Let’s hear it for the Amazing Tara Janzen!!!!

TJpubphoto

Dragons, and Druids, and Danger…Oh, My!

A long time ago, in a land far, far away, in a hidden room that bore a striking resemblance to a single-car garage with indoor/outdoor carpeting, a desk, more M&Ms than made sense, and a space heater, a slightly obsessed women with wild hair and an over-active imagination transported herself eight hundred years back into the past for the adventure of a lifetime. Six years after the date of her original departure, she returned from medieval Wales with an extra ten pounds packed onto her small frame (inevitable), an intense longing for a battle sword (still unfulfilled), and a story – thank goodness.

It’s a journey writers make every day, just doing their bit for the betterment of all mankind. John Cheever said, “Fiction is art and art is the triumph over chaos…to celebrate a world that lies spread out around us like a bewildering and stupendous dream.”

Books as a triumph over the chaos in our lives – we’ve all been there, where the break we need in our day, where the solace we need to go on can be found in a story. Or if something inside us craves an adventure beyond our means or situation, we can skim across the surface of a hundred stories, reading blurbs, looking at covers, until we find the one that takes hold and blossoms in our mind. Your boyfriend doesn’t look like Channing Tatum? No problem. Go read a Cindy Gerard book and celebrate the world via one of her awesomely stupendous dreams.

channing-tatum-gq-magazine-august-2009-04

For my newest ebook releases, THE CHALICE TRILOGY: THE CHALICE AND THE BLADE – Book 1, DREAM STONE – Book 2, and PRINCE OF TIME – Book 3, the journey to medieval Wales began with dreaming about castles and progressed to traveling to modern day Wales to the castle of my dreams – Chepstow, a ruined fortress overlooking the River Wye.

220px-Chepstow_Castle_(Wales)

I knew there would be Druids in the story, but the dragons took me completely by surprise, as did the sorcerer I found in the castle tower, Dain Lavrans, a warrior of unsurpassed skill and deadly grace, a Crusader who came back from the Holy Land a changed man – a man who finds his own surprise in the mysterious woman who has been captured in the forest and given into his keeping. Theirs is a lushly erotic love story bound by redemption and destiny…THE CHALICE AND THE BLADE.

TaraJanzen_Chalice_200px

 

In DREAM STONE, an ancient priestess will set the young warrior Mychael and an elfin girl, Llynya, to the deadly task of their fate. They must call forth the dragons and face an unimaginable evil. But even as he brings the great and mighty dragons to heel, Mychael knows the cost of battle will be dear, and the price he must pay for victory will change him forever.

TaraJanzen_Dreamstone_200px

 

Ten thousand years in the future, sought across the vast reaches of time and space by a ruthless villain known as the Warmonger, only the priestess Avallyn can keep a dark and ancient enemy from destroying the world – and only by conquering his deepest fears and darkest memories can Morgan ab Kynan fulfill his destiny to take her back to the distant past as the PRINCE OF TIME.

TaraJanzen_PrinceofTime_200pxic

 

Books as refuge, solace, adventure, escape, when I find a great one, I go back to it again and again. I have some books I’ve literally worn out and had to repurchase.

How about you? What books have you read more than once? Let me know by leaving a comment, and I’ll draw a winner for a free ebook of THE CHALICE AND THE BLADE (Kindle only until April 28) or another Tara Janzen ebook listed on my website at www.tarajanzen.com

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Let’s hear it for the Amazing Tara Janzen!!!!

  1. Stonehawk says:

    There isn’t a book I like that I can’t stop reading due to that its a webblog. This webblog actually. I love reading it every morning for news on stuff. Its fun.

  2. Kathleen O says:

    I have re-read Skye O’Malley many times over. I always wanted to be her, she was Captain of her own ship and her exploits on the high seas were an adventure every time..

    • Tara Janzen says:

      Hi Kathleen — Oh, how I loved all those sweeping sagas of love and adventure in exotic lands, but I never read Skye O’Malley! So I just went over to Amazon and put one in my cart. Sometimes its a great idea to go back and read the classics ;-)

  3. kp says:

    Son of the Morning by Linda Howard……love this book!

  4. Easy answer. YOUR books. You are an amazing writer, with such a wide scope. I can’t wait to read your new ones, and always wonder what you’ll come up with next!

    • Tara Janzen says:

      Thanks, Roxanne – this is so encouraging! I am working on a new series with lots of edge-of-your-seat adventure, a splash of history and mystery, hot romance, and an evocative, alluring journey — geez, makes me want to get back to writing!

