Guest: Tawny Weber gives us a Nice & Naughty Xmas!

The Riders welcome Tawny Weber to the hot seat today.  Tawny will give away a copy of NICE & NAUGHTY to one lucky commenter, so show her some love in the comments!

‘Tis The Season

I love December.  I love the weather, as sucky as it often is.  I love the fact that I have three family birthdays this month, all wonderful and fun to celebrate.  I love the holiday season, with all the tradition and secrets and good cheer.  And I love that I have a new book out! My latest Harlequin Blaze, NICE & NAUGHTY is on the shelves now – yay.

Nice  Naughty coverBut that all means that December is crazy busy here in my house.  I’m sure you can relate, right?

One of the themes in my story, NICE & NAUGHTY, was doing for others… to the point that you do nothing for yourself.  My heroine, Jade, had sidelined all of her hopes and dreams to care for her mother.  She spent all of her free time during the holidays meeting expectations and doing the right thing.   Finally, she made a Christmas wish.  It went like this:

As Jade pressed out the first dozen starshaped cookies, she pretended they were flying across the sky and made a Christmas wish.

Please, let a sexy, gorgeous man sweep into her life just long enough to fulfill her every sexual fantasy. Give her enough good loving to last until she’d sorted out the rest of her life, then scootch on out without any hard feelings, leaving things simple and complication free.

And if she couldn’t have the latter two parts of the wish, she’d settle on having a few of those sexual fantasies come true.

After all, she’d been a really good girl.
Wasn’t it time she had a chance to be a little bad?

Taking a tip from Jade’s experiences, I think we need to give to ourselves this time of year, too.

So my five favorite ‘Tis The Season tips are:

  • Read novellas.  I can usually read an novella in a single sitting, while waiting for my daughter to get out of art class, while stirring a pot of boiling caramel, or if it’s on my eReader, while waiting in long shopping lines.
  • Sit on Santa’s lap.  Yes, it’s more fun if he’s a hunky Santa, maybe shirtless and sporting a delicious six-pack… um, sorry, I got distracted there.  So, yeah, sit on Santa’s lap and make a wish.  Ask for something you’d never get for yourself, but that you really want.
  • Revel in the traditions.  The holidays can be frantic, but they can also be magical.  So take the time to enjoy what they mean to you.
  • Judiciously prune the traditions, expectations and demands that stress you out.  Yes, sometimes we do have to go to that family gathering that we don’t want to, or attend an obligatory party that we’ll be bored to death at.  But often, there are a lot of things we do out of habit, or because we think we should but nobody else cares if we do or not.  I try to take a look at my crazy holiday list and schedule and over each item I ask myself why I’m doing it.  Love is always a good reason!
  • Pamper yourself.  A holiday pedicure, a massage between shopping trips, a long lunch with the girlfriends that includes decadent chocolate desserts.  ‘Tis the season to give to yourself, too!

How about you? Do you have any holiday tips that you use to make sure you get through the season smiling and filled with joy?  And I’ve gotta ask, have you ever made a wish on a star that wasn’t in the sky?  Oh, say in cookie form, perhaps?

Tawny Weber has been writing sassy, sexy romances since her first Harlequin Blaze hit the shelves in 2007.  A fan of Johnny Depp, cupcakes and color coordination, she spends a lot of her time shopping for cute shoes, scrapbooking and hanging out on Facebook. 

 Come by and visit her website at www.tawnyweber.com for hunky contests, delicious recipes and lots of fun. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Guest: Tawny Weber gives us a Nice & Naughty Xmas!

  1. Kathy J says:

    Holiday tip, I decided years ago that getting stressed during the holidays because I was trying to do to much just made me cranky and grinch like around my family. I did not like that at all, so I decided to streamline the process. Purchase some gifts instead of trying to make everything homemade. It really helped.

    • Tawny Weber says:

      Kathy, I often try to do the total homemade approach and find the same exact result- grinchy grunchy stress. And as much as I love making gifts, my family actually prefers store bought. I still don’t see why they won’t wear the lumpy hats and scarves I knitted them :-(

  2. loisgreiman says:

    Welcome Tawny. Great to have you here.
    A couple years ago I discovered that it’s so much nicer to have everyone pitch in to make the holiday meals than to have everything ready when they get here. The bustling around in kitchen in synchronized chaos is really pretty merry.
    Have a great Christmas.

    • Tawny Weber says:

      Hi Lois, and thank you!

