Happy Endings

  Please welcome Teresa Hill to the convertible!

It took a really amazing guy and a publishing revolution to give Grace McRae a happy ending.

As an author, I have to admit, I gave her a tortured past. Her mother was an abused wife. They fled from her father before Grace was even born. For a while, it seemed, she might escape everything. Her older brother’s earliest memory was of their mother being abused, and her older sister Emma was a witness to years of it.

Grace was in the womb. She saw and heard nothing.

But the abuse had done long-term damage to her mother’s body. Ill and needing the support of the family she’d left behind, Grace’s mother risked coming home, something that proved to be a fatal mistake.

Not quite a year old, baby Grace spent three days in a motel on the edge of town with only her brother and sister to take care of her, before they were finally found and taken to live with a foster family one Christmas, a couple who had given up on ever having children.

Grace was the golden child, the little Christmas angel, the lucky one, happy as could be and seemingly untouched by her dark past. She had no memories of the mother she lost, only Rachel McRae, the new one she found and Sam, a father who’d do anything for her.

Her older sister, Emma, got her book and her happy ending. So did her brother, Zach.

But when it came time for Grace’s story, life outside the pages of a book intervened.

My editor left the publishing house. It’s an all-too-common thing. And often when it happens, an author loses her biggest advocate at the publishing house. New editors come in, and they want their own authors or they just don’t fall in love with the previous authors’ work. A lot of things can happen, but the end result was that I was in the middle of a series and my publisher didn’t want the next book.

It was like leaving poor Grace in limbo, a terrible feeling. I thought she’d be there forever.

But publishing started to change.

Quickly and in amazing ways.

Honestly, it changed in ways I think hardly any of us could have believed if someone had tried to tell us five years ago or even three.

I feel so grateful to be an author right now, to have all of these new opportunities, and to be able to do what I love – write the stories I love – and take that work to readers myself.

Last year, rather than send anything else to one of the big publishers who’ve sold my work for years, I did something just because I really wanted to do it, because I’d wanted to for years.

I started writing Grace’s story.

It made me so happy to be able to do that. I’d waited so long, and I could have stared working on anything in that moment. But more than anything else, I wanted to continue with the family series I’d stared with Twelve Days.

I didn’t know if the book would find a viable market or not. I didn’t know how big of a risk I was taking. I do know there were people who thought I was crazy to walk away from a traditional publisher. I didn’t care. I just really wanted to write Grace & Aidan, so I did.

The e-book market kept getting better and better the whole time I was writing. It was becoming more and more a real market, a real way to reach readers and maybe even make money as an author.

I feel like the whole market exploded in the past year.

So, I guess I got really lucky.

Grace did, too. She has a great guy. A tough, brave, wounded Navy guy named Aidan Shaw, at what is probably the lowest point of his life or not far past it, when she walks in, the most beautiful woman he’s ever seen. Beautiful inside and out, he soon realizes.

Aidan thinks it’s really mean of the universe to have her show up right then, as if to say, “Here she is, and you can’t have her.” When he fears he has nothing to offer her, wounded both inside and out.

But they end up having an amazing time alone together, sharing their past and imagining a future together.

Five Days of Grace, both the woman and the concept of blessings of a divine God, a benevolent universe.

I feel extremely lucky to be a writer at this time and to be able to offer you Five Days Grace.

Teresa Hill lives in the shadows of the Blue Ridge Mountains with her husband, two children, two big, lazy cats and three beautiful, spoiled dogs. Find her on the web at http://www.teresahill.net, on Twitter at https://twitter.com/teresahillbooks and Facebook at http://www.facebook.com/AuthorTeresaHill

Five Days Grace is available on Kindle, Nook and iBooks here http://www.ebookdiscovery.com/TeresaHill.html

About Kathleen Eagle

Kathleen Eagle is the award-winning, New York Times best-selling author of over forty novels.
This entry was posted in contemporary romance, e-book, new book, Teresa Hill. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Happy Endings

  1. debradixon says:

    Welcome, Teresa! Your story reminds us all to do what we love, what we believe in because you have to be ready for opportunity and you must be present to win! My daddy drilled that into my head.

    This is such a charming series. And CONGRATULATIONS ON BEING # 2 ON the FULL BN Top 100 List right this minute. (and for the last several days.

