Coolest Jobs in the World

When the trimester starts looming, paperwork overwhelms and the unpaid over time begins.  It’s at moments like these that my thoughts turn to roads not taken.  Although to be truthful, I had *no* idea these jobs even existed, much less how to apply for them.  But someday…hey, a girl can dream, can’t she?  Check out some of these super-cool careers out there for a lucky few:

San Francisco resident Reuben Reynoso jumps on mattresses for a living.  Yes, you read that correctly.  He works at a handmade mattress factory (meaning you and I can’t afford them) and his job is to  jump on three mattresses a day in an effort to compress the cotton more evenly than a machine can.  He claims it’s not as easy as it looks.  I’m skeptical.  I was the bed jumping champion by the time I was six.  I’m betting I could do *six* mattresses a day, and do it in heels rocking to Bruno Mars.  Plus it’d be a great thigh exercise.

Then there’s Ben Southall who beat out competitors for the plumb assignment of paradise island caretaker.  This lucky guy gets paid $111,000 for a six month gig living rent free in a villa on Hamilton Island on the Great Barrier Reef.  All he has to do for his paycheck is blog about his experiences snorkeling, gorging himself at barbecues and relaxing at a spa.  I mean, helloooo???  I’m already blogging.  May as well do it in a swim suit with a scantily clad Adonis tending my aching muscles.  (This typing does cause my fingers to cramp up, after all.)

And now for a totally swoon-worthy job:  luxury bed tester.  *I can sooo do this!*  A university student landed a job earning 1000 pounds a month to test Luxury Savoir beds for the Savoy Hotel and blogging about the experience.  What does a college student know about needing a good night’s sleep?  Has she gone through raising five kids, including a set of twins who didn’t sleep for the first eight years of their lives?  I think not.  I am a connoisseur of beds, in any case.  Rox, Cindy and I once attended a conference held in a Wyndham Resort boasting Heavenly Beds.  I don’t think I got out of bed all weekend.  Getting paid to sleep?  That is to me what getting a job testing video games is to a ten year old boy.  (Or really, any male under 35.)  And yes, those jobs exist, as well.  But I won’t go into detail because guys don’t need to think wasting their lives on video games is going to lead to anything more than a permanent squint and carpal tunnel surgery.

But how’d you like to be a water slide tester for luxury resorts?  I could do that.  Especially if the job came with a fool proof way to arrive at the bottom with my swim suit still intact.  There have been some…um…past wardrobe malfunctions that lead to that little caveat.

There’s really something for every talent:  medical marijuana tester; candy taster; wine taster; even being a TV corpse.  I have some former students who would excel :)  The only skill needed is the ability to lie completely still, and for that they’d get free lunch and up to $200.  Other than the pay, that’s basically how a few of them spent their days at school anyway.

But here is the ultimate, the most fabulous job in the world–how’d you like to be a slide operator for baby pandas?  I know, right?  Sign me up immediately.  Watch this video of the trainer teaching panda cubs how to go down a slide.  (Do not question why they need to know this.  It’s about quality of life, ok?)  I dare you to watch this without laughing out loud.  It cracks me up every time:

Although some would claim that being a writer=hanging out in my chaise lounge all days in sweats or jammies and getting paid to make stuff up :)  That’s pretty awesome, too.  Awesome enough that I look forward to doing it full time sometime soon!

Do any of these jobs tempt you to change occupations?  What’s your dream job?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Coolest Jobs in the World

  1. loisgreiman says:

    :) You made my day. Here’s what I’ve learned about jobs, though. Many of them sound really good until you actually have to do them for five days in a row or something. Maybe it’s the ADHD but after that I always think I need a vacation. The panda job, though….I’m sure that one would NOT get old.

  2. Sonya Heaney says:

    I forgot about that guy on Hamilton Island! Of course they made a big fuss here in Australia when people were campaigning for the job.
    I never had a true, crazy fantasy job growing up. I wanted to be a ballet dancer, but I actually *was* a ballet dancer! I can’t think of much else, except maybe I wouldn’t mind if someone wanted to pay me to test hotels in the major cities of Europe or something!

  3. leannebanks says:

    Kylie, loved the video! Too fun, too cute! Lois has a good point. Most jobs get old after a while if you’re doing the same thing everyday. Still, the chocolate tasting and bed testing sound tempting.:)

  4. michelehauf says:

    The bed jumping intrigues me. I bet he’s fit. ;-)

    I’m not sure what my dream job would be. But I’m sure it would involve a rent-free stay in Paris.

  5. Kathleen O says:

    Now that would be a great job to have and I like those bed testers. I am too sure what my dream job would be, but that Island thing sounds pretty close to it…

  6. That is the cutest video! However, I think they should have a softer landing pad than that concrete. Maybe my job could be panda-catcher at the bottom of the slide?

    A few years ago I went so far as to make a video resume for a job at a winery. I was writing books set in one and the job came with a cottage in the middle of the vines and required writing (blogging) about living among them (it was also a six-month gig). I was so stoked about it. But then one of my kids pointed out I’d have to be away from them and my dh and I couldn’t face the thought of that.

  7. kylie brant says:

    LOL, Christie, wouldn’t that be awesome? Someone else mentioned that they need that playground chip stuff at the bottom. Of course then we’d need a panda comber to get the wood chips out of their fur :)

  8. Cindy Gerard says:

    Coolest job: chocolate taster :o) Love the video!

  9. I want the writer job. Jammies in the recliner making things up. I do it anyway, getting paid would just be cake…with frosting.

  10. Kylie Brant says:

    LOL, Judy getting paid does sort of make it all worthwhile!

  11. roxanne rustand says:

    What fun, all of them!! And the pandas…darling!!

    During college a friend had a job on campus…went around using the various food service places, bowling center, etc, and secretly evaluated the quality of service she received, Not quite as cool as pandas, but I really wanted her job at the time. :) One of my assistanceships was working with radioactive chickens in a lab, and another one was spying on workers in a residence hall food service, evaluating their efficiency and energy usage. I wasn’t a very good spy, though, :) They call caught on right away and morphed into busy bees whenever I was around.

    I’d much prefer that job with pandas. :)

Leave a Reply

