Rebel or Rule-Follower?

daffodilssignSurfer Guy and I were in Las Vegas (I was doing a chat with Robyn Carr at the library) and on our way home we stopped for the night at the in-laws’ vacation place in the SoCal mountains. A month ago we were there in the snow. This weekend the daffodils replaced the white stuff.

The tiny nearby town of Twin Peaks has a Daffodil Project. 80,000 bulbs planted along the mountain highway. Beautiful! And there’s always a little sign accompanying them, asking people not to pick the flowers.

We had our evening before a warm fire and then got up the next morning to head for home. Before we left, Surfer Guy called his folks to report on everything and my mother-in-law told us to cut any of the flowering blooms from her garden to take home with us…and I couldn’t.SAMSUNG They still looked so pretty and even though they aren’t going to last much longer, I kept remembering the signs around the highway about leaving the flowers for all to enjoy. So, though these flowers are not part of that project and are my m-i-l’s and maybe the only creatures who will be around to enjoy them before they die are the blue jays and squirrels…I left them as is.

Which reminded me of something I told the attendees at the library chat. I think my only real rebellion in my life was when I went against my dad’s wishes and went to college as an English major instead of Business! There’s not even a little bit of bad girl in me.

How about you? Are you a rebel or a rule-follower?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Rebel or Rule-Follower?

  1. I’m a rebel as is shown in my “Immortal Relations” series; however, I’m a rebel who fights for freedom from repressive Marxist governments and their self-important petty dictators. Date: Mon, 8 Apr 2013 08:40:02 +0000 To: gog6692@msn.com

  2. Teresa Hughes says:

    I tend to be a rebel which drives my father who is a minister crazy! I am the only of his kids to enjoying partying when I was younger, the only one who refused to go to college right after high school and the only kid in my family to a get a divorce. Of course all of that was when I was younger and now that I am older I realized that rebelling wasn’t the smartest thing I could have done. But, I still enjoy being a rebel whenever I can.

  3. Trish Jensen says:

    Christie:
    Rebel as a teenager for sure. But a bad one. For some reason my attempts at acts of rebellion usually turned into family jokes and folk-lore rather than the exasperation I was looking for. I’m a real disappointment as a “bad girl.”
    Trish

  4. Rosemary K. says:

    I’m an unexciting rule follower. Guilt is my master.

  5. Kathleen O says:

    I have always been a little bit of a rebel. I have followed the rules in most things in life, but there have been a few times when that little devil inside me takes over and says, “Let’s go have some fun”, and some rules are broken… but is that not what life is all about….

  6. Mona Kekstadt says:

    I’m a little of both. I love going out and having fun with by girlfriends. When I was in high school I was always a rebel…one of my girlfriends is a rebel and everyone says she is a bad influence on me. Seriously!!! Were adults and we don’t break rules. So no harm…life is about going out and enjoying it have fun!!! That’s what we do.

  7. TrishJ says:

    OMGoodness. I am such a rule follower. When I was dating my curfew was 11:30. My date and I got stuck in traffic and I was 10 minutes late. I was such a dufus. I woke my mom up to tell her why I was late. At least my folks never had to worry about me, right?

    • Mona Kekstadt says:

      Her is a funny story…on my very first date I didn’t have to wake my mom up..her, my dad and my uncle from Germany were outside waiting on the front porch for me. We got lost! No joke…

  8. leannebanks says:

    I’m a little of both, but more of a rule follower. The older I get, the more I’m okay breaking some rules. I only go about 8 miles over the speed limit because I don’t want to get a ticket and I haven’t gotten one yet, but it’s only a matter of time. :) I do not park in handicapped spaces, but I will park in those spaces that say they’re for a mother with children. Those spaces were not available to me when I was pregnant or had children, so I figure I have some making up to do. lol I will occasionally eat chocolate for breakfast and ice cream for dinner. I used to be more into suffering through a bad social situation. Now, I will sometimes just leave after giving my excuses. VERY freeing! I admire rule breakers (as long as they’re not butting in line in front of me.lol).

  9. Kylie Brant says:

    Oh I have a rebel streak in me :) though by and large I’m a rule follower. When it suits me! But I’m with you–I could not cut those flowers. I have lots of gardens at home with beautiful flowers but I never cut them and take them in the house. I enjoy them so much more if I go outside and see them in their natural spot, with all the others growing nearby.

  10. christieridgway says:

    I’m quite impressed by all you rebels! Like Rosemary upthread, guilt is my master. Not sure eating chocolate for breakfast qualifies as rebel status, though. Makes me think of my s-i-l, who puts the capital G in Good Girl. She introduced me to pumpkin pie for breakfast on the Friday after Thanksgiving. My mother was scandalized!

  11. Trish Jensen says:

    LOL, I’m such a “by the rules” person it’s disgusting. But just remembered a funny. For my parents’ 50th anniversary the entire family took a cruise. For fun I made up a quiz consisting of questions about my parents’ four kids. One of the questions was, “Which one of your children has spent a night in jail?” I was appalled when every single person chose me. It was a trick question. None of us had. But really, how insulting.

    However, whenever a crime happens in this tiny ‘burb, my first thought is always, “Do I have an alibi for that time frame?” Obviously I watch too many true crime shows. I rarely go out, never answer my phone, etc. But I always smile thinking that my computer history will always alibi me out of being a suspect. :)

    Trish, the hermit, but at least I’ll always have an alibi thanks to Lulu my ‘puter

  12. Quilt Lady says:

    A little in between for me, I guess I was a rule follower when I was younger but a rebel now.

  13. Lois Greiman says:

    Good blog. It’s something I don’t think about much, but I guess if I think I can get away with it, I’ll break a few rules. More exciting that way.

  14. michelehauf says:

    Does rebel have to imply something wrong or bad? I think not. I think I’m a rebellious rule follower, says the chick who finally found the perfect shade of purple for her hair. ;-)

  15. I was the kid who scolded her parents for coming home late. Good girl to the core. And then I shocked everyone and defied my parents by marrying an Indian cowboy. But I still can’t cut the daffodils. I want them to bloom where they’re planted–in my yard, at least. I’ll be really be cheering them this year when they finally bloom. Loud enough to shock the neighbors. (That’s not against the rules, is it?)

Leave a Reply

