The Missing Gene

Somewhere along the line I missed out on the shopping gene.  My mom and older sister got double, or even triple dose, but it is noticeably absent in moi.  I still remember being dragged along on their shopping trips.  I was the kid lying in the front window of the store because I needed to sit somewhere.  And I didn’t suffer silently :)  There was a lot of piteous moaning and theatrical announcements of the time they were wasting *looking at junk*.

I. Hate. To. Shop.

You’d think I would have grown out of this.  One would assume with the onset of a family and all the groceries, clothes, school supplies, etc. that I would at least have acquired a modicum of enjoyment from the process.  And it did improve a little when I has someone else to focus my shopping eye on.  Indeed, when the kids were very young my hubby and I would fight over who got to go to the grocery store, because it got us out of the house for a while, LOL.

That didn’t last.  To this day, grocery shopping is my least favorite activity.

I honestly believe I’m getting worse, though.  If I have to go to more than two stores I do a lot of pre-whining before even starting.  And forget about trying things on.  My patience is used up after one store.  I’d be out of luck if it weren’t for the advent of online shopping.

Ahhh.  *There’s* my missing gene :)

Online shopping was designed for someone like me.  Far away from any decent sized shopping area.  Dangerously little patience for going from store to store looking for one coveted item.  And volume at my fingertips.  Looking for sweaters?  No longer do I have to run thirty miles to the two decent stores that would have clothes in my size and taste.  From the comfort of my chaise lounge I can travel to a dozen stores and select several articles, order and be done with it in an hour or so.  One of my favorite sites has free overnight shipping–there and back.  For someone who has to travel 2 1/2 hours to get to a sizable mall, that’s pure magic.

I am a master at online shopping.  I’ve bought a steam shower this way.  I’ve gotten an antique oak single wardrobe.  Antique picture frames, artwork, lamps, rugs, wallpaper…I’ve ordered it all online.  Forget about fighting the crowds at Christmas.  I do 85% of my Christmas shopping online, too.

There are even clever little apps to help you.  Like yesterday, when I got a frantic phone call from one son who had given me their kids’ Christmas lists.  It seems that the Ninja Turtle Sewer Lair Playset is *the* toy of the season.  (Who knew, right?) He warned me that I better start looking for one.  And sure enough, every online store I went to was out.  I started calling all the Toys R Us stores in a three hour radius.  No luck.

But then I found zoolert.com where you can sign up to get an email and/or text as soon as the item is in.  Within the hour I’d gotten a text and landed not one but two of the darn things (one for another grandson).  In the olden days I’d be running through tanks of gas and burning my free time going from store to store, town to town looking for the crazy things, which I gotta say would’ve done a number on my holiday cheer.

I’ve gotten much too lazy for that.

I deal with the guilt by buying locally for my sister, aunt, in-laws, and aides.  There are some fun gift shops in town.  But when it comes to clothing or toys, I’m not robbing Main Street by shopping online, because I can’t find what I need here.

A friend just recently told me about Greg’s Daily Deals.  Apparently you can have the top ten deals of the day texted or emailed to you daily.  She got all ten Disney Princesses for $36; a china set with place settings for 14 for $8 a place setting; 10% off  Uggs…just a constant stream of deals for items you didn’t even know you needed until you saw what a good deal you could get on them :)


What about you?  Are you a shopaholic or a shop-a-phobe like me?  Do you have any great sites online where you can get wonderful deals?  Will you be braving the crowds on black Friday or sleeping blissfully like me?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to The Missing Gene

  1. Willa says:

    Great post . . made me laugh :D I loathe shopping with a passion and a vengeance.

    One thing we do have over here in some stores in the UK is online stock checking – you go to the stores website, pop in the name of the town of your nearest store and they will let you know if they have the item in stock – and then you can reserve it! Fab! Hit the store, bypass the queues at the tills to the Customer Service desk and there it is – reserved with your name on it. Bliss!

    Any news/update on your latest release?? Impatient is my middle name :D

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Awesome, Willa! I wish we had that here! I especially like the idea of reserving it; saving myself from having to waste a trip.

      My next romantic suspense release has been pushed back to the spring. Chasing Evil is the start of a new trilogy that will follow the same hero/heroine through all three books.

      • Willa says:

        Oooh – thanks for the headsup re the book/s . . was about to go into search and find mode, will wait impatiently for the Spring :D

  2. Sonya Heaney says:

    I wasn’t much of a shopper, but then I spent a couple of years living in central London, and things changed!
    Online shopping is a nightmare for Australians (like me). Major Australian shops have only started moving online in the last year or so – before that they claimed it wasn’t necessary! We don’t have our own Amazon – we have to rely on Amazon US, and they refuse to sell many products to us (including books by a number of authors who post on here…).
    I have no idea what Black Friday is, but I have finished my Christmas shopping because I order from overseas, and it takes a while for stuff to get here!

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Whoa Sonya I should stop complaining. Yikes I didn’t think what a pain it was for Aussies to shop! There is one store I absolutely love but I have to go 2 1/2 hours to the nearest one. I am bummed because they don’t have a good online site.

