Celebrate with me and win!

Click here to view FINDING HOME at Amazon!

Today’s the day! Finding Home is finally on the shelves.

It’s been a fun journey so far. I’ve loved the premise, the characters, and the setting from the start. The cover caught me off guard. It’s different than I envisioned it. But it appeals to something deep inside me. A few days ago I received my first audio books in the mail and was surprised to see that the discs have different graphics than the print version. But I love that cover too, which is fantastic, because this is a very visual book for me. Maybe that’s because it’s set in the Black Hills region of South Dakota which is a place that speaks to my soul. Or maybe it’s because it has a lot of elements that hearken back to my childhood. But whatever the reason, I found myself gathering a lot of pictures for this book (most of which I had the opportunity to take myself).

So I thought I would share a few.

This is how I envision Casie Carmichael, my protagonist. (It’s actually my daughter.)

A pair of my brother’s sheep.

The view from brother’s mailbox.

Colt Dickenson as I see him.(aka my son)

A band of wild horses I happened upon the the Teddy Roosevelt Park.

For the first time in several years I’ll be doing some book signings for this novel. The first will take place in my local saddle shop. This is an entirely new venue for me and I’m trying to think of what will appeal to readers. So my question to you is this: Have you ever seen an author at a book signing? Did he/she look as lonely and pathetic as most of us do during these events? Or was it one of those rare best-selling, readers-around-the-block kind of signings? And either way, did you buy a book? If so, what convinced you to do so? If not, shed a little light on the situation and tell this lonely, pathetic author why?

All commenters will be eligible to win an Amazon Gift Card, so please weigh in.

Happy holidays everyone!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

51 Responses to Celebrate with me and win!

  1. TrishJ says:

    I have never been to a book signing, but oh how I would love to. I know how contageous my excitement would be, so I am sure everyone else would catch it. So go forth and have a ball meeting your excited fans.

  2. Rosemary K. says:

    I have always been afraid to approach an author at a book signing. It’s not that I don’t want to but I feel out of my element talking with someone who is so creative. Since I don’t have a creative bone in my body I am afraid.

    • loisgreiman says:

      That’s what I worry about…that people are nervous about meeting authors…which is so silly because we’re generally the most insecure people on the planet. Maybe I’m just speaking for myself. :)

  3. Sonya Heaney says:

    It’s probably just me, but the link at the top isn’t taking me anywhere…
    The last book signing I went to was in London, for Michael Palin (as in the guy from Monty Python), so it was one of those rare major occasions. The queue wound around three or four floors of the building, and we were there for hours!
    Definitely bought a book that day!

  4. Liz Flaherty says:

    I love your pictures and your cover…oh, yes, your cover! Good luck with the signing–it will be great. I always enjoy other people’s and I always buy books.

  5. kris says:

    the pics are great. if will definitely approach an author if they look lonely at a book signing. you never know what type of literary goody you might be missing out on. :)

  6. Kathleen O says:

    Many, Many years ago when I was in my early 20′s, Kathleen Woodiwiss came to one of our chain book store called Coles, which was bought out by what is now Chapters/Indigo. I tossed up a wedding that I was supposed to attend, my mom was totaly peeved, as it was a good friend of the family, to go to the book signing. I was thrilled. This was my one and only book signing event I went to. But it was thrill of a lifetime..

  7. Anne says:

    I have attended an author’s book signing and learned a great deal about the book, the writing which was fascinating and special.

  8. Nora Braun says:

    You could have been a photographer! And your children have grown up wonderfully! As for book signings, you know I’ve never met a stranger in my life so of course I would be there talking the author up and learning their life story :-). So maybe you need a few plants — people to come in at certain times and talk to you ….. Loudly of course so others want to join in. You could get a party going around your table! Have fun with it and be sure to dress the part of the cowgirl.

  9. Laney4 says:

    No, I’ve never been to a book signing. My kids’ school had Robert Munsch reading his stories to the little ones years ago, so my kids bought books and had them signed (but I had to work and couldn’t attend). They enjoyed his love for books and animation while reading those stories (and yet my own kids, even with me reading to them from birth and getting them to read to me years later, plus seeing MY love for books, still didn’t induce my kids to enjoy reading – anything other than instruction manuals….),

    • loisgreiman says:

      Sigh. All we can do is try. I read The Hobbit about 14 times to my kids when they were growing up, and now my eldest read it to his son who will read his favorite parts (mostly about the trolls) over and over. It’s really heart warming.

  10. Mary Louise says:

    Hi Lois: The last signing I went to was for Harlen Cobin’s final Myron Bolitar novel. (Myron is one of my all time favs… sports and suspense.) Harlen admitted at the signing it was probably the last Myron novel as he was onto bigger and better YA stories. (What!!) You could hear the gasps and groans from the crowd. (Well, the groans surprisingly sounded like me.) Anyway, I waited in line for about an hour to tell Harlen I was not happy with that decision. And, in fact, since I was not Young or an Adult I had no interest in reading his new series. Then becuase I could not help myself I said I would write the next Myron novel myself (I have not received a cease and desist so that’s a good thing) . I would love to attend your signing and I would even promise to keep my Chrissy obsession to a minimum. Congratulations on your book, I can’t wait to read it.

  11. Heather L says:

    I have been to many author readings and/or book signings (including a couple at RWA). I only attend events of authors I have read or am interested in reading. Same with buying the book–if it is one I want or interests me, I would likely buy it, if the budget allows. All of those I’ve attended have had a good turnout–pimarily, I think, due to good advertising. Good luck with your signing!

