Gratefulness, and New Year’s Resolutions!

IMG_0154Wow.  How did 2012 end so quickly?!  It seems as if it started such a short time ago, and here we are–New Year’s Eve is tonight!

How was your year?  Filled with good health, success and happiness, I hope.  I’m sure grateful for the blessings our family received.  This year we celebrated the marriages of our two younger children, and we also welcomed a new grandbaby in November.  She’s definitely keeping her fledgling parents busy,  and of course, we think she’s the cutest little dolly ever.  :)  We also feel so blessed to have had good health, and wonderful times with family throughout the year…and even had a white Christmas, as you can see in the photos.  I would love to hear about the highlights you’ve enjoyed in 2012!

While looking back over 2012 I just realized that it’s now time to start thinking about goals IMG_0151and yes, the resolutions that I never seem to keep beyond the first week in any given January.  If any of you have successfully followed through on your New Year’s resolutions I would sure love to hear about what you achieved and how you managed to stay on course, because my track record isn’t exactly sterling!

Every year I plan to lose weight.  A lot of weight.  I plan to begin walking three–no, five miles a day,  or even six.  I plan to follow a logical, stress-free writing schedule, to eliminate high-stress days and nights of writing like mad to meet a deadline.  Prompt correspondence…elimination of all clutter…the list  goes on and on.  It’s never worked before, but I guess that’s my list again this year, though  maybe there are some important things to add.  Like promising myself to be better about keeping in touch with distant relatives and friends, and taking time every week to do something fun.  It’s all too easy to become mired in the day-to-day stuff of life, isn’t it?

So, please share!  What are your own resolutions for 2013?  And what were the highlights for you in 2012?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Gratefulness, and New Year’s Resolutions!

  1. booksaver says:

    Well I’ve got to lose some weight so that’s my goal for the new year. I don’t call them resolutions anymore because they seem doomed to failure. So I call it a goal. My life is so pathetic that one of the highlights of my year was finding a new doctor who seems to care about getting me as well as I can be. This probably screams out to everyone, “she needs to get a life” and I probably do. Maybe another goal I’ll make for the new year is to do something exciting or unusual at least once a month. I’ll have to think about that. Have a happy new year everyone.

  2. Kylie Brant says:

    I’m not one to make much in the way of resolutions but it feels sublime to no longer have to make the resolution to lose weight! Writing…that has to be my resolution this year. I’ve been a bum for much too long!

  3. christieridgway says:

    2012 was the year of getting back on my feet after fracturing my tibia, having surgery, and being unable to weight on that leg for 12 weeks. I’m still in recovery mode because my limping meant I have had some tendonitis in the other foot (sigh) but I appreciate every step I take! No longer taking for granted the simplicity of walking across the street.

    Resolutions! I’m no good at them either. But we’re planning a big home remodel that will force me to stop procrastinating and do some cleaning out of closets, etc.

  4. Quilt Lady says:

    2012 was not a good year but hoping 2013 will be a better year. Had back surgery this past July now they are telling me I have a bad hip which if I do I plan on getting it fixed the first of the year. So maybe the rest of 2013 will be better. I try to walk every day but I don’t loose any weight doing this and during Christmas I didn’t get all my walks in. I try to walk two miles but lately I have been lucky to get in a mile and if the temps are below thirty I can’t take the cold that well. Rainy cold days just blows the walks away or icey streets. I am out there whenever its possible. It was in the thirties today and I went for a walk but a neighbor stopped me to talk so I didn’t get but a mile in, must start doing better on that.

  5. roxrustand says:

    Happy New Year everyone!!

Leave a Reply