      I didn’t know that about Amazon. Have you tried book depository? I think they send everywhere….

  3. I am now signing up for Greg’s Daily Deals and zooelert! And what online store has free shipping both ways? Sounds great!

    I buy a lot on Amazon–if I hear about something intriguing, I can invariably find it there, complete with lots of reviews, and with Amazon prime it arrives in two days, free shipping. I have regular shipments set up for my favorite tea (not available here) and a favorite Neutrogena face cream. I shop from Wish Lists for birthdays and Christmas. One Christmas giant, heavy boxes with a trailer hitch and car bumper arrived for our son–free shipping. But, I’ll also read all the reviews, and try to shop at our local family owned stores when I can.

    I buy a lot on eBay as well. Have a passion for Lands End 100% cashmere sweaters, which are cloud soft and warm-yet-not-too-hot, and wear them nearly every day from fall until spring instead of sweatshirts or wool sweaters. They are one of my permanent “searches” on EBay. I’ve got several dozen of them, mostly bought on eBay during the summer months when people aren’t really looking for sweaters, and if the bidding stays under my limit. They are sooooo comfy! I can wash them in the washing machine on cold, turned inside out, then drape them over a clothes drying rack. They just get softer and fluffier. Quite a deal–often at less than the cost of a sweater at Walmart!

    What a fun topic today, Kylie!

    • Kylie Brant says:

      LOL Rox you should have written the post :) You are an absolute eBay guru! Zappos is the name of the store with free overnight shipping both ways. Wonderful boot and sweater selection as I can personally attest! Sometimes I find these sites through the links my fam supplies with their Christmas list.

      Overstock.com is another favorite. And for your adorable granddaughters, check out Zulilly.com and Rufflebutts.com Cute cute clothes!

      • Roxanne says:

        Rufflebutts?? I’m in love with that site already, and I haven’t even visited! Emily was awash in masses of ruffles and lace when she was little, but I never see those wonderful over-the-top frilly dresses in stores anymore. I’m heading over there now! :)

  4. leannebanks says:

    Shopping? It depends. I recently went to NYC and went to my “favorite” discount department store and it was a nightmare. At Christmas, I hate the traffic and don’t like going out at night and ugh. I buy much more on line than before. It’s hard coming up with things that will surprise and delight. I love the image of you as a little girl lying in the front window of a store moaning. I may have done that once or twice too!:).

    • Kylie Brant says:

      Leanne I’m sure I was absolute pain…lord knows I was trying :) The older I get the less tolerant I am of the crowds. Before I turned to online shopping I finally broke down and took a personal day to handle the last of my shopping. Malls are a lot easier to navigate on a weekday.

  5. superauntkx9 says:

    It is not that I hate to shop, it is that I hate the crowds.. espeically at this time of year. I do the easy thing for Christmas now and to the Gift Card route. Or try to get some of my shopping in when the store open. And I never Shop on Saturday if I can helpit. I once shopped at Wal-Mart at 11pm when they are open 24hrs for the holiday season.. It was great the store was empty and my friend and I got a load of shopping done and no lineups at the checkout. I thought I was in heaven..

  6. Kylie Brant says:

    Absolutely…if I’m in town anyway late that is the best time to go to one that is open late. Love unclogged aisles!

  7. Nicole says:

    I prefer shopping in the stores than online. I like to touch things before I buy them. I often feel disappointed when I buy online, it’s not quite what I tought it would be. I don’t like big crowds so I go when it’s not to busy.

    My least favorite by far is grocery shopping. Lately I had to buy certain item online because I can’t find them in the store anymore.

  8. Kylie Brant says:

    Nicole, I get so frustrated going to the grocery store and not finding what I need. Even the simplest things, like yogurt will be all picked over. It seems like if we aren’t there the day the trucks come in or the next day, it’s hard to get what I want. And I can’t necessarily wait until that time so I often end up going to two stores, which is doubly frustrating!

  9. Quilt Lady says:

    You are not alone, I hate to shop also. I will be giving a lot of Amazon cards out this year for Christmas gifts. We do a lot of our Christmas shopping on line. Also we don’t have a lot of good places to shop in my area. Walmart is about all we have and this sucks. That is why online shopping is so nice.

  10. MaryC says:

    I love online shopping, but it does depend on the item. Fortunately, I generally shop during the off hours ao I don’t have to deal with crowds. I make lists so I can get out of the store faster – the only place I enjoy browsing is the bookstore.

  11. Kylie Brant says:

    Exactly, Mary. I can spend hours in book stores, as my husband can attest :) I love to be alone when I’m in bookstores because I hate to be rushed. But that doesn’t feel like shopping. It feels like being surrounded by my closest friends!

  12. donnas1 says:

    I used to love going to the mall. But now its just such a hassle and nightmare I avoid it as much as possible.

  13. shop a phobe – online shopper here
    I will not be doing black friday. There is one place I plan on going to on small business saturday to buy a few gifts.
    I have always hated shopping and I detest all malls.

Leave a Reply

