What’s Your Favorite Song?

Like ever?  If you could pick one song as your all-time fav, what would it be?  A song you could listen to endlessly, if you were only allowed that one tune for the rest of your life.

Mine is Leonard Cohen’s HALLELUJAH.  It’s such a unique, seductive, and even worshipful song.  For every person who listens to it, probably they get something completely different out of it from the next person.  It sounds like one of those songs that has been around forever, yet it was only written and recorded in 1984.  The lyrics have biblical references, and yet can be cruel, sad, joyous, even very sexy.  Recently, I saw Wynonna in concert, and she opened with this song.  Gorgeous.  Always takes my breath away, no matter who is singing it.

This is one of my favorite renditions by KD Lang.

Now, tell me your favorite song!

Michele

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to What’s Your Favorite Song?

  1. Cindy Gerard says:

    Michele – you’ve hit on one of my favorites too! And I LOVE KD Lang’s version. Another of my favorites – that I could listen to over and over again is, yup, another KD Lang – Constant Craving. The right combo of artist and song and wow. Magic

  2. I love this KD video, too. It gives me goose bumps. I have too many favorites to name. Generally they have special associates for me.”Let It Be” reminds me of my mother, Beatles forever. Nat King Cole’s “Christmas Song” (Chestnuts roasting…) is my favorite Christmas song, beautiful, reminds me of Daddy. “The First Time Ever I Saw Your Face” blew me away the first time ever I heard it at a Belafonte concert. Leonard Cohen’s “Suzanne” done by so many of my favorites, including Judy Collins, whose version of Someday Soon” is the only one I want to hear. Oh, and “Me and Bobby McGee”–Kristofferson is fine but Janis Joplin tears my heart out. Was I supposed to pick one?

    • michelehauf says:

      Yes, only one, Kathy! ;-) But they are some good ones.
      Is anyone else instantly swept to a different time and place with a song? Love how that happens.

  3. Liz says:

    Bon Jovi I’ll Be There for You……. I wish I’d seen youblow …….. those candles out

    • michelehauf says:

      Bon Jovi will always hold a special place in my heart. Saw the band when they opened for Ratt in ’83. Can you believe that? I fell in love with him that night. ;-)

  4. Linda says:

    If I had to just choose one I think it might be Blue Highway’s Wonderous Love. It is as inspirational to me as Hallelujah.

    • michelehauf says:

      Linda, thanks for posting that! Great song and band. I’m heading to iTunes to check out some of their other stuff.

  5. Deb K says:

    My absolute favorite song is Matters Of The Heart by the GREAT Michael McDonald!!!

  6. leannebanks says:

    I’m loving hearing all these favorites! But I can’t even pick just one favorite Christmas song. I love so many of them. Love me some tunes!:)

  7. Favorite of all time is too hard. Favorite of the moment is Ho Hey by The Lumineers. (I belong with you. You belong with me. You’re my sweet heart.)

  8. Liz Flaherty says:

    I love all these choices, especially, Hallelujah. Mine are–no, not just one–Desperado and Take Me Home, Country Roads.

  9. On one of our KD Lang two-CD sets, there are two versions of Hallelujah, and one of those versions never ceases to send chills down my spine. She is soooo amazing!

  10. Quilt Lady says:

    I am old school here and it would have to be Willy Nelson’s song Your Always on my Mind.

  11. MaryC says:

    Love KD – another favorite is her rendition of Crying.
    Kevin Costner & Modern West – The Angels Came Down is another favorite.

Leave a Reply

