Losers

loser

 

 

 

So here’s a little something I learned about myself: I’m a terrible loser. Okay, true, I’m not a great winner either. But losing…let me tell you…it sucks. And I should know because I’ve had a boat load of practice. I mean, I am an Olympic caliber loser. I lose all the time. Writing, for instance…I have over 200 rejections. Two hundred! I don’t even think I sent manuscripts out that many times. Editors just rejected my stuff out of the blue because, you know, everybody was doing it.

 

That was hard. But that would probably be hard on any relatively normal person. Last night, though, I think I hit a new low. You see, I went to an award ceremony after which I was feeling kind of low. It wasn’t until I reached home that I realized it was because I hadn’t won anything. But here’s the funny thing–I HADN’T EVEN ENTERED. That’s right, I felt like crap that I didn’t win even though I wasn’t eligible. Hmmmm. This almost suggests that…oh I don’t know…I’m one sick puppy??

 

So I made a new year’s resolution: In 2013 I’m going to try not to be so competitive. But here’s the sickest part yet: I also plan to compete more. Now, if you asked my husband he would assure you there is no way I could fit any more competitions into my schedule since most of my events (horse shows) are on the weekends and there are, after all, a limited number of weekends in a calendar year. But that’s where he’d be wrong because voila! writing contests, for instance, can be lost any day of the week. Ditto for photography contests. Obstacle course races tend to be on weekends so they’ll have to compete with the horse show schedule, but who doesn’t feel a desperate need to crawl through the mud under barbed wire???!!

mud

So there you have it, my resolution: More competing, less competitiveness. What about you guys? Any new resolutions you totally plan to break before February?

www.loisgreiman.com

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Losers

  1. librarypat says:

    Congratulations. Enjoy all your goodies.

  2. Lee Ann says:

    Thank you! I can’t wait to receive my package! Happy New Year! :)

  3. TrishJ says:

    I am so excited!!! Thanks!!!

    TrishJ

  4. I so enjoyed your post, Lois, because it reminded me of my very first writers’ workshop. It was Midwest Fiction Writers, 1993 I believe. You were so charming and funny, talking to the rapt audience about your many rejections and dogged determination on the way to making a first sale. You totally inspired me–your words kept me dreaming and hoping until my own first sale. And the especially charming thing is that you are so humble, yet you’ve had such success. Grace and self-deprecating humor are such a wonderful combination!

  5. michelehauf says:

    I’ll totally take that challenge! What should we compete in? 5K a day? 50K a month? You always seem to polish up my competitive urge when I’m around you. That’s either good or very bad. :-O

  6. Lois, Lois, Lois, you can’t lose a judged competition. Either the judges are thoroughly knowledgeable and have excellent taste–in which case your entry receives the highest honor–or at least one of them knows nothing and is probably an avid fan of the Honey Boo Boo Show.

    Of course if it’s a race and you cross the line last, then, yeah, you lost.

    UNLESS you’re wearing your slinky outfit with your high-heeled sneakers. Style points then win the day.

  7. Quilt Lady says:

    Great post Lois, No one is really a looser its all in how you look at it.

  8. loisgreiman says:

    Ahhh, Hauf, I writing challenge. Yes, please. I must glue seat to chair forevvvvvvvver.

  9. loisgreiman says:

    Whoops, I mistyped. I meant … ‘A writing challenge.’ Man! I think I lost already.

  10. Kylie Brant says:

    It’s no big secret here that I hate to lose and bred illogically insane competitiveness into my kids. My youngest son was the type who’d flip the game board and walk away if he was losing when he was a kid. Jerk I am, however, an even worse winner. I am totally ok with standing up and doing a victory dance when I win which is nothing short of obnoxious. But hey have you ever watched some of those football players after a touch down? In comparison I don’t look so bad. But I can feel bad about myself for almost anything so I totally understand feeling blue for not winning a contest you didn’t enter. Right up my alley!

Leave a Reply

