Hello Spring!

fernroom

No, I’m not trying to depress all who are sitting amidst snow and clouds and winter doldrums.  I’m just trying to invoke the warm weather a little faster by putting out a cheeky greeting this morning.  Hey, Spring, stop on by.  Sit down.  Stay a while.

Because seriously?  I’m so tired of winter.  Yes, already.  Heck, it’s been cold since October.  So I’m counting that as three and a half months of winter so far.  With another three before me, for sure.  Is it too much to ask for a reprieve like we had in February a few years ago when the thermometer hit the seventies?  I will NEVER forget those surprising days of warmth.

Sigh…

A friend visited me last week and we headed to the Como Park Conservatory for a brief respite from winter.  Inside the Fern Room (where I took the pic above) it was humid and hot, and we had to take off our winter coats!  It smelled like summer, like green things that liked to twine and twist toward the sun, and I didn’t want to leave.  It did wonders for my winter woes.

So tell me how you cope with the dark months?  What do you do to lift your spirits while you wait for the warm?

Michele

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Hello Spring!

  1. Kylie Brant says:

    Michele, it seems like Nov-Dec are so filled with holiday rush that I don’t notice the winter. Then January settles in. Sigh. But by this time we usually have our spring break plans made so it’s two months of dreaming about Mexico… But geez Jan-Feb. can draaaaaaag can’t they????

  2. leannebanks says:

    Michele, we actually just experienced 71 degrees on Sunday. Of course, it’s supposed to snow tonight and we’re due to get hit with an Arctic blast next week.:) What gets me through winter is my gas fireplace and planning an escape trip to somewhere warm. Key West, here we come in February!

  3. Where do you live, Michele? Cold since October? Halloween was almost as beautiful this year as it was last year. I have the pictures to prove it. And we’ve had some record-breaking warmth since. Okay, so we’ve also had some amazing temp surges and plunges withing a matter of hours, which probably isn’t so good for our easily confused bodies, but it gives us something to talk about, don’cha know.

    A trip to the conservatory or the MN zoo is an excellent idea. I love that earthy smell. But I still have to get the grandkids down to the Mall of America to see the ice castles. Before they melt!

    • michelehauf says:

      Ha! Well I count it cold as soon as I have to bring in my plants for the winter, which was October. ANd yes, the winter has been mild, but still COLD!
      We also did the Mall ‘O ice castle when friends were in town. Uh…I sat in the car while they each spent $11 each to race through the less than impressive ‘castle’. It was very cold that night, and they only lasted ten minutes. I keep hearing on the news that the castle will be ‘real impressive’ toward the end of the season after they’ve had enough cold weather to ‘grow’ it higher. Erm. Ok.
      But. I imagine it is a wonder for kids, so I would tell you to definitely take them; they’ll probably love every minute.

  4. Oh, hey, what about getting through the winter on stories? Age-old tradition all over the world. Gather around the gas fireplace and tell stories. And be sure to jot down a few notes!

  5. Just found another suggestion in my e-mail box. “Dreaming About Warmer Weather?” It’s an ad from Famous Footwear. Sale on killer wedges. Go shoe shopping, Michele!

  6. Nora Braun says:

    After 32 years of feeling like the Minnesota winters lasted forever, I finally ….. Moved! Of course now in my second winter in Missouri, I still can’t wait for spring and think its too cold out (39 today so far). But my best winter survival method is a light box. I sit in front of it for 20 – 30 minutes in the morning and it gets my brain chemistry percolating to lift my mood. The cold still sucks but at least it doesn’t get me down! Good luck with it, Michele, and if all else fails, head south :-)

  7. Cindy Gerard says:

    I just dig in and wait it out. I’ve got to tell you though, my office aquarium has sort of helped. It’s like a little piece of the tropics right there and makes me think of summer and sun and water.

  8. ghurt110@bellsouth.net says:

    I read, read, read, So far winter has not been to bad here. I was out walking every day until the doctor told me to stop about a week ago. He says I need to ride my exercise bike now and I hate that I would rather walk in the cold. My hip is worn out so they say, time will tell what they are going to do about it. If it was in the 30′s I would get out and walk. Now this past week has been colder and we had some ice to deal with the other day. It still cold but we do have some sun shine today.

  9. I hear you about winter. I usually love it–originally coming from MInnesota, I love lots of snow and bundling up. But for three weeks I’ve had bronchitis and an exacerbation of asthma, and I’m well tired of the cold outside, which is helping this drag on and on. Spring can’t come soon enough for me!

  10. Pingback: Winter to-dos not done. | Musings Of A Daddy

Leave a Reply

