The Loop

home firesI know they say we’re not supposed to judge  a book by its cover…but we all do to a certain degree because there’s really not that much to judge a book on besides its cover. True, you’ve got the blurb on the back, and if you have time you can read a few pages before buying, but most of us are in a hurry to relax. :) So the majority of novel purchases are determined by things that the author had practically no influence on. It’s natural then, I suppose, for writers to be a little nervous about the cover art. That’s why I’ve been asking my editor for months if she had seen any sketches for my June release. Last we spoke, she had not. So imagine my surprise when, a few days ago while blogging on another site, I saw that the site’s host had put up a pic of my next cover.

Maybe after 30 books and a host of weird happenings, I shouldn’t have been surprised, but I was. Doesn’t it seem a tad bit odd that the publishing team can decide on a concept, the artist can produce the cover, and marketing can get the results up on the internet without the author being involved at all?

More than once I’ve asked my editor to simply tell me what was going to be on the cover so that I could make sure the scene pops into the book somewhere along the line. So far I’ve had no takers.

finding homeLuckily, I love the cover…again…even though it has virtually nothing to do with the contents of the book. Shrug.

So how about you? Do you ever feel you’re so far out of the loop you’re not even sure there is  a loop? Or do you always have your finger on the pulse?

www.loisgreiman.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to The Loop

  1. Liz Flaherty says:

    I’ve never had a cover I thought was even remotely related to anything I would have chosen, though I’ve ended up liking about half of them. If there’s a loop involved, I’ve certainly never been included! :-) Yours are beautiful, BTW!

    • loisgreiman says:

      I’m so glad to hear that, Liz. I hate to feel alone. But this is preferable to a lot of covers. I’ve had the wrong name on the back of the book, the wrong hair color, and then, of course, the just plain weird covers.

  2. Kylie Brant says:

    You lucked out, Lois, it’s a gorgeous cover! But you’re right…it’s very very weird. Almost willfully cutting you out of the loop. Your editor has a lot of ‘splaining to do!

  3. GORGEOUS cover, Lois. I’ve been happy with a lot of my covers–more so at Love Inspired than my previous covers. But I’ve had some doozies. For my second one, a book set in Montana, I sent oodles of photos and descriptions, since I’ve seen a lot of awful ranch-theme covers–with cowboys on English saddles, riding with halter instead of bridles…reins that attach nowhere….

    So I tried really hard to provide websites and photos to circumvent that possibility. I was appalled and embarrassed when they gave me a guy who looked like a computer nerd, with his cowboy hat on BACKWARDS. And on one book set in Montana, the cover art was of the Maroon Bells in Colorado. For that one, I got the most vituperative, lengthy review on Amazon–its author said she would never again read a book by me or my publisher, ever. She went on to say she would never read this book either, if I was too stupid to know that the cover art was of mountains in Colorado. She was soooo scathing that Amazon took the review down!

  4. Both covers are gorgeous, and best of all, they stand out from everything else out there. They’re fresh and new and so beautiful! Top it all off with LOIS GREIMAN and the package is irresistible.

  5. Nora Braun says:

    It must be one of those “need to know” basis and you just didn’t need to know :-). Luckily it turned into a beautiful cover. I’m sensing a trend — people in NoDak eat outside under the trees a lot! Better put an upscale picnic scene in :-)
    Being out of the loop for me is always a family thing — I told you they were coming but you never listen! Or the infamous “we talked about it” as he shows me a picture of the fishing boat he just bought….. Guess I didnt need to know — either that or after he told me he’d have to shoot me. Sometimes it might be better to be out of the loop!

    • loisgreiman says:

      :) I like the ‘we’ve talked about it’ too. Especially when we talked about it and I said no and it shows up in my pasture anyway. Oh…actually, I guess I do that more than he does.

  6. Cindy Gerard says:

    great cover Lois. I agree. You lucked out …. but it does seem odd you were left out of the decision making.

  7. michelehauf says:

    Is there a loop? Huh.
    That cover is, again, gorgeous. Just like the first, very eye-catching. Makes you just want to grab it off the shelf if you walk by it in a bookstore, or browse in a cyber-store. Congrats!

  8. leannebanks says:

    I LOVE the cover, but sorry you got let out. My covers are always a surprise even though I have to fill out lots of info about “possible” cover art. I just have to grit my teeth when they do something that’s not in the book at all! I just tell myself that I can only control what -I- can control. Must let the rest go.

  9. loisgreiman says:

    I lobbied pretty hard for horses on the cover the first time. Maybe they got tired of that???

  10. Quilt Lady says:

    Honey I stay out of the loop. I never know what’s going on. I can’t believe they do authors that way though.

  11. Nicole says:

    I always thought that the author had the final say in the cover. I truly feel they should, after all that’s their story we’re reading.
    I just started to read Finding Home, I thought that scene was related to the book. :)
    That is a great cover. It would catch my eye in a store which ultimately is the goal.

  12. loisgreiman says:

    Thanks Nicole. Hope you enjoy Home.

Leave a Reply

