Wild Hair Trip Report To NYC With Daughter!

photo (29)I just took a trip to NYC with my daughter that lasted about 44 hours.  Used Frequent Flyer Miles for one of the airline tickets.  Over-justified the cost of the other ticket.  It’s been a challenging year –in more ways than one, so I decided this trip would be a good thing.

My daughter and I saw two Broadway shows.  Rock Of Ages (SO ENTERTAINING), Scandalous (Interesting and informative).  We loved being able to see both shows.  We flew into LaGuardia and caught our cab into town at 5:00pm on Friday.  Here’s a tip I’ll always follow in the future.  If you arrive in NYC during rush hour, ALWAYS use a hired car.  It will be less expensive.  I spent around $60.00 for our cab to make its way to our hotel during rush hour.  Carmel.com will probably offer a better rate.

As soon as we arrived into midtown, we checked into our Priceline hotel – The Broadway Millineum, then immediately went to a pub across the street.  I ate a club sandwich and drank a“Stress” martini.  My daughter ate a flatbread pizza and hard cider.  The food wasn’t all that great.  roaIt was more important that we get to ROCK OF AGES on time.  FUN show.  They serve jello shooters and wine coolers to keep the focus on the 80’s rock era.  My daughter and I got the hard stuff – water.Smile

The next morning, we grabbed some extra zzzs and changed flight arrangements due to the Frankenstorm.   We went to Brunch at Blue Fin (highly recommend!) and shared a frittata and pumpkin pancakes.  Delish.  Afterward, we headed toward Ground Zero/Century 21 (shopping).  My daughter wisely chose to visit the 911 Memorial with beautiful pools and falls while I stupidly searched Century 21 for fashion treasures.  The treasures may have been there, but I was overwhelmed by the crowds, SO next time I won’t feel bad if I don’t make it to Century 21, the amazing NYC discount store.

On Saturday night, my daughter and I shared a delicious Italian meal at Bond 45 then went to see “Scandalous”, a new musical.  It was interesting and informative.  I’m glad I saw it, but it wasn’t nearly as entertaining as Rock of Ages.

My daughter and I were in complete agreement about what to do after the play on Saturday night.  Race for our room and change into jammies. It was a great trip, great experience and I’m glad I’m chillin’ at home now!!!

Everyone keep safe during Frankenstorm!  How are you handling your current weather?

xo,

Leanne

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Wild Hair Trip Report To NYC With Daughter!

  1. MaryC says:

    Sounds like a fiun trip to NYC – happy to hear you’re safe at home now.

    Charged ereader, cell phone and laptop battery. Stocked up on water and food items that don’t require refrigeration. Flashlights and batteries are ready. Thank heavens for print books – they don’t need to be plugged in!

    Hope everyone in the path of the storm are prepared and safe.

  2. superauntkx9 says:

    It sounds like you both had a great time. In spite of some so, so meals, you saw great theature. We will get the tail end of the storms acrros Ontario, Lots of rain… I have never seen a week, where every day has been forcast rain. Maybe a few days, but never so much rain.. Oh well, I had nothing really great planed for this week. Will get a lot of good reading done..

  3. Scarlet wilson says:

    Thanks for the NY tips. Gping there from Scotland for my 40 th in Feb. now I know where o shop and where to eat, thanks!

    • leannebanks says:

      Scarlet, if you’re eating in the Theatre District, another great place for groups is Carmines, but you need to get reservations WAY ahead of time. Macy’s in Herald’s Square is huge and very popular. Century 21 has all kinds of super designer shoes (Manola Blahnik and more!), but it is SO crowded on the weekends. Better to go on a different day. Happy Birthday in advance and ENJOY!:) xo, Leanne

  4. Rosemary K. says:

    You’re timing was perfect! Glad you and your daughter had a great time. So much to see and do but so little time but you made the most of it.

  5. leannebanks says:

    Rosemary K, after we arrived home, I heard that hundreds of flights were cancelled out of NYC airports due to the storm, so I’m so grateful we got out of there when we could! It was a wonderful trip, though!:)

  6. Veda Funk says:

    Sounds like you enjoyed yourself in spite of the up coming storm. Glad you got out of there. I have family in the Boston area; and last week they were like no big deal; with school; and work all being cancelled; they are more concerned. I love to go to NYC; and want to go back and see some shows. and spend some time at the 9/11 memorial. I am with you that Century 21 would be best visited any day but weekends; but you had no choice :) I also want to visit Lady LIberty again now that she is opened up again. When I was there in 2009; she was still closed for going to the crown. Still amazing visit. Take care of yourself and glad you made it home safely

    • leannebanks says:

      Veda, I like all your choices for visiting NYC! I’ve never been up close with Lady Liberty, but that is on my list. My daughter LOVED the 9/11 memorial! VERY grateful to be home!:) xo, Leanne

  7. C-Jay M says:

    Glad you had a good time; better that you got home safely. We’re well inland (Wisconsin), although they expect us to get some of the winds this week. Because of that, they’re talking power outages, also. We’re always well-stocked because we’re in tornado country. And, since my hubby likes toys, we also have a generator. ;-) Stay safe!

    • leannebanks says:

      C-Jay, this storm is crazy — the way it’s affecting so much of the country!. We have a generator too, and I am SO grateful that we do!!!:) xo, Leanne

  8. michelehauf says:

    How cool to take a quickie trip with your daughter like that! Bet it was fun. Did you see the movie Rock of Ages? How does it compare to the actual broadway show? I thought the movie was great fun.

  9. leannebanks says:

    Michele, the Broadway show ROCK OF AGES was GREAT! Just great! Wonderful music, great acting, funny. We both loved it. I don’t get out much to movies and I haven’t seen the movie version, so I can’t comment. All I can say is that the show was GREAT!:) xo, Leanne

  10. Kylie Brant says:

    Sounds like you had a great time, Leanne! Love going to Broadway! So glad you got home without incident–in the nick of time. Don’t expect bad weather in the heartland but my stomach is churning for family and friends in Sandy’s path.

  11. debradixon says:

    I love your report! I’m heading to NYC in January. Must get Broadway tickets soon! I keep putting it off but I have to go browse and now I know ROCK OF AGES should be near the top of the list.

    • leannebanks says:

      Debra, we got discounted tickets and had great seats for Rock Of Ages!:) I always google “Discount Broadway tickets for (whatever show I want to see). Enjoy!:)

  12. Great you got your visit in before the storm! It’s been surreal watching all the storm prep on the East Coast here in SoCal. Yesterday morning we rode bikes around the bay and then had breakfast on a deck overlooking the ocean. Saw surfers, dolphins, and the weather was a balmy 76ish degrees. Incredibly lovely. Got back home to watch all the worrisome weather coverage. Stay safe, everybody!

Leave a Reply