  12. loisgreiman says:

    Thanks, Heather. It’s a nice time of year to be selling books….inexpensive gift items. So that’s nice.

  13. CrystalGB says:

    I have never been to a book signing. I have always wanted to go to one. I think having a catchy display and getting advertising out to readers would be helpful.

  14. Kylie Brant says:

    Lonely and pathetic is exactly how I always feel at book signings :) Good luck with yours. I’d love to hear more about the audio books. Did you set them up or did a publisher?

  15. Amy S. says:

    I’ve never been to a book signing. I would like to go to one, but there is no bookstores close to me. Merry Christmas everyone!

  16. Cindy Gerard says:

    Oh, Lois what a beautiful package for your book. I can’t wait to read it. Love your photos. And that hunky son of yours is just as hunky as I remember him – only last time I was him he was shirtless and in a kilt???
    Have a blast at your book signings!

  17. Having done a signing or two with you, dear Lois, I have to say you hide your inner shy girl pretty well. You’re always the magnet at the table, offering handouts, chatting people up, showing them we’re not as unapproachable as we look. You’ve got the gift, girl.

    I’m so excited about Finding Home. The Black Hills speak to me, too. Wonderful photos. Wonderful news!

  18. Michel Reinhard says:

    My girlfriends and I love to go to booksignings. We always buy the most recent book at the signing to help support the hosts. We bring our nooks or kindles and have the cover signed by author as well. Can’t wait to read the book. Love the pictures you had for inspiration!

  19. catslady says:

    Love your pictures!! I’ve never been to a signing but only because there haven’t been any that I was able to get to. I would love to meet some of my favorite authors in person. Maybe some day I’ll get the chance.

  20. Nicole says:

    Book sign by the author are always special. I went to one were I didn’t know the author. He talked about himself and what inspired him to write the book. I really enjoyed that. Great pictures!

  21. leannebanks says:

    Lois, if they don’t ask you where the bathroom is, I consider the experience a big win!:) I hope it goes well! I’m so excited about this book for you!!! xo, Leanne

  22. loisgreiman says:

    Right!! Why does everyone think authors know where the bathrooms are?

  23. librarypat says:

    I have been to both kinds of signings. As a reader, the less crowded ones are more enjoyable, for me. Not good for the author because droves of people aren’t lined up to have the books they bought signed. It gives me an opportunity to speak with the author and get a real feel for what he or she is really like and to wish them well. The one signing I attended for a BIG author was the one I enjoyed the least. The feeling was “hurry up, take your book, and move along, I have better things to do.” No smile, nothing personal.

    I know for an author, the larger the crowd and the more sales, the better. A smile and a few personable words go a long way. The smile may be frozen on your face by the end of the day, but your “customers” will go away with a good feeling and be more likely to buy your next book.
    If the crowds aren’t there, think positive thoughts. They are home reading your books and waiting for you next one.

  24. Hi Lois! I can’t wait to read the new book!

  25. Chelsea B. says:

    I’ve never been to a book signing, but I’d love to! Our town is just to small. Anyway, I’d say, it’s going to go great. Just get the word around. And above all, don’t sweat it, just have a wonderful time :-)

  26. librarypat says:

    PS Loved both covers for FINDING HOME. The pictures are wonderful. You have two handsome children. Your brother is lucky to live in such a lovely place. We have been in the area, but didn’t see nearly enough of it. It is on our list of places to go back and visit.

  27. Quilt Lady says:

    I have never been to a book sighing but have always wanted to go to one. There never seems to be any in my area. Also there are not any good books stores here. Love the pic’s. Your brother lives on a beautiful place, would be a great place to raise children.

  28. barbed1951 says:

    Yes, besides the big RT and RWA book signings I’ve attended, I’ve been to some smaller ones as well. The authors I met didn’t look lonely and pathetic because I was there talking to them. :D Of course I bought a book! The author signings I attended were authors I enjoyed and I went expecting to purchase their latest book. At one of the signings, there were some other local authors that weren’t getting much love, so I made sure to talk to them too and buy their books. I wanted to help make their signings at least bearable.

  29. Kimh says:

    No I have not would like to but live in small town , congrats on the book whoo

  30. MaryC says:

    Congratulations on your release – the pictures are beautiful! I’ve never been to a book signing but did manage to catch Judy Collins at a store signing her latest CD. It was a pleasant surprise as she sang for about 30 minutes

  31. Your son should be a cover model!! And even with her head tilted down, one can see that your daughter is a pretty as her mom and should be on covers, too.

    I really look forward to reading your new book. What a gorgeous cover!

  32. laurieg72l says:

    I’ve been to Amy Hanten’s cookbook signing with my mom. (Wisconsin) She was so down to earth and personable. She made everyone relax and smile. She smiled a lot too. Yes, we both bought a cookbook. The recipes are delicious. She has a website Thecookingmom.com

    Try to appear approachable. I was very nervous at first.

    Debbie Macomber. Friendly as can be. I brought a book for her to sign and I purchased a book. She’s an autobuy for me. It was held in a knitting shop in Florida.

    I too like both covers. The sunset one is a little more eye catching.

    My son and daughter-in-law camped several nights in the Badlands right next to buffalo! They took lots of pictures of prairie dogs. They even whizzed by Mt Rushmore. They loved the scenic route they took to get there.

    Handsome family definitely book cover model material.

  33. donnas1 says:

    I always try to buy at least one book when I go to a signing. They nhave all been group signings though so the authors chatted among themselves when no one was there or waiting.

Leave a Reply

