very good Wiener schnitzel and dumplings…we bake a little…I don’t have kids but I cook for my husband and we take turns cooking but he does not cook German dishes even though he is German. My moms house is very clean as well.

    Christie just started reading one of your book…Bungalow Nights very good.
    Hope you have a wonderful Mother’s Day..all my best..
    Mona

    • christieridgway says:

      Thank you, Mona! Hope you enjoy the book. :) Your mom sounds great and now I’m hungry for German food…any kind of food!

  3. Kathleen O says:

    My mom was the kind of mom that would do anything for her kinds and sacrificed a lot of herself for us. She even raised one of her grandkids too. She loved us till the day she died. She will be gone 2yrs this month and not a minute goes by that I don’t think of her and the when something good or bad happens, I still go to the phone to call her. Cherish your mother everyday. A mother is a mother no matter good or bad, we always need, want and love our mothers.

    • christieridgway says:

      She sounds wonderful. An example for us all. I just nursed my Son1 through a stomach bug and all I kept thinking about was no matter how big they grow, they’re still our babies. He’s better today…and so am I because of it. :)

  4. leannebanks says:

    I love this Christie! My mother is one of the smartest people in the world. I continue to learn things from her and she’s 83! She’s very independent and she needs that independent streak now that my dad has passed away. She loves to shop and is a great cook. Makes super yummy deviled eggs. She’s encouraging and funny. I’m so blessed to have her as my mom. I talk to her almost every day!

    • christieridgway says:

      She sounds fab, Leanne! (And I loved deviled eggs!). Shopping seems to be a theme with the moms around here… one of things I appreciate about my boys is that they like to me shop with/for them.

  5. Lois Greiman says:

    Nice blog, Christie. Thanks for reminding me how lucky I am. Mom will be 95 in October. She still lives alone on the farm, is possibly even messier than I am. (Not an easy task.) and is the toughest, most independent woman I know. She treats us all like we’re still babies, feeds us homemade homegrown meals from her gardens and is a huge flirt when men show up. :)

  6. Kylie Brant says:

    I lost my mom in ’86 suddenly and miss her everyday. She embodied patience, and even having been raised as an only child she dealt with six children with aplomb. I truly never heard of anyone who didn’t like her. She had a way of making you feel that you were the most important thing in the world to her and I recognize now what a gift that is. She could make a dollar stretch further than anyone I know (I did not inherit either her patience or her frugality!) and swore that raising boys was ten times worse than girls. Having four boys and one girl myself, I beg to differ

    Everything I know about parenting I learned from the wonderful model she and my dad set for me. I think my kids would say about me: She thinks she’s funny (I am); she’s the tailgating queen; she loves having big groups of people around; she can cook for an army; she likes to have fun. I only wish for some of the traits my mom had, but alas, I’m afraid it’s too late to wish for patience!

  7. Trish Jensen says:

    Christie:
    I’m not a mom of any two-legged creatures, BUT I’m “the coolest aunt in the world,” according to my two nephews. Does that count? While they were growing up, I’d get a call from my sister at least once a month because one or the other would say to her, “I’d like a second opinion, please. Call aunt Trish.” For example, when Philip was around 15, he and his friends wanted to go see The Rocky Horror Picture Show dressed up as one of the characters. Suz called and asked if she should let him go. I told her absolutely. And as usual he took the phone from her and said, “You’re the BEST aunt Trish!”

    My mom was a great cook, and so nurturing that my house was THE place to be. If I had a party, all the kids would beg her to come join us. In fact, she still keeps more in touch with my childhood friends than I do. Social butterfly is my mother. So how she produced a kid who prefers being a hermit still puzzles her.

  8. roxrustand says:

    What a lovely topic today. The blog and all of the responses have really tugged at my heart. Lost my mom two years ago, and as Kylie said, I miss her every single day. And as Kathleen O said, I so wish I could call her up! Though she was a state away, I talked to her almost every day. Even at 94, she closely followed local and national news, and was probably the only person who watched every minute of the Minnetonka city council meetings on some obscure TV channel–just to make sure they weren’t trying to get away with anything. :) She was funny, intelligent, gracious and caring, with a host of lifelong friends, and a fierce defender of her two children.

Leave a Reply

