Debra – "Debra who?"

Psst…I used to write for a living.  Yep.  I wasn’t always a publisher.  Many years ago, in a land far far way, I wrote romance and romantic suspense.  I’ve written a little YA.  Won a bunch of awards, etc., but since becoming a publisher almost fourteen years ago, my focus has been on the authors and titles published by BelleBooks and its imprint Bell Bridge Books.  I don’t give much thought to my old backlist.  Random House controls the books, so they make the decisions not me, which is why I admit to being surprised by some Google review notices for DOC HOLIDAY, one of my reissued Loveswepts.

SELF: “Why am I getting a review?  Oh, yeah.  Christmas is coming up.  Someone got around to reading DOC HOLIDAY.”

SELF: “Why am I getting an email from someone telling me its time for me to “make a comeback?”

SELF: “More reviews?  Why is–  Oh, no!  DOC HOLIDAY didn’t come out with the rest of the old book re-issues last spring!  They saved it for the holiday season!  Idiot.”

I love this book, so I feel really sad I haven’t done more to let people know it was out in November.  It’s a good book, really.  I looked it up on my website so I could add a blurb.

1995 Maggie Award
1995 Romy Award (A Little Romance magazine award)
1996 VRW Holt Medallion Finalist
1996 National Readers’ Choice Finalist
#4 Waldenbooks List  (::sigh:: back when there was a Waldenbooks)

As I’m basking in my glory, the universe snickers and sends me a review that begins by cutting me down to size…

“Debra who?! Dixon? Never heard of her, but I loved the cover of the book; title was cute and it’s free on NetGalley, so why not?”  OUCH!  But fortunately this lovely reviewer repaired the damage to my ego by continuing thusly:   “[I was] taking a dip into contemporary genre of which I wasn’t such a fan of..before this month that is. I’m changing my mind and mighty quick, especially after I read ‘Doc Holiday’.  Before I go all out and start gushing, let me warn you: Do NOT start reading this story without having Kleenex close to you! You’ll need it, trust me.”

I now love Bookworm2Bookworm’s blog.  And all the other folks who’ve reminded me this was a special book and why I love story and character.

Doesn’t every little boy abandoned by his mother deserve a secure new place in the world?


“Help me make some Christmas memories…”

    Drew Haywood needed an enchantress to help give his son a holiday to remember–and no one did Christmas better than Taylor Bishop! She could transform a house into a home that sparkled with tinsel, and kissing her was like coming out of the cold. She’d already had enough of caring for others, but could this sexy family man convince her to break all her rules?
    With poignant humor and sizzling sensuality, Debra Dixon presents the magic of Christmas and of promises made under a starry sky. Would the gift of a young boy’s smile and stolen kisses beneath the mistletoe point the way to Taylor’s dearest dream?

================

Ahem…I hope I’m not the only one who occasionally lets something important slip by…like the relaunch of a book.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Debra – "Debra who?"

  1. I’m SO glad DOC HOLIDAY has come out of retirement just in time for the holidays. Nothing melts my heart like a sensitive, sexy single dad. And I really miss Loveswept. Some of my all-time favorite books came out of that line. Thanks for the heads-up on this one, Deb. And dare I say it? Happy Holidays!

    • debradixon says:

      I love a single dad trying to make a go on it too! I miss Loveswept too. But…Sue Grimshaw is bringing it back with the mix of classics and new originals. So, yay for that!

  2. michelehauf says:

    Congrats on the re-release, Deb! It’s always major cool when an awesome book gets a chance to show everyone its awesomeness again. ;-)

  3. Christie Ridgway says:

    Yay for Doc Holiday! I remember when it first came out. Enjoy the success of your re-release!

  4. kylie brant says:

    Congrats, Deb. Isn’t it lovely to think of gaining new fans with a re-release?

    • debradixon says:

      Thinking of “gaining new fans” in connection with me is a foreign concept these days! But I’m so happy the books have had the chance to shine again. :)

  5. loisgreiman says:

    You’re still a star Deb. Congrats!

  6. Quilt Lady says:

    The book sounds really good will have to check it out.

Leave a Reply