      Ohh – what a great idea. It’s always so much more fun in the kitchen when it’s social, and gives guests a feeling of welcome. I know when I go to holiday events, especially at family’s house, I’m happier doing and helping than sitting while my hostess bustles about.

      Merry Merry!

  3. leannebanks says:

    Tawny, LOVED your suggestions! I may sit on Santa’s lap this season after all!!:) Thanks for visiting the vert!:) xo, Leanne

  4. Kathleen O says:

    Good suggestions.. I especially like the one about sitting on a sexy Santa’s lap.. That would certainly brightnen up my holiday season.. Reading is one of the things that help me get through the season.. I can just let all the stress leave me… And Christmas music and movies help too… And oh I so need that pampering…

    • Tawny Weber says:

      I’m a fan of the sitting on a sexy Santa’s lap myself, Kathleen :-D I think it’s a treat every woman should enjoy this time of year LOL. And, ahhh, reading. It really is a cure-all, isn’t it. Add the music, and it’s like holiday heaven.

  5. Cindy Gerard says:

    Welcome Tawny! Fun cover. As I was hauling box after box down from upper closet shelves a while ago, I told myself it was time to GET RID OF SOME OF THE JUNK! But I know me. I’ll start opening up those boxes this afternoon and the memories will come pouring out and EVERYTHING will find a place on a shelf or on the trees and they’ll go back in the boxes again for next year where the process will start all over again. I need an intervention LOL

    • Tawny Weber says:

      HI Cindy, and thanks for the welcome :-)

      Oh man… I hear you on that clearing out urge. I have it every year when I open the decoration bins. And every year I resist because, yep, as you say, there are so many memories. But last year- oh this killed me–as my oldest daughter moved out and wanted to take her collection of tree decorations with her (as if leaving wasn’t bad enough? she took all the cute angels, too? so wrong) I forced myself to go through and do a little clearing away. Of course, when I opened the decoration bins this year, there is still so much junk in there that I might have imagined last year’s clearing way *g*

      Those memories… just can’t let them go. Even if one leg and all the glitter has fallen off :-)

  6. amyskennedy says:

    Hi Tawny, your Blaze sounds like just the ticket to get me in a holiday mood…especially if a sexy santa was around. Love your ideas.

    A few years ago we decided to host a Christmas party for my side of the family (mid-December) that got rid of the frantic travel from one side of the family to the other. Everyone brings a dish (we do themes: Italian, Mexican, Campfire…) and no one brings presents! Less stress, lots of joy.

    • Tawny Weber says:

      HI Amy, and thanks! I love writing holiday stories -and especially tying in the sexy element to heat things up a little.

      Oh-GREAT idea! That’s got to be so fun, you get to enjoy the people and the season, but don’t have the major expense and stress. I might have to borrow that one!! Thanks :-)

  7. Quilt Lady says:

    No good tips here I stress every year at this time trying to get everything done, gifts bought and wrapped, food cooked and all that good stuff. Only wish on stars in the sky.

    • Tawny Weber says:

      It’s definitely a stressful time – and we women are always so good at adding extra stuff to our to-do list that brings little bundles of extra stress LOL. I hope the holiday is wonderful and filled with joy, even if you are stressing a bit.

  8. Roxanne Rustand says:

    I’m with Leanne. That Santa’s lap sounds awfully inviting!.

    I like Amy’s idea about separate celebrations. It can be hard to fit in too much travel at once! One Christmas, it was our son’s first Christmas away from home, and he and his wife had a young baby. We drove from Iowa to Dallas, TX to be with them Christmas eve, then got up early Christmas Day and drove to the Twin Cities to be with my mom and brother that evening. Last time we tried that! :)

    • Tawny Weber says:

      Oh man, Roxanne, I’d go crazy if I had to do all that holiday driving. We used to have it easy – my in-laws lived two blocks that way, my mom and brothers two blocks this way. We had to bounce from celebrational house to celebrational house, but the only reason it required a car was to carry the goodies and protect us from the weather. But – yikes, I can see why that’d be a onetime deal for you.

  9. maybe31 says:

    I don’t do big cooking anymore. I buy things frozen or cookie mix… It’s just too much stress to do so much cooking.

    • Tawny Weber says:

      Oh yeah, that’s a major time saver for sure. The one cookie dough that’s always eluded me is the sugar cookie (it seems so simple, I can’t figure out why/how I keep messing it up) so I just get the mix and let the kids go to town with the decorating :-) So my entire contribution to their major sugar cookie extravaganza is tossing the mix in the mixer, and eating the cookies. Now that’s low stress ;-)

Leave a Reply

