THANK YOU, MS. GERARD

You all know Cindy Gerard for the wonderful books she writes and her terrific, entertaining posts on this blog. Some of you know her personally and will nod your head in agreement when I’m done with what I have to say today.

I met Cindy a few years ago on a cruise ship. Yes, you heard me right. She was participating in a promotional cruise called Authors at Sea, and I had signed on to the cruise as a reader. Mostly because I had just sold my first book to St. Martin’s Press and wanted to be part of the literary scene in any way I could.

Every night, during dinner, the authors on the roster would rotate tables, sit with the readers and break bread. One night, Cindy sat at our table and when I shyly told her that I had just sold a book, she broke into a big Cindy smile and congratulated me. She seemed almost more excited for me than I was.

Cindy and I have since become good buddies, largely through email, but also meeting up and having lunch at a couple of conferences. And this is how good of a buddy Ms. Gerard is:

When I was writing my latest book, TRIAL JUNKIES, Cindy took time away from her hectic schedule and approaching deadline and edited the book for me. Line by line, chapter by chapter. She did this while I was still writing it and also played cheerleader in chief all along the way.

TRIAL-JUNKIES-50

There’s nothing more supportive than another author—an author you respect—giving you that boost of confidence you need when you’re lost in the midst of creation, wondering if what you’re writing is any good or simply isn’t worth squat.

I can tell you, with certainty, that TRIAL JUNKIES wouldn’t be half the book it is if it weren’t for Cindy. Not simply because of those terrific edits that helped me see the forest for the trees, but because her daily encouragement kept me believing and made me want to write my best work.

And I do think TRIAL JUNKIES is my best work.

I’ll get the obligatory blatant self-promotion out of the way by telling you that TRIAL JUNKIES is the story of a group of old college housemates who, after ten years, come together to support a friend on trial for murder. Convinced that their friend is innocent, they decide to search for the real killer themselves—and wind up in a boatload of trouble.

The book is currently in the midst of a FREE promotion for Kindle users on Amazon. Just click here Trial Junkies and download—but be quick, because the promotion ends tomorrow. I hope if you do download the book and enjoy it, you’ll let other readers know by posting a review on Amazon.

But enough of that. I just want to take a moment to get back to Cindy. I’m sure she’s going to argue with me and say, “Oh come on, don’t make me post this.” But I’m going to insist. Because although I may have thanked her in the book’s acknowledgements, that isn’t nearly enough.

So I just want to say, here in public, THANK YOU, Ms. Gerard, for going above and beyond on my behalf.

I couldn’t ask for a better friend.

Note from Cindy: Thank you Mr. Browne for writing this just the way I told you to and putting me in such a fantastic light.  Not that anyone will believe all your BS but I do appreciate the effort.

PS note from Cindy:  Even if I didn’t know this guy – I’d buy every book he’s ever written and will ever write.  Yes, he’s that good.  Sony even bought Kiss Her Good-bye and developed a Pilot for CBS.  It ALMOST made it.  Go figure – Tom Sellack and Blue Bloods inched it out.

KISS-HER-GOODBYE-FINAL-50

PPS note from Cindy:  For the record, I really am that nice in case you ever wondered.  <g>

PPPS note from Cindy:  You’re going to LOVE Trial Junkies which, let me remind you is FREE for the price of FREE! Yes, I said FREE.  Just click on the title and download it …. wait for it … FREE~~~  Are you sensing a theme here? 

And for the whopping price of 99 cents, you can buy Bottom Deal a terrific short story featuring Nick Jennings, a character I want to see more of.  And FREE for Prime members but only $2.99 for everyone else is Kiss Her Good-bye another super read

Once you’ve read them and LOVED them, make sure you check out his other fabo titles.  I’m a huge Lee Child fan but Rob (Mr. Browne – ahem) is right there at the top of my list.

paradiseprophecy

  
So – have any of you ever read books you’d like to see turned into a movie or a TV series?  Have you ever found a new author by picking up a free book on Amazon or B&N or your e-book provider of choice?  Who out there is still holding out and doesn’t have an e-reader?  And if you don’t … are you waffling about buying one?  Inquiring minds want to know these t
hings.

About cindygerard

Cindy Gerard is a New York Times best-selling author of action packed romantic suspense novels. Learn more about Cindy at http://www.cindygerard.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to THANK YOU, MS. GERARD

  1. I picked this up yesterday, based on Cindy’s recommendation on FB, and started reading it last night. I’m really enjoying it, and can’t wait to see what happens next!

  2. Thanks, Donna! I hope you have fun with it. I’m happy to say TRIAL JUNKIES made it to #2 on the Kindle Top 100 list yesterday—and remains there now—all because of folks like you.

  3. By the way, the hero in my book is a recovering bad boy actor who once starred in a direct to DVD action flick, the title of which Cindy Gerard fans will recognize. I’d love to see THAT book of Cindy’s turned into a real movie.

  4. kylie brant says:

    Based on on-going reminders from Cindy you’re on my buy list! I’d have to agree with most of your assessment of her, BS or not, although there are stories I could tell. I do sleep with the woman…. :)

  5. loisgreiman says:

    Thanks for joining us, Robert. And you’re right. Cindy is the best.

  6. Leanne says:

    Welcome to the vert Robert! Huge congrats on your sale! Such an exciting time, and we love Cindy too!:)

  7. roxrustand says:

    Yes, I totally agree. Cindy **IS** just as wonderful as you say, Robert! I have downloaded Trial Junkies, and will go back and buy Kiss Her Goodbye right now. I love finding new-to-me authors on the Kindle Free Bestseller list, and then often go back and buy up their other titles. Best wishes, Robert–I hope your books sell like crazy!

Leave a Reply

