Christmas Craft Shows

So far, I’ve been to two Christmas craft shows this year.  I’m not all about the shows or shopping.  I’m all about going with my mom to “The Stocked Market” in Roanoke, Virginia.  I’m pleased and proud that I was born and bred “in the noke”.Smile  What’s most important, though, is that I get to spend time with my Mom.  Afterward, we have a tradition of going to Shaker’s and eating some of the best onion rings in the world.Smile

Today I went to Richmond’s Bizarre Bazaar and took my mom-in-law, Doris Ray Jackson Banks.  She’s 86 and was actually in the hospital last week, but she was determined to go on this shopping date.  She was a super soldier through FOUR BUILDINGS of vendors! She is the best conversationalist in the world.  Really.  A pleasure to spend the day with her.

What about you?  Do you have any craft shows that you share with special people?

Much love,

Leanne

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Christmas Craft Shows

  1. Kathleen O says:

    I love Christmas Craft shows, but I have not been to one in years. Ilive quite close to a small town that if full of crafts and Christmas stuff. I like to go there and find one of a kind gifts.. I am trying to see if someone wants to go with me this Saturday..

    • leannebanks says:

      Except for the one with my mother, I haven’t gone to any other craft shows for years. I always felt as if I should be working. I really felt like I made the right choice to take my mother-in-law this year. And apparently she loved it, too!:) I hope you enjoy your craft show on Saturday!:)

  2. MaryC says:

    I love going to craft shows and have managed to pick up some unique gifts. Love the candles, soaps and lotions. My sister-in-law goes to pick up mustard, salsa and jam – her brothers expect to receive them as part of their gifts each year.

  3. MJ Fredrick says:

    My mom, baby brother and I LOVE craft shows. Our favorite is a week-long show put on by a church in an historic house downtown. They put out cookies and spiced tea and punch and people wander from room to room where the booths are set up. It’s always the week before Thanksgiving–a great way to get into the spirit of the holidays!

  4. loisgreiman says:

    It’s really more about who you’re with than what you do, isn’t it?

  5. kylie brant says:

    Remember how much I hate to shop? This does NOT include craft shows or antique shows. For some reason I have all the time and patience in the world to look at crafts and antiques. Jealous of your opportunity. That sounds *awesome*!

  6. Cindy Gerard says:

    I’m so glad you get to spend time with you Mom, Leanne. My mom was a shopper and she loved that sort of thing. Would give anything if I could go shopping and to lunch with her again. Enjoy, enjoy, enjoy!!

  7. It always touches my heart when I hear someone talk about being able to do things with their mom or their mother-in-law. What a precious blessing that is, to have those wonderful times. My mom was such fun–great sense of humor, sharp as could be, and could walk faster than anyone when it came to shopping. And we had such fun going out to lunch together! I don’t get out to craft shows or holiday bazaars, but I’m with Cindy about wishing I could go out for shopping and lunch with my mom once more. Which is why I never turn down chances to do things like that with my own daughter or sons. Building memories, for me and for them.

  8. leannebanks says:

    Roxanne, doing this with both my mom and mom-in-law really makes me aware of what’s important. My time with both of them is so precious. They are both so wonderful. Thank you for your wonderful response. <3

  9. Quilt Lady says:

    I really don’t go to craft shows. I am not that crafty myself.

Leave a Reply

