What I’m Grateful For…and Top Down’s Big Holiday Giveaway

finding home

 

So this has been an ummm interesting season for me. My latest novel, Finding Home, was just released from Kensington Books a few days after Thanksgiving, but that was hardly the most eventful part of November, because half way through the month my sister, Jan, who lives in North Dakota, was in a car accident. Her daughter, Courtney, 27 years old and pregnant, was driving. They rolled the vehicle several times but Courtney walked away without a scratch. Jan, however, shattered her third lumbar vertebra and fractured her left shoulder.

I was told about this on Sunday morning via a phone call from my mother just as I was arriving at church. When I called Jan minutes later she was pretty much inarticulate. This did not decrease my worry, but I was told that my oldest sister, Gail, who is a registered nurse and a born caregiver, was with her. I would learn a few days later that their accident took place at the exact same exit where Jan’s husband had died in a rollover fifteen years prior.

Since that phone call, I’ve been back and forth to North Dakota several times in an effort to do my part. Not that I can do much to comfort Jan. With nine pins in her shoulder and a reconstructed vertebral column, recovery is going to be slow. But I’m good with animals and okay with plants so that’s been my part. Jan has five (mostly feral) cats, eight doves, two aquariums, and literally hundreds of plants in her house. They kept me hopping. But during my last sojourn to the Dakotas, my daughter Tara, 23 and pregnant, called to tell me she was sick. Her voice was shaky. She’d been throwing up for twenty four hours, and was afraid of passing out while her husband worked the night shift. It was decided she would spend the night at my house with her father.

Worried about everything (not least of which was the fact that my husband, neither a registered nurse nor a born caregiver, was in charge of our pregnant daughter). Nevertheless, I spent the night with my sister then packed up at five in the morning and sped back home to be with Tara. Two days later she was eating broth and crackers. That’s when her two year old mare got sick. I mean really sick. With a temperature of 105, she was obviously not well. Depressed and lethargic, she refused to eat and merely stood in her stall, bottom lip drooping, eyes glazed.

We immediately put little Maggie on pain killers and antibiotics. They didn’t even make a dent in her fever. She remained all but dead to the world. We changed antibiotics, swaddled her up like an infant and prayed.

Today Maggie’s back to her usual sassy self, Tara has returned to work and Jan is able to make it up the stairs of her turncowgirl tara 033 of the century two story house under her own steam.

But I’m still a little shocky. I mean, sometimes things go awry, but do they all have to happen at once??

Still, I’m extremely thankful that my family, human and otherwise, is on the mend. I’m thrilled to be looking forward to the birth of another grandchild, and I’ve very much enjoyed spending time with the people I love the most.

So how about you? As 2012 comes to a crescendo, what are the things you appreciate the most?

TheGambler

Oh, and to celejewelbrate the holidays, we’ve put two of my old favorites on sale! The Gambler and Highland Jewel will be selling for $.99 each for a couple of weeks yet.  http://www.loisgreiman.com/index.html

And…because of the tumultuous turn my life has taken, I completely forgot to choose the winner of Top Down’s Christmas Book and Goody Basket. So if you’d like to be the recipient of twenty pounds of reading material, some bookmarks, t-shirts, book bags and other fun stuff please chime in.

Happy New Year Everyone. May your 2013 be tranquil and blessed.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to What I’m Grateful For…and Top Down’s Big Holiday Giveaway

  1. Laney4 says:

    I’m glad things seem to be improving now for you and your family, Lois. When it rains, it pours.
    My 50-year-old sis-in-law died during cancer surgery at the end of October. A woman I’ve been proud to call Mom had her heart stop at the end of November. Now I am scared about the end of December, as things happen in threes. We heard during the first week in December that my husband’s 58-year-old sis-in-law has bone cancer, so we’re mighty scared of what might happen to her, especially this week….