  2. Teresa Hill says:

    Hi,
    I know. It’s crazy! And the work of a very lucky promotional spot, I know, but still crazy. My husband, the sports fan, in trying to understand asked, “Is it online somewhere? Where do I go to see the score?” :)
    So we told him how to go find the score.
    Although, being a sports fan, he quickly adjusted to the ranking instead.

  3. Thanks so much for joining us today, Teresa, and congratulations on making this wonderful book available. The risk you took will pay off for all of us–you and your lucky readers. What a gripping story for Grace, but taken together the 3 books add up to a must-read family story. Well done!

  4. Teresa, I have a question. I generally find myself linking here there and everywhere when I prepare a guest’s post, but your link to ebookdiscovery.com made it so easy to give visitors all the purchasing sites. (Check it out, guys!) Is this something anyone can get listed on, or is it part of the publishing option you used?

    • Teresa Hill says:

      Kathleen,
      ebookdiscovery.com is one of the great new options we have now for publishing our work. They have a company called ebookprep that offers a variety of services. You can pick and choose or get a package. They will scan your older books, and someone cleans up the scans because even the best scanners will leave minor errors in a book. I can’t believe how clean my scans are when they come back. They will do the coding and preparation for uploading your books for sale. And they do great covers. You can pick your own cover art, but Nina Paules of ebookprep and ebookdiscovery has a great eye for covers. I would urge everyone to listen to her suggestions and work with her for a great cover. She did all of mine.
      The whole package they offer looks so professional, and I think it’s important for us to look like pros in this new marketplace.
      And then, if you want, you can sign up with ebookdiscovery to do what I think of as distribute and market my work. They take what I think of as a very reasonable percentage of sales, so if they don’t make you money, they don’ make money. There is no long-term contract, and they’re great at their job.
      I considered trying to do everything myself, and I quickly figured out that they just do it better. Go to their site and look at the books they handle. The great thing about this market is that we get to decide for ourselves what we do with our books.

      • This is such useful info, Teresa. I’m going to share it with my students at the Loft. I just got an e-mail from one who took my class last spring saying he was going to self-publish.

      • Teresa Hill says:

        Kathleen,
        Please tell them to be careful in signing away any rights or royalties long-term. I heard from a friend who’d given someone the rights to 25% of her royalties in exchange for covering upfront costs of coding her books for upload, doing a cover and maybe back cover copy. And it wasn’t a publisher. It was someone who… well, I don’t know what exactly they do. Very, very bad deal, IMHO.
        The market is changing by the second, almost. Who knows what it will be like even a year from now.

  5. lizkflaherty says:

    I can’t wait to read this, and I’m glad you found a happy ending for Grace.

    • Teresa Hill says:

      Thanks, Liz. It’s not often as a writer that I’ve gotten to take a character from being a baby to a grown woman through the course of four books. I loved seeing her at different ages in all the various books.

  6. kylie brant says:

    Welcome, Teresa! The story sounds fab, like all your stories! Happy endings are the way to go, aren’t they? Who among us isn’t rooting for a HEA at any movie we attend?

  7. Teresa Hill says:

    Hi Kylie,
    Great to see you. I was talking to a friend the other day about some of the preponderance of sad, scary, miserable stories all around us, whether it’s books, TV, movies. I think we get way too much of those. Give me the happy endings, please.

  8. taurus says:

    Got the McRae books for my Nook and can’t wait to read them!

  9. Teresa Hill says:

    Taurus,
    Thanks so much. I hope you enjoy them. (I’m a Taurus, too. May 10.)

  10. After reading your inspiring post, I went of to Amazon and bought your new book. It sounds wonderful!! And then I got sidetracked, and didn’t get back here to say howdy. I am so thrilled with your success, Teresa! Your info on ebookdiscovery is really, really intriguing. I look forward to getting some of my old Supers done, and I’m trying to learn all I can. Thanks so much for sharing!

    • Teresa Hill says:

      Roxanne,
      You are definitely forgiven for going off and buying the book. :) And definitely, get those old Supers out there. I think this market is going to be like any genre or subgenre we’ve ever seen. Getting out there early really matters.

Leave a Reply

