What an interesting week!

In America, we started off with the Boston Marathon Bombing.  I was obsessed with every bit of news we were given about this event.  Horrified by the deaths and injuries, I prayed for the health and safety of the victims.  I also prayed for resolution.  Who could have dreamed the bombing suspects would have been found and apprehended in less than a week?

If the bombing weren’t bad enough, then the explosion at the fertilizer plant in Texas made it even worse.  An earthquake in China.  In Syria, hundreds are feared dead in Damascus fighting.  Floods in the midwest.  Snow in the northwest.  And then on a highly superficial note, what’s up with our fave girl Reese Witherspoon, who was arrested with her husband in Atlanta.

All of this is terribly distracting to an author.  In general, authors work best in boring conditions.  This week, I’ve struggled to make incremental progress.  It’s just been dang hard to focus!  Still working on it.

To offer a little much-needed levity, here’s a photo from facebook that cheered me up today.  Sheesh!  I needed it!Smile

dogsong

What about you?  How has the news from the last week affected you?

Hugs,

Leanne

www.leannebanks.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to What an interesting week!

  1. Trish Jensen says:

    This week stopped me cold. Try to write humor when the morning news has me crying before my first cup of java. The best part of it? My pup HATES when she senses I’m upset, so jumps up on the bed and tries to lick away my tears. Of course she has an ulterior motive. She knows that when she attempts to lick my face, I’ll jump up and get her a chew so she has something else to focus on. Not dumb, my pup, unless it suits her purposes to pretend to be.

  2. Mona Kekstadt says:

    Leanne this is a great blog I’m glad someone brought this up. My heart went out to the people who lost love ones in the bombing. That poor little boy. It makes me cold inside. It has me crying and shaking…I’m so glad the caught the people responsible for this terrible crime.

    The one good thing was when it rained we got no rain in our basement. The lakes we usually boat with our friends are so flooded. Yesterday I was reading a book and looked out the window heard my neighbors dog bark…looked outside. He was rolling in there backyard on is back. Part of there fence back came down bad weather we have been having. He jumped over the fence ran into the swamps..with all the rain we got we have a lot of little swamps now….

    Take care everyone…

    • leannebanks says:

      Mona, I’m so glad your basement didn’t get flooded. We had a basement in my home when I was growing up and flooding happened on occasion. It sounds like it was fun watching your neighbor’s dog roll around in the grass. Take care to you, sweetie! xo

  3. Kathleen O says:

    There has been so much going on in my life and as much as I feel for the people of Boston, the losses they have suffered and the devastation it has caused, life goes on for the rest of us. My sister in law, who is only 43yrs old had a heart attack on Tuesday and had 5 bypasses done today. My brother and my nieces and nephews have pretty much been my focus. Then my cousins mother had to be rushed to hospital yesterday.. I watched all the news reports, watched the capture of the terrorist and then life on. Then this past weekend a section on Ontario, where I live had major flooding and people have been forced out of their homes.. It is awful what we have to go through, but if you are strong, one will get through it all.. I will keep Boston and it’s people in my thoughts and prayers..

    • leannebanks says:

      Oh, Kathleen, I’m so sorry about your sister in law and I hope she recovers quickly. I’m glad she’s been treated. You’re such a good sis and auntie. Good wishes for the rest of your family too! xo

    • debradixon says:

      Kathleen! Oh, my goodness. That’s more than enough for anyone to deal with. Hugs.

  4. Teresa Hughes says:

    I was glued to the news waiting to see what would happen next. Since 9/11 when anything happens I begin to worry and just have to stay in the loop of what’s going on. Hoping for a little news relief for awhile.

    • leannebanks says:

      Teresa, there are some events that really grab me, and the Boston Marathon Bombing did. So many lives shattered and changed in the blink of an eye. I’m praying for their recovery. xo

  5. Kylie Brant says:

    It was just a really really tough week. Hard to remain positive with one hit after another…quite sobering. I hate that my grandchildren are being raised in a world where we can no longer take our country’s safety for granted. And I long for simpler times…

    • leannebanks says:

      Kylie — one hit after another. That’s the way it seemed to me too. There was hardly any time to catch our breath before the next disaster hit. I long for simpler time times too. xo

  6. Mary Louise says:

    The saddness of Marathon Monday still weighs heavy. Could not get to work on Friday becuase I work on the Newton/Watertown line and everything was shut down. BlackHawk helicopters everywhere and a strong police presence everywhere. My nephew even heard the explosions and gun fire that originated in Cambridge from his place in Somerville. However the strength and courage shown by so many is really affirming. I have to remember there are many more good people than bad in this world. To show my solidarity with the runners I plan to run the marathon next year. Cranky knees may be problematic but the training has already begun. No way I can qualify at my snail’s pace, but I hope to be at the back of the pack of runners, waaaay back, when the race starts.

    • debradixon says:

      Go, Mary Louise!! That’s just awesome.

    • leannebanks says:

      Mary Louise, what a wonderful testament. I’m sure this has been especially hard for you. I love what you said about the strength and courage exhibited by so many people during this tragedy. It’s inspiring! Thank you for sharing! xo

  7. debradixon says:

    Leanne– I had just returned from a trip and was leaving again, so I was somewhat insulated from all the news. My husband was traveling out of the country. We had so much going on that had to get done last week. I had to keep my head down and just glance up periodically. Or I was out of touch with only snippets on the airport news as I ran from plane to plane. I was on panels and doing business. i think that “busy-ness” helped that all the news that was coming out couldn’t hit me 24/7. So, by the time they apprehended the bombers, I was like, “What? Seriously? It’s over?” I was stunned and amazed. And so very glad. And very aware of the fact that I had a chance to be “business as usual” and realize what a blessing that was.

    • leannebanks says:

      Debra, good for you that you were able to get your work done. I just felt frozen at times. Very grateful that the bombers have been apprehended and praying for everyone’s recovery! xo

  8. Guy D. Ogan says:

    Fortunately or unfortunately, depending upon how you look at it, as a retired miiitary officer the evil that these two jihadists performed didn’t surprise me one bit – Islam preaches “kill all the infidels” (and I realize it is “politically incorrect” to say so, but the truth is still the truth). I pray the people in the U.S. wake up in time to stop all these low-lifes before more people die needlessly.

  9. Nicole says:

    It is sad that some people for which ever reason go and hurt innocent people. While I’m looking at the news, I am trying to focus on the good stories that comes out of those tragedy. Strangers helping each other’s some who had just finish to run and rush to help. In those times it always makes me feel better to know that there are many great people.

  10. Mary McCoy says:

    Leanne, there have been a host of tragedies in the past week and I think Fred Rogers must be pleased that when people were shocked and frightened, his quote about his mother always telling him that in times of trouble to “look for the helpers, they will always be there” was one of the most shared items on the internet.

    In southeastern Wisconsin we have been fortunate to avoid most of the flooding that my online friends in Ontario and other places are suffering and we had a beautiful Earth Day, followed of course by snow. But the sun will be shining brightly this weekend when my daughter and I get to sit at Leanne’s table at Barbara Vey’s authors’ luncheon.

Leave a Reply

