Debra– WHERE’S MY EMAIL ?

@

The worst has happened.  We come into the office this morning and email is down.  DOWN.  Arrgh.  Forget the bump in my day’s schedule as I’m phone tagging our IT consultant and Mail Server service.  The more important issue is that I have an office full of employees who live in email.  Live there.

Don’t we all these days?  When email isn’t happening, we feel we’re missing vital communication.  We feel as if we’ll never trust email again.  It’s been unfaithful.  It’s gone places it shouldn’t go.  It’s shown no regard for our feelings at all.

Dirty, dastardly email.  Please come home!  Soon??

I’m so proud that one of the folks who reads my slush pile (submissions from unknown-to-us writers) said, “We have lost the weekend queries!”  She was worried for the writers who’ve poured their hearts into a manuscript and now will think we don’t care.  (Unless the over-the-weekend-disappearing-email shows up.)  Then I looked at her with a clear, how-many-queries-could-that-be look.  I now understand that weekend submissions are some of my highest submission days.  So, if you queried over the weekend?  Resubmit.  Just in case.

After the emotional blow has subsided and one is resigned to living without email for a while, then you have to rearrange your day.  Everyone has a rhythm of email.  Some check it constantly with alerts from Outlook appearing in a small corner of the screen.  Some manually retrieve email to avoid distraction and complete tasks without interruption.  (Everything’s an emergency, yes?)

I’m guessing you know why I was late posting the blog today after reading this.  Tell me, do you have to have email everywhere you go?  The reason we know we’re missing email is that some of the folks in the office check their email on the server or via their phone over the weekends.  They don’t delete it.  Just look.  Assess their Monday.  Occasionally reply.  But they KNOW how much email they have when they walk in the door Monday.  So, when they didn’t see it, they were lined up outside my office.  (They think I can fix anything, bless their hearts.)

Can you live without email or are you attached at the hip to your email?  Fess up…how many email accounts do you have?  My name is Debra and I have 4 email accounts.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Debra– WHERE’S MY EMAIL ?

  1. Pat Van Wie says:

    I have five accounts. Two for Bell Bridge. One personal. One for webwork. One for hiding. :)

  2. loisgreiman says:

    You’re fun, Deb, even without email. :)
    As for me, I try to live a real life….you know…one without being plugged in allllll the time…but when email’s not there when you want it….Yup, things crash. Things burn. It’s hard to move on with my day.
    But I’m so proud of you for carrying on. Soldier on valiant warrior!

    • debradixon says:

      Lois– I feel so much better knowing every you–the unplugged queen and proud of it–still has a twinge or two when email goes out! Thank you for fessing up. (g)

  3. Cindy Gerard says:

    I’m horribly addicted to my e-mail accounts AT HOME. But I’ve made a concerted effort to NOT have connectivity on my cell phone and I leave my laptop at home. No ipad – yet. I don’t travel that much and when I do, I want to get away from it all – feel fortunate that I can. but I totally get the sense of loss and isolation when my e-mail isn’t working at home. Personally, I think the web and mail should only be available a minimum number of hours a day. I could get soooo much more writing done LOL.

    • debradixon says:

      Cindy– Ha! You have hit on it. If we make email a limited window, people wouldn’t send so many emails! We’d ration them. I love it.

  4. roxanne rustand says:

    My name is Roxanne, and I have four e-mail accounts. :)

    It’s hard to leave old ones behind, because random warranties, software registrations, and such may be on them. MCHSI quit sending/receiving email randomly, so I moved to Yahoo for a year or so. During the last few months, Yahoo has occasionally refused to let me open up my email account and then actually read mail. Just a minor problem! This week, I switched to gmail, but parts of it have me confused. :) LIke, where is the spam folder?

    I’d like to add a question, here: what online backup systems do you all prefer, and why? Crashplan? Mozy? Others? My daughter’s computer hard drive just crashed irretrievably with all of her graduate school materials on it, And now I’m reevaluating what I’ve been using!

    Roxanne

    • debradixon says:

      Yikes!! Roxanne, I’m so sorry for your daughter. Hopefully they can retrieve it. We use FilesAnywhere and another account for actual manual archives where we can send folks for a review copy of a book, retrieve covers, etc., since so many in the company need to grab the latest and greatest for whatever reason. And we like to have a separate manual place to avoid overwriting files with corrupted files. We have an automatic back up of our server every two weeks in the cloud. I’d have to pull the name of the company. And then we have a back up every night in house to a storage drive. We can’t be without files so we are a bit obsessive.

  5. Roxanne: I use Carbonite. It saves all your files and you can also have the option to save your program files as well so you can have a mirror of your system.

    I hate when my email goes down! Feel completely out of touch. But I don’t check it on my phone. When I travel I bring laptop/iPad and do check in every day, usually.

    • debradixon says:

      Christie– I’ve been very unhappy with the iPad functioning with my mail accounts. For some reason I just hate checking on the ipad. I’d rather use my phone. But it’s the same difference. We’re checking. (g)

  6. Liz Flaherty says:

    I only have two, but I check them everywhere, including my phone, and I’m lost when they go down. Great sighs of empathy coming from this end.

    • debradixon says:

      Liz– I appreciate the empathy! It’s awful. We’re sort of operational this afternoon for current email. Still working on the lost-over-the-weekend issue. ::sigh::

  7. kylie brant says:

    I am ridiculously attached to email. It’s crazy. If I lost it I’d feel like I’d lost a limb! I am wired way too much of the day but I love it…that’s why no e-readers for me. I need something that takes me away from wireless devices at least part of the day.

    • debradixon says:

      Kylie– Ah ha! I remember you saying something about print books at conference and now that makes more sense. But I never would have guessed you were a crazily attached email person. Don’t know why, but you seem like a phone person. (g)

  8. Kathleen O says:

    I have a couple email address. One i use for family and friends and the other one I use for business…

    • debradixon says:

      Kathleen- I’m thinking that so many of us use the friends/family and business address these days. I sort of wonder when someone has a personal or gmail-type address on their business card!

  9. Nora Braun says:

    I have three email accounts but I’m lazy — I have them all feed into a single email account so I don’t have to check everything. Then my main account through Augsburg did something dastardly — they cranked up the spam filter! Suddenly emails that I want are dumping into spam and I have to go dig thru all of that! It’s like loosing your email into a technology pit – ugh. Yet I’m just like you, I go crazy when my email isn’t working. Got to love technology…..when it works!

  10. leannebanks says:

    Four email accounts, but I only check two of them on a regular basis. Oh, wait, forgot yahoo, but I use that only for groups!:)

  11. donnas1 says:

    I am currently at 3. But I only check 2, which of course are on my phone. And when it dings I have to look. Even at work if it goes down it just feels like whats the point, might as well go home.

  12. For gmail spam: On the left side of the page is underneath where it says Inbox (in red) there’s a list of choices. At the bottom of that list is says More, with a downward arrow. Pull down that arrow for the spam option, as well as several others, for example: trash.
    I have (sigh) 5 email accounts, two for everyday, two for ideas I’m working on, and one dedicated to mailings from businesses like department stores.

Leave a Reply