  2. booksaver says:

    I’m very grateful for my family and their continuing good health. My 3 year old granddaughter still has her trach and stomach tube but hopefully in the spring she will have her last surgery to repair a vocal chord. She has had a pretty good year though. My mother turned 91 in October and she continues to amaze everyone with her stamina. My family has been lucky this year and I am very grateful for that. I’m hoping that the new year will bring the best of everything for all my friends and family.

  3. Chelsea B. says:

    My family. My family. My family. I can never say that enough. They are the most important thing to me, always. :-)

  4. TrishJ says:

    Wow! What a breath holding end to 2012. Here’s hoping 2013 finds your sister up and around and a.healthy new grandbaby. My 2012 was without any major problems, praise God. I am looking forward to a marvelous 2013!! 20 lbs of books would be a great start. Happy New Year everyone!!

  5. Lee Ann says:

    I’m so sorry to hear of all of the awful accidents and events happening almost simultaneously, Lois. Some times it seems like when it rains it really does ‘pour’! I’m so glad to read that everyone and every creature appears to be doing much better now. Here’s to an upswing into a much better and Happy New Year!

  6. Nikki H says:

    I’m grateful for the health of my family. You’ve had a crappy time of it lately, and I hope things really take an upswing.

  7. Glad everyone is on the mend and you are starting to take deep breaths again. Went and got The Gambler. Sounds good. Highland Jewel sounds good, too, for historical fans.
    I thought I had read all of your contemporaries. Guess I have some research to do! The fun kind that results in more good books to read.

  8. PS forgot to add – chiming in for the 20 lbs as long as it doesn’t go to my thighs

  9. Barbara E. says:

    Happy New Year! Hoping the next year is much better than the last one, with peace and prosperity to all.

  10. Willa says:

    Oooh – what a crazy time for you and your family. Glad to hear they are all on the mend and that you have a grandbaby to look forward to. Gorgeous piccie of Maggie :D

    Oh and chiming please ;)

  11. librarypat says:

    What a way to wind up 2012! They say trouble comes in 3′s and you have certainly had yours. It seems everyone is on the mend and hopefully you can end the year quietly with no more drama.

    I appreciate having the family (our children) close enough to visit and help out when needed. My dad and most of my siblings live about 1000 miles away so it makes it a bit difficult to lend a hand with everyday things that might come up. So far there have been no recent disasters that need attention. Closer to home, our oldest daughter’s husband is finishing the year with bad medical news. He has been treated for melanoma of the optic nerve for the past 3 years or so. Last week he had a good visit, but today they called him in because of questionable blood work. He will have more test over the next week, and we are praying it hasn’t spread to his liver. He is only 39 and they have an 18 month old.

    Your book and goody basket sound like a wonderful giveaway and a nice surprise for whoever wins it.

    I hope you have a great 2013.

  12. Jane says:

    Glad to hear everyone is doing well. I do hope we’ll have a happy and healthy 2013.

  13. Minna says:

    I’m grateful I’ve written over 50% of my thesis. Now I only need to write the rest of it.

  14. loisgreiman says:

    Sorry all for the HUGE pics and the weird formatting. WordPress hates me today.

  15. Kylie Brant says:

    Wow, Lois, sounds like you’ve really had your hands full lately :( Hope everyone is feeling better.

  16. Mary Louise says:

    Hi Lois: OMG… I have to lie down and take a nap after reading what you have gone through. I am happy to hear everyone is on the mend; but, gosh, you must be running on fumes right now. Please take time to be good to yourself. What am I grateful for? So many things really; good health, a roof over my head; brother and his family close by; I can still teach 5/6 classes a week and work full time; still run even with the beginning of osteperosis, etc., etc. In the new year I hope for more of the same plus a visit to the plastic surgeon. Wishing you many blessings…..

  17. MaryC says:

    I’m grateful that the family was able to gather for the holidays and that things are improving.
    Wishing you health, happiness and prosperity.