  5. loisgreiman says:

    Thanks so much for joining us, Tara. Love the book descriptions.

  6. Lisa says:

    Oh my, don’t even get me started Tara, you’re the best author EVER!!! I love all your Crazy books, heck I love everything you write. I’d be happy if you released a book every week! haha! Besides you, along with me, love all the “attributes” of Jason Behr (ahem, Christian Hawkins)!!!

    • Tara Janzen says:

      Hi babe! — Thanks for dropping by the convertible today — oh, yes, my dear Jason….uh, Johnny Ramos :-) I think I’ve got a place in the new series for that boy.

      • Lisa says:

        Oh really? There can never be enough Jason/Christian/Johnny!!! Can’t figure out why he isn’t in more main stream movies and he’s not voted “the Sexiest Man Alive” by People magazine. Btw, I just finished “Crazy Hot” again, my goodness lady, you can write one heck of a story. I’m on to “Crazy Cool” now, and we both know how I feel about Superman Hawkins!!! :)

  7. Cindy Beal says:

    C. L. Wilson’s, Tairen Soul series. My Favorite paranormal series has been read at least five times. Yes, the whole series. I am happily gobbling up other books while I impatiently wait for her release of the “Winter King” series. Tara’s work seems very intriguing and I can’t wait to discover all that waits in her world. Thanks for the tip!

    Cindy Beal
    Bailey, CO

  8. Tara Janzen says:

    Hi Cindy from Bailey! Another Colorado girl :-) The C. L. Wilson books look awesome — you’ve got me thinking if I’ve ever read a book five times. I’ve read lots of books three times, but I think you’ve got me beat with the Tairen Soul series.Thanks for dropping by!

  9. Prince of Time is one of my favorite time travel books. I am reading The Chalice and the Blade and loving it.

  10. Druids! Gotta get this one. Druids have always fascinated me.
    Opened this up this morning and chuckled aloud. I’m in the middle of creating Oz in my living room for granddaughter’s 9th birthday party. It’s a sleepover. Girls and gabbing and giggling, Oh my!
    Welcome, Tara! I think you’re the first guest who’s brought her own car. Vroom, vroom.

  11. Tara Janzen says:

    Hi Kathleen – Oh, my, indeed, lucky grandma! An Oz bday party with sleepover — sounds like heaven, a houseful of 9 yr. old girls :-) And geez, I wish that was my pony car!

  12. Amy P. says:

    Your books sound awesome . . . and as I’m here because of shout out by Cindy Gerard I don’t mind saying I’ve read all of her bodyguard and black ops series multiple times. I do the same with LInda Howard and Susan Mallery and Katie McAlister. Once I find an author I like, the stories are like comfort food to me. I just love to revisit them again and again!

  13. Liesa says:

    I have read and re-read all the Black Dagger Brotherhood books!
    I love to read, its my escape!!

    • Tara Janzen says:

      Hi Liesa — I’m absolutely positive that escaping into a great book is waaaaaaay better for you than a lot of things folks get into – and Yea! for the Black Dagger Brotherhood!

  14. Barbara Erwin says:

    I’ve read all your books multiple times. They are one of my go-to sets of books. Other gotta re-read it favorites are Sharon Lee and Steve Miller’s Liaden books and Patty Briggs books. There are tons more but those are my most favorites!

  15. Tara Janzen says:

    Hi Barbara — I’m thrilled you’ve been reading my books over again :-) Love the idea of “go-to” sets of books. These are even a little bit closer to our hearts than even our Keeper Shelf!

  16. Rachel / aussiebookchic says:

    Your books are ones I re-read often, especially Crazy Hot, but I also re-read Cherry Adair’s, JR Ward’s, Jill Shalvis and Rachel Gibson’s books. I love them all :)

  17. GunDiva says:

    I do love the CRAZY/LOOSE series and have read it multiple times. I’m going to be Skeeter when I grow up. ;)

    When I was younger, I read Robert McCammon’s SWAN SONG so often that the binding literally fell apart and then was held together with athletic tape until it started losing pages. I was devastated until I found a used copy on Amazon.

  18. I not to mention my friends appeared to be analyzing the best suggestions located on your web site and then at once developed a horrible suspicion I never thanked the website owner for those secrets. These ladies were for this reason joyful to read through all of them and have simply been taking pleasure in those things. Thanks for really being very kind and also for going for this sort of incredible subjects most people are really eager to be aware of. Our honest apologies for not expressing appreciation to sooner.

Leave a Reply

