Debra – More eye candy . . . sort of. And “Fortune favors the pushy.”

What have I been doing lately?  Not watching enough TV and movies because most of Lois’ men (like how I describe them?) had me completely befuddled.  How could I not know them?  Abs and body language are like fingerprints.  Those men have a certain something in common but they are so distinctive.  I’m making a note to myself to watch more movies!

But that will have to wait for a bit.  Friday afternoon, for the third consecutive week, I am hitting the road.  This time to Florida to pick up a lil’ dude of my own.  Why?  Over a year ago, we had to say goodbye to my seventeen-year-old, Critter.  He slept in the bed with me every night like a teddy bear, under the covers.  When he died, I thought we’d just hang out with our young cat Lucky (2 years) and our dog Sweetie.  But Lucky’s idea of cuddling is to perch on the corner of the bed ready to run if you move a muscle in the night.  I’ve given her more than a year to shape up and become the lap cat I demand.  In true cat fashion, she laughed and continued to perch in the vicinity, but never really *on* me.  We tried a grown cat a friend had wanted to place but she wasn’t quite right for us.

So, I’m getting a Maine Coon kitten.  I’ve wanted one ever since I can remember.  Huge cats (males are 16-20-ish pounds and that’s not fat).  They are laid back as rule.  We’ve found a breeder who spends an excessive amount of time with the babies so that they have the most amazing people oriented personalities.

His name is Leo.

I’m so excited!  Except for the getting ready for the new baby.  I’ve already bought the $ 7,342 worth of crap I have to have.  (Just kidding…sort of.) He has special food and special supplements and special wheat cat litter.  Wheat??!  (Very expensive and I’m not thrilled with the reviews so we’ll be transitioning to our normal litter at some point!)  We have his harness and lead and small crate and supplies for his ten hour car trip home.  I’ve read all the literature.  (Like that is a surprise.)

Isn’t he handsome?

My old cat was a red tabby.  I really didn’t want another right after him.  And the breeder I had picked out didn’t have any cats available now.  I figured 6 months from now I’d be getting a cat and that was okay with me.

But I saw a picture of him and said, “That’s my cat.”

The breeders said, “Uh, no.  That’s our cat.  He’s not available.”

I said, “You could change your mind.”

They said, “Don’t hold your breath.”

I said, “I’m giving you a deposit anyway.  For him.  For a future litter.  I want to be first in line.”

They said, “We don’t like to take deposits on future litters, but we’ll put you on a list.”

I said, “Do you want a check or a money order, because I’m sending a deposit.  For him.  For a future litter.  Whatever.”

They sighed and said, “Fine.  But Flyin’ Lion isn’t for sale.”

I said, “Okay.  But I want him if you change your mind.”

And last Friday they caved.  My psychic prodding was just too much for them.  Plus, the wife finally came to grips that she couldn’t retire his daddy in order to keep Leo.  A cat breeder can’t have a ton of male cats around.  Especially if the cattery is absolutely committed to cats as members of the family.

This is where I say, “Fortune favors the pushy.”

Now wave at Leo.  I keep him on screen and when people come into my office, I make them wave at Leo.   I think they are already so over me being excited.  The waving is just half-hearted at best.  ::sigh::  So, you wave at Leo and tell him I’m a nice person he should love best.

Do you believe fortune favors the pushy?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Debra – More eye candy . . . sort of. And “Fortune favors the pushy.”

  1. loisgreiman says:

    I hope you and Leo are very happy together. He looks like the kind of cat that knows how to lie in the proper position. :)
    And yes, pushy often wins the day, but I’ve yet to master the art.

    • debradixon says:

      Thank you! I just know he’s the right one for us. And hubby thinks so too because he’s getting back in town at 7 a.m. Friday morning and we leave Friday afternoon for Florida. That’s dedication! I wasn’t waiting a moment longer and he’s okay with that. (g)

  2. Years of love and happiness for you and Leo. He’s beautiful! Where are you headed in FL to pick him up?

    • debradixon says:

      We are leaving Friday afternoon so I’m in a mad dash to clear my desk. I hadn’t planned for this trip! It’s sort of like getting the adoption call you were expecting but not really.

  3. Willa says:

    Ooooooooh – he is gor-geous! I love ginger Puddy’s! :D

    And I really believe that the wheel that squeaks the loudest gets oiled first!

    • debradixon says:

      “Ginger Puddy” LOL! Yes, he is a ginger puddy cat, huh? And, that squeaky wheel works, it’s a matter of not making people grind their teeth and still getting what you want. That’s the hard part. Being squeaky but with charm. (g)

  4. Linda says:

    He is a gorgeous boy! And it is not pushy it is persisitence, ask any cat and they will tell you that persisitence is much preferred to being pushy.
    Enjoy your new kitty.

