Happy Valentine’s Day!

Happy Valentines Day  MP900441020I hope you all have a lovely Valentine’s Day!  Do you have any special plans for tonight or this weekend?

My dh is out of town, but this weekend we’re going ball room dancing–something we rarely do anymore, unless we’re at a wedding and the DJ slips in a bit of the right music. We’ll be rusty, but this event is already bringing back a lot of great memories of visits to my dh’s family in far-western Minnesota during our dating days.

There really wasn’t much to do for entertainment in those very rural areas, but on Saturday nights the whole family would go dancing (at least, everyone old enough to get into the Legion or other places with a live band)  and they were good at it.  I’d never realized how dizzying and exhilarating it was to waltz with someone who was an expert.  I think that was when my future dh literally swept me off my feet.  :)

All wasn’t totally traditional romance, however.  I remember our first Valentine’s Day valentine couple MP900440959while dating.  I received the most mysterious, oddly shaped package–long, with odd bends in it–and figured it might be some strange sculpture.  When I unwrapped it, I still didn’t know what it was.  It was a piece of new exhaust pipe for underneath my elderly ’67  Chevy pickup.  :)

Since it’s Valentine’s Day, I would love to hear about some of your fun, or silly or truly romantic memories!

On another note,  Lois talked about bookcovers on the blog this week.  I’m not sure if you’ve read the comments on that post, but I left one mentioning my most memorable cover disasters:  the wrong mountain range on a book set in Montana–a detail which earned the book a truly vituperative review on Amazon–and the cringe-worthy case of a backwards cowboy hat on another book.

I was the only one bothered by that awful hat, I guess, because I never received any reader mail on that little detail….but I showed horses for over twenty years, and a backwards hat in the world of quarter horse shows would certainly give someone a reputation they’d want to forget.  Every time I signed one of those books, I stuck a “Signed by Author” gold sticker over the hat.   :)

Though I don’t have any new releases out this year, Harlequin is re-releasing a couple of my books this spring. A nice surprise, and they even gave the books new covers–which is even nicer!

OPERATIONS TEXAS  9780373826063_DIROne of those re-releases is out this month and is for sale on eHarlequin.com website.

I’m pretty sure my hero and heroine never rode a horse bareback together in Operation: Texas, but I’m glad they did so on the cover.  For here–happy days!–there is a nice, properly situated western hat, and an even nicer looking cowboy beneath it.   Whew!

So….back to Valentine’s Day and romance, do you have any fun memories to share?

Leave a comment!  I’ll draw a name on Monday from those who do, and the winner will receive a book from my backlist–s/he can choose the title. The list is on my website at   http://www.roxannerustand.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Happy Valentine’s Day!

  1. leannebanks says:

    Happy Valentines Day Rox! Love the exhaust pipe story!:)We will celebrate by taking a trip to Key West after I finish this book! I can’t wait!:)

  2. Wow—that is one very nice celebration!! I hope you both have a lovely time!

  3. Kathleen O says:

    I would love it if someone would taking me dancing. I love to dance. But I am going to a function on Saturday night with my friends at our Legion. And I am sure I will get in a dance or two by one of my friends husbands. Being single at these functions can be a drag sometime, and I didn’t want to go, but one of my friends is spending her first Valentine’s Day without her husband who passed away this summer and I am going for moral support.
    One of the best Valentine’s Day I spent was the night I went to see Ricky Nelson. My brother and some friends had a extra ticket and asked me if I wanted to go. I said for sure and it was the last time we ever saw him perform as he died at the end of that year. But it was a fun night and it is one I will always remember…
    Happy Valentine’s Day and I hope you spend it to day doing something you love and with someone you love… Me, I am going to a doctor’s appointment and then out to buy a new computer…

    • I love hearing old Ricky Nelson songs on the radio–doesn’t happen often, but he had such a beautiful voice. You were lucky to see him!

      How sweet of you to go with your friend to help her through this first romantic holiday as a widow. I hope you have a wonderful time!

      And hey, the doctor’s appt might not be much fun, but going to get a new computer sounds exciting!!!

    • Greta says:

      My high school French teacher used to play Ricky Nelson records in class every once in a while. He had a beautiful voice–I still love hearing his songs on the radio. (And his guitar player was incredible.)

  4. Those chocolate covered strawberry ads on TV are looking mighty good. Oh, hush my mouth. I did say no chocolate, didn’t I? (Trying to shed pounds.) So far this morning my dh has given me a clear driveway. And you should see the gift Nature delivered this morning. Every tree, every branch frosted with snow. Beautiful. Maybe my cowboy delivered that, too. He did hang the moon.

  5. Cindy Gerard says:

    Happy Valentine’s day everyone. Love the exhaust pipe story Rox! Our best Valentine ever arrived the day after Valentine’s day – Our youngest grandchild, Hailey Brianne will be 5 tomorrow. That can’t be! She’s our baby :o)

    • What a perfect Valentine’s Day present five years ago!