  18. Tracie says:

    I am forever grateful for my children and the pride and joy that they bring me and definitely never a dull moment.
    Wishing everyone a healthy and prosperous New Year!

  19. Summer says:

    I’m stressed just reading what you went through, so glad things have improved for everyone.

  20. kris says:

    happy to hear things are getting better. life has been quiet for me and i’m grateful for that. i’m also happy that there have been lots of freebies or reduced price books this past few weeks. i have more books than i’ll ever be able to read, but im okay with that. :)

  21. Stephanie says:

    Hang in there, Lois! Sometimes we need to have things shaken up to appreciate how good we have it. Glad everyone is on the mend.

  22. loisgreiman says:

    Thanks everyone.

  23. leannebanks says:

    Oh, Lois, I’m so very very very sorry! I”m glad everyone is on the mend now, but I can only imagine how frightening it was when all this happened at once. Prayers for all of you! xoxo

  24. donna harris says:

    Glad to hear everyone is doing ok now. It would be awful scary to have a horse sick like that. I would panic really bad. I’m a worrier, I’d be in an anxiety attack. Hope you have a Happy New Year!

  25. chey says:

    Doesn’t everything always happen at once? We had a year like that too.
    Please enter me in the Christmas contest.

  26. Quilt Lady says:

    2012 was not the best year for us. I had back issues all year and had surgery in July. Which they told me then that I had a lot of arthritis. Now they are telling me that I have a bad hip and will see a doctor in Jan about it. Also husband truck is on its last let I think. Sometimes I feel like I am falling about and I am just in my upper 50′s. When it rains it pours and everything seems to happen all at once. The highlight of 2012 for me was winning the Thanksgiving basket here and let me tell you it was just awesome!!!

  27. Lois, you’re one strong lady. I’m so glad your family has weathered the onslaught of storms, the reign of crashing blows. It seems like they come in streaks, doesn’t it? You go from “Give us our daily bread” to “Give us a break, Lord!” You have an amazing family. God bless us every one!

  28. Nicole says:

    I’m glad your family is doing better now. It is weird how sometimes things happen all at once.
    I’m happy for the holidays because I get to have my girls back home from University. Family is so important. Happy New Year!

  29. Anne says:

    Happy and a healthy new year. Glad that everyone is doing well. I was diagnosed with breast cancer in March and am under treatment and recovering slowly. health is what matters and our family. Best wishes.

  30. ellie says:

    What a devastating time you have had. I wish you only the best of health and happiness. That is what is so important in life. Have a great new year and much success too.

  31. pearl says:

    A new appreciation of happiness and health which is vital to my well being. family and their special place in the world.

  32. bpratt818 says:

    I’m happy to hear your family is recovering. I hope the New Year provides you and yours health, happiness, and good fortune.

  33. diane says:

    Stay well, safe and wishing your family only the best for 2013 in health, happiness and wonderful times.

  34. beckymmoe says:

    My family–especially my mom, my kids, and my aunts–and my friends. A very good friend and coworker died of cancer this past summer (her son moved his October wedding up to July and had it at Hospice so his mother could be there–she was actually awake and alert for the whole thing, which was fantastic. Then she passed away a day and a half later, at the age of 55), so it’s been a rough year here too.

  35. laurieg72l says:

    I’m grateful for my husband of 35 years, and my 4 children. They have brought joy and laughter into my life. I also have a wonderful sister who brightens my day with her happy outlook on life. I have been blessed with a healthy life as have my family members. I agree that health is essential to one’s quality of life. I have generous friends and hope that I have reciprocated.

    Best wishes to all of my fellow blog members in the romance community . Your comments and the wonderful works of all of you authors have made my 2012 very memorable.

    THANK YOU!

  36. theresa n says:

    Wow! You’re going to need some rest this New Years. I’m forever grateful for my family.

  37. Mariska says:

    My little family..with two boys 6yos and 2 yos , DH and i are really treasure our moments with them :D

Leave a Reply