    • debradixon says:

      Thank you. We think he’s gorgeous but we are prejudice in Leo’s favor. Persistence is a much much nicer word than pushy!

  5. leannebanks says:

    Is Leo the orange one? Who is the black one? I love both, but I’m really taken with that orange one! I hope he will be a wonderful snuggle bug! And yes, I do believe fortune favors the pushy, persistent and passionate. YAY for you and Leo!:) xo, Leanne

    • debradixon says:

      Leo is the orange. His daddy is the black cat, but when he was young. He has more coat now. It takes the Maine Coon about 3 – 4 years to really mature. I have no idea how Leo will turn out but he just had me at hello. I can’t explain it!

  6. Teresa Hill says:

    Hi Leo,
    He looks properly disdainful of anyone except a very determined woman who knows exactly what she wants. I believe he’ll find you worthy of his very special love.
    He reminds me of my Inky, who weighs 18 pounds and the vet was amazed to feel him up and discover he was all muscle. (Well, of course. He’s a giant black panther kitty, a ferocious hunter.)
    It must be kitty time, because my son and his girlfriend adopted two five-month-old kitties yesterday, a brother-sister pair, one mostly black and a little white, one mostly white and a little black. They’d wanted kitties for so long and finally found an apartment that would let them have pets.

  7. Hey, handsome, that’s one very nice tail you have there. What’s that? Flattery is useless? To flatter is human; to ignore, feline–I get it. But do be gentle with your new human. One of the many things we love about DD is that she doesn’t take no for an answer. But I can see the response in your eyes. “What part of no…”

  8. I am soooo excited for you! I’ve wanted a Maine Coon or a ragdoll cat forever. Forever and ever. I so miss my calico house cat, who passed on a couple years ago. But our new son in law is terribly allergic to cats, so now I have to just enjoy the barn kitties and be content. :( I hope you will post lots of photos of your new sweetie!!

    • debradixon says:

      Roxanne– I will absolutely post pictures. :) The choices for me were down to a Maine Coon or a Ragdoll. The Ragdoll was obviously about getting that lap cat. But my husband likes a cat with attitude so I thought the Maine Coon would make him as happy as me.

  9. kylie brant says:

    Yes definitely pushy + nice pays off! Have fun with your new pet. I’ve never been a cat person but if I got one it would be the kind that looks like a little cheetah :)

    • debradixon says:

      ooh, Kylie. I love the Geoffrey, Savannahs, etc. But they were about $9,000 !! For the type I researched. I decided that I had to move on.

  10. Trish Jensen says:

    LOL, Deb! Leo is indeed gorgeous, :::waving::: Hi, Leo! I hope you’re prepared to buy new bed sheets if the ones you use now don’t suit him. My kitty would not sleep with me unless I had the flannel winter sheets on the bed. 90 degrees outside in August, and I was sleeping in flannel bed sheets because Foxy refused to sleep on anything else.
    I’m not particularly pushy because I’m too shy. But I’ve never had a kitty or a dog for that matter who wasn’t. Which leads to the inevitable conclusion that my animals are smarter than I am. Because pushy always got/gets them what they want.

    Welcome home, Leo!

  11. Quilt Lady says:

    Hi Leo, so glad to meet you. Enjoy your new Leo and take good care of him. So glad you got the cat you wanted.

  12. SO jealous! Lots of pictures, please. Sparkle is waving hello. :-)

  13. michelehauf says:

    Oh, kitties! I love them. And so sad for your dearly departed. I have a 16 year old that is slowly going a little bonkers. Meowing at all hours of day and night for no reason. It won’t be long. And I have a 3 year old who is my teddy bear. Curls up under my arm at night for the long sleep. Aren’t cats great? The next cat I want is a sphynx. Those wrinkly nekkid things. They look so cute! But a lot of upkeep, I hear.

    • debradixon says:

      Really! You like the sphynx. I think I’ve seen them. Let me go Google. Yep! That’s what I thought. What a hoot. But I hope you buy lots of sweaters for the winter!

  14. Nikki H says:

    I’m so happy for you! We had a mix w/ some Maine Coon. She hung around outside our house for a couple of years–someone had dumped her and her sister. She wouldn’t let us get near her, and then she got injured and let me nurse her and bring her inside. I showed her the litter box and she never went outside again. She followed me from room to room wherever I went, and slept on my pillow, in my face. I adored her. The rest of my family couldn’t have cared less. But we bonded, she and I. I hope you bond with yours like that.

  15. LindaC says:

    Congratulations! He is so handsome. We had a Maine Coon for 14 years. His name was Justin and he was such a lover. He would get into my lap and put his arms around my neck, nuzzle my face. I really miss him and am hoping to get another one at some point in the future. We have two other cats, but they get into our laps only so often and it’s definitely on their terms.
    May your family and Leo have many happy, healthy years together!!

    LindaC

Leave a Reply