      You have the most ADORABLE grandkids, Cindy. i still remember your cool post about letting them run free and have adventures at your place in the country. What great memories they will have of you and Tom!

  6. Minna says:

    Happy Valentines Day! Here in Finland it’s not really Valentines Day, it’s Friend’s Day.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Valentine%27s_Day#Europe

  7. loisgreiman says:

    I’m spending the evening with my granddaughter on her very first Valentines Day. Got her a pair of pink cowboy boots. Tee hee.

  8. kylie brant says:

    When we were first married I made the mistake of saying flowers were too expensive. That was the last time he bought me roses ) The man who can’t remember what I said a minute ago had a loooong memory when it came to not buying flowers! I finally had to gently tell him several years ago that if he was buying flowers for all the people in his office he really ought to be buying me some too. I just had a lovely bouquet delivered :) But we don’t do a whole lot for Valentine’s Day. He splurges elsewhere in the year and has excellent taste in jewelry!

    • Roxanne says:

      Yes indeed—I’ve seen some of the gorgeous pieces he has given you, and he does have amazing taste in fine jewelry!! :)

      LOL on the long-term memory regarding the flowers!

  9. CateS says:

    Now I’m curious… how could you tell the hat was on backwards… I buy chocolate for him, mostly because I know he’ll share….

    • Roxanne says:

      Hi Cate. The hat was of a style such that the higher part of the crown should have been at the front. And, well….it was a dorky hat anyway. :) I think the Harlequin cover artists often do an amazing job, but I don’t think the one who did the hat had been outside of the city much, bless his heart. :)

  10. Laney4 says:

    This year’s story is amusing. I bought yellow carnations for myself on Monday. On Wednesday I bought purply carnations for my DH’s dental receptionist for his appointment this morning. The receptionist has worked there over 30 years, is close to retirement IF she takes it, has been divorced for eons, and I just love her sense of humour. Figured the flowers would cheer her up. Put her flowers in with mine, with hers still in the cellaphane, to keep them wet. Told DH to take hers out (holding up hers to show him) in the morning. Long before I awoke, he took flowers to the receptionist. Came home and told me she loved them, was thrilled, and had only received flowers once (from her ex of two years’ marriage). Made for lively conversation in the waiting room too. A couple of hours after he came home, I realized there were no flowers in my vase! Yup. He gave her both bouquets! After calling him every name under the sun, so to speak, HE decided to go buy me another bouquet. Good luck with that, as I had a hard time finding them earlier in the week in our town. I suggested where I got them yesterday – in a town 15 minutes away. I bundled up 8 oatmeal raisin cookies I had baked so that we could deliver them to good friends of ours afterward, making the trip more worthwhile. Fine. Bought myself yellow carnations and headed to friends’ place. Not home. Probably visiting his mom who is dying of leukemia. Phoned to see if we could visit; yes. Went to take cookies in as a treat for them (the family is taking turns caring for the mom) and decided we should give her the yellow carnations too. Was told yellow is her favourite colour for flowers; perfect. Had a nice visit with family and got a text that our son wouldn’t be home for supper, nor would our daughter. Perfect. We’ll drive to another town 15 minutes further to our favourite restaurant. On the way we changed it to a new restaurant instead. It was lovely. Good prices. Reasonable portions. Excellent service. Tasty food. Huge tip. No flowers, but well worth all the changed plans today….

    • LOL on the flowers….but that surely will be something that woman remembers fondly forever, and that’s sweet. And cookies plus flowers for the family during their sad vigil was so sweet of you. And you even discovered a great new restaurant. Sounds like a wonderful day! :)

  11. Kirsten says:

    I don’t think I ever had a fun thing happen on Valentine’s day. Always been single, drinking special tea and over eating chocolates. I do remember getting pretty Valentines cards, from dad. He felt bad about it I guess and used to send me one.

    • Overeating chocolate sounds like a fine way to spend the day! :) How sweet of your dad to think of you on Valentine’s day….wonderful memories, I’m sure. Valentine’s Day is sort of a difficult day for a lot of people I think….whether they are single, divorced or widowed…or just not that happy in the couple status that they are in. I like Minna’s comment about the tradition in Finland being a “Friend’s Day” instead. That would be so much more inclusive!

  12. laurieg72l says:

    When we were first married and quite poor we went to concerts offered by a local university. We always tried to pick one out for Valentine’s weekend. Over the years we saw Loggins and Messina,, Leo Kottke, Grass, Food & Lodging and Speeris & Voudouris. Not all well known but quite enjoyable.

    Lately we buy CDs to celebrate our love of music. The Madhatters, Phantom of the Opera, Rent, Mama Mia, Lady GaGa, Rob Thomas, Adele, David Gray, Leo Kottke etc.

    As a side note we saw Ricky Nelson preform at Summerfest!

Leave a Reply

